We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place!”
Review of Two Sisters Bakery

Two Sisters Bakery
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Neat Place!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stopped here for coffee and quiche on our last morning in Homer. Wish we would have found this place sooner, as we would have liked to try it for dinner. It is small but really charming. A lot of people were coming in for coffee and baked goods to take to work when we were there. Three of us had the quiche and thought it was very good! The pastries and sticky buns were excellent! We all liked the coffee, too. The staff was very personable and friendly. We would love to come back to Homer and would definitely return to Two Sisters!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    200
    42
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Repeat visits a must!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was recently in Homer for a week and went to Two Sisters 3 times; twice for breakfast and once for dinner. It was busy every time I was there, but the wait is worth it. You can tell that everything is homemade, and portions are generous. Cost is about average for boutique-type restaurants. It is a tiny place, but it's worth the wait. I've tried their sticky bun, a sea-salt caramel cupcake with chocolate ganache frosting, and a halibut dinner special (oven roasted with nasturtium and jalapeno honey, served over roasted zucchini, rainbow chard and coconut rice and topped with cucumber yogurt sauce). The sweets are not cloyingly sweet (which is good for me, I don't like super sweet things), and the ganache had a nice consistency and flavor to it. Presentation of dinner was lovely, and the layers of flavors presented was quite sophisticated and enjoyable. We had bought a day old loaf of white bread which made the most delectable toast! I wish I could have tried everything on the menu!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimififi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So tasty and charming”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great spot for locals and travelers alike. Ate here a few times and everything was made from scratch and flavorful. Has a nice outdoor area to sit when the weather is good, but also plenty of indoor tables to stay warm.

We were told that the "white trash" rolls were a signature there, but unfortunately that knowledge came on the way to the airport. Hopefully someone who reads this will get to try them!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank B_vanhartesvelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great coffee n goods”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is in the old historic part of Homer and near the beach.
I just called in for a coffee, there was a huge array of really lovely breads, cakes, buns etc, I was tempted by a yummy apricot and ginger scone.
Friendly staff, really causal place, you wet then just pay on the way out, they trust you to remember what you have had.
Really great place

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“heaven in homer!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

we were in homer for about twenty minutes when i arrived at the two sisters bakery. it had been recommended by someone we met in anchorage and he raved about it, so i couldn't wait to get here. the bread and brownies and cupcakes and cinnamon buns not only exceeded my expectations, but when we were back for lunch the next day we had the most wonderful soup with more fabulous bread!

it's a very small place so i recommend you go at off hours -- and at dinner you should definitely make a reservation.

the staff is wonderful, young and happy and the overall experience is just delightful. there are a lot of restaurants in homer, but the two sisters is truly unique to this area of alaska.

go...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ritabee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Sisters Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Two Sisters Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing