We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fishing Experience!”

Bob's Trophy Charters - Day Trips
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fishing Experience!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We chartered two days of fishing, a half day for halibut and a full day for halibut and salmon. It was a great time on both occasions. The staff in the office were friendly and helpful (be sure to buy a derby ticket, my husband brought in a "tagged" halibut and will win a prize in September). I'm a novice and the crew on the boat was just wonderful, they worked hard to make sure that everyone got their fish and had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Violet099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    23
    9
    4
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wow, the weather was perfect along with the captain. The two deckhands, Richard and Imelia, they were great. Everyone got their limit in halibut. Left out at 1:05 and back at 6:30 with fillets in hand. Had no idea it was that difficult to reel in halibut and lines with three-pound weights. Still a lot of fun. Thank you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank krcMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok. Alright. Just fine.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Fished a half day halibut charter on the Nauti Lady. Excellent office staff and simple booking. Handled the licenses for my family from out of town quite easily.

Pluses: office staff, friendly deckhands, on board fish filleting, dockside fish processing option with Homer Fish Processing

Minuses: boats aren't close to the office, not enough space inside for 16 passengers who were booked for the trip, not quite as "fun" as I've experienced on other boats with their boat crew. Seemed bored and bothered with the process of safety orientation, baiting hooks, and going out for the day.

I know they can't control the fish, but they can control how they interact with the passengers when the bite is slow. The deckhands did their absolute best to help everyone on board, but it wasn't as good to be on board as on other charters I've done.

I'd go again on a full day, or when the captain has a bigger repertoire of holes to fish. If the hole was slow for the past few outings, why pound it every day with the same results?

The price was good, and the deckhands busted their rears. I consider this the savior for our experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
333 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a full day fishing, but really only got a half day. There was a problem with the boat so our experience was sacrificed. While we did catch fish, it was no where near what we should have for what we spent. If we had received a partial refund due to the problem being their boat it would have gone a long way to improve the experience. There are other options and next time will will try one of them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debrah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Bluff, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have made five trips out to Alaska and always go out on the boat tours. We did the 1/2 day halibut tour. It was a great experience. These guys are serious about helping you get your fish,I have been on others that we were not happy with. We worried about taking our talkative seven year old but they were very patient with him. Usually we get cold going out but the cabin was spacious and warm. We enjoyed it and have no complaints at all. I would certainly rec. it to anyone who wants to be totally satisfied with how you are investing your money on your vacation. We were even late and did not have our license, no problem. We all got along fine. Our son was allowed to sit in the captains seat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank campfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Trophy Charters - Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Bob's Trophy Charters - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing