We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sea Lion North

Welcome to The Sea Lion Cove on the Spit
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Sea Lion Cove on the Spit
View #3, South unit
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcome to The Sea Lion Cove on the Spit
View #3, South unit
Kachemak Bay and the Homer Spit
View off of Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michelle...
Port Angeles, WA
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the South unit of the Sea Lion Cove for 8 nights in August 2014.

Our favorite thing about this rental was the location. Smack dab in the middle of the Spit with spectacular ocean & mountain views out one end and bustling street/shop activities out the other end. Due to the extended daylight during the summer months, the restaurants and shops don't open until at least 10am, and stay open until around 10pm. The mornings are very quiet except for the fishing charter clients meeting at the various offices nearby. Then they just walk across the street to their boats and leave. This happens between 6:30-7:30am and then its all quiet again. There was always something interesting to look at, we really enjoyed ourselves. This place was the perfect spot to base all of our adventures from!

The unit was clean and most things were provided such as linens, towels, dishes, etc. What wasn't provided was bar soap in the bathroom (they had body wash in the shower and liquid soap at both the kitchen and bathroom sinks) and any extra paper towels. We stayed from Friday to the following Saturday, ran out of paper towels on Wednesday and even though the cleaning lady came into our room every single day, she never replaced them. (In hindsight we should have refused any cleaning services while we were there. There were plenty of towels for our entire stay but the cleaning lady would come in every day and take one towel or wash cloth we used--but she never noticed we were out of paper towels? Weird. One day she tried to come in while we were napping) We bought bar soap and 2 rolls of paper towels at Safeway in town. And not that we were on vacation to watch tv, but the one in the room got maybe 6 channels, of which one was a cooking channel and the other was constant Alaska Government crap. It was very old school. They did, however, have some pretty good wif.

Gary was great to work with although we hardly saw him during our stay due to all of our running around. But I spoke with him a few times before we arrived and he was very very helpful and provided great information. We highly recommend The Sea Lion Cove.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Quirky cleaning lady
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The location was perfect; it's right on the spit. The view was fantastic. Easy to walk to dinner, shops and The Salty Dog for a cocktail. The room was basic but comfy enough for the 2 of us. We will stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, from the room to the view to the location
Liked least: none, it was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great view, great location, loved sitting out on the deck
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhiannon7...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was perfect for our use. We were even able to cook a modified pasta and eat out on the deck while looking out at the beautiful scenery:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Zealand
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$155
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing