We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing ocean view condo”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sea Lion North

Welcome to The Sea Lion Cove on the Spit
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Sea Lion Cove on the Spit
View #3, South unit
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Welcome to The Sea Lion Cove on the Spit
View #3, South unit
Kachemak Bay and the Homer Spit
View off of Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stef706
Aspen, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing ocean view condo”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location of the condo is perfect. Right in front of the beach. Coffee shops and restaurants are only a few steps away. Very convenient to get a boat in the early morning. The condo is very clean and well organized.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barefoot1...
Eastern Shore of VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location on Homer Spit”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the south apartment for three nights and were very pleased. Though the Spit was lively during the day, it was very quiet at night for sleeping. Easy steps up to the second floor unit. Super restaurant next door...Captain Pattie's, and homemade gelato shop on the other side. Unit has comfortable bed, microwave, coffee pot and filters, hot plate, toaster. One window looks out over the shops and the sliding glass doors look out over the water and snow-capped mountains. Small grocery store and liquor store a short walk away. We enjoyed watching the boats come and go and the fish catches hung up every afternoon...lots of halibut and salmon! We were traveling without a car so took cab into town to museum and restaurant. Owners of gallery were incredibly helpful. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kickbass
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“We will always stay here when in Homer”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 9 days/8 nights this summer--we will never look anywhere else when in Homer. Perfect location--right on the Spit, the harbor is right across the road, the Salty Dawg is about a 2 minute walk away. Could walk to the end of the Spit and catch all the flounder you would want. Great local information provided by Gary, couldn't have asked for anything more. Will definitely be back. My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed comfortably for the trip. Having a kitchen saved us a ton of money, because dining out on the Spit is a little pricey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: I can't live there
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J S
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in the south (second) apartment, which means that we had the jetted tub AND that we passed the north unit door to get to ours. The apartment was small, but suitable. This is smack in the center of the Homer spit. We easily walked to the beach, to the Salty Dawg, to restaurants, even to the marina. The bed was comfortable. We didn't watch television, but if that is important to you- it is at a very strange angle on the wall. Lots of magazines and tour guides were available and the WIFi was smooth. The little kitchenette was satisfactory. We only used the sink and the fridge. It's a little pricey for this time of year, but you really can't beat the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notarJoyc...
Cairo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heavenly Views”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three years ago we came to Homer just for a day and knew immediately that we had to come back and stay on the spit. Our choice for accommodations couldn't have been better! The owners were right downstairs at their art gallery when we arrived and up the stairs we went to our apartment with a deck overlooking the Cook Inlet and a view that can't be beat. We spent four nights at Sea Lion Cove eating dinner at wonderful restaurants nearby or eating take-out on the deck. The apartment was well equipped with a mini kitchen - coffee was there waiting for us! There was a dresser in the bedroom and the bed was comfortable with plenty of extra blankets for cold nights. The apartment was toasty though with the bright sun coming in the sliding glass door. We thank our friendly hosts Gary and Terri for helping to make our first stop in Alaska a memorable one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The futon wasn't very comfortable - sat at the kitchen table when we were inside.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S
Kimberling City, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What amazing views!”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Motel studio room with kitchenette/mini frig. Amazing mountain views & sounds of the waves crashing on the rocky beach. While there, high wind warning, and high tide waves made for unsettled sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: High winds and waves.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing