We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oily Breakfast panini”
Review of Boardwalk Bakery

Boardwalk Bakery
Ranked #2 of 2 Bakeries in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Boardwalk Bakery is located on the world famous Homer Spit on the Bear Country Boardwalk. Come in and enjoy baked goods made fresh every day. Grab breakfast and a boxed lunch as early as 5am to take out on your fishing trip or other excursion; or come in for coffee and one of the best cinnamon rolls you'll ever eat. Our gourmet sandwiches are made on our delicious focaccia bread. Special order cakes, cheesecakes and pies are also available. Open every day from May 1 until Labor Day. We can't wait to see you there!!
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had ordered two “to go” lunches and had breakfast. The Breakfast Panini was so oily it was inedible; we had to throw both of them. The” to go” lunches: “Ham & Swiss on Homemade Focaccia w/ Honey Mustard Mayonnaise “ had too much mayo and the bread was not fresh, the other sandwich “Ham, Cream Cheese, Cranberry Sauce on Cinnamon Raisin” was OK but again the bread was not fresh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jj8117, Owner at Boardwalk Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We are so sorry that your visit to Boardwalk Bakery did not live up to your expectations. We have NEVER had a complaint about our breakfast paninis. In fact, they are our most popular breakfast item. Most people that have one will return every day they are here for more. We also pride ourselves in our excellent box lunches. We make our bread fresh daily. You can tell from the reviews of our other guests that most people are highly satisfied with our excellent food and customer service. We are sorry that you were not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We had freshly made, delicious eclairs!! we will be coming back again for more sweet treats before we head back to Illinois! :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jcole75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jj8117, Owner at Boardwalk Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are so glad that you loved the eclairs. We take pride in knowing that our guests are satisfied. I hope your trip to Homer was great and hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wow! What a treat to discover two ole Texas gals who make kolaches like I haven't had in 30+ years and then they go and put a big old reindeer sausage in the middle instead of the itty bitty little sausages I'm used to. What a marvelous culinary treat!! Will definitely go there again. Have been there before and this makes me only want to keep returning again and again!

1  Thank Fireweed400Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jj8117, Owner at Boardwalk Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

These two ole Texas gals thank you for your nice review. We are so glad that you love the kolaches. They have quickly become a favorite. Please come back again and again. We'll take good care of your hunger!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stopped here for a quick breakfast sandwich and boxed lunch for our bear excursion. Good selection, great food and fabulous cookies. Highly recommend.

1  Thank Chaser24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jj8117, Owner at Boardwalk Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your breakfast and lunch at our little bakery. Our goal is always to make certain that our guests have the best experience possible. Please come back and see us the next time you are in Homer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

You just can't beat these girls' reindeer sausage kolaches OMG !!!!!You've got to go there !!! Their baking abilities are amazing !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jj8117, Owner at Boardwalk Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Pamela, thank you so much for your very nice words. We love what we do and are rewarded for our hard work with customers like you. We are so glad that you love the reindeer sausage kolaches. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Homer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Boardwalk Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing