We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adventure, secluded, enchantment, magic, love...”
La Caleta in Sadie Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Caleta in Sadie Cove
view from upstairs view from kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
La Caleta in Sadie Cove
view from upstairs
view from kitchen
kitchen
inside of door
Outside door
Sauna and showerhouse
La Caleta and the sauna
Dolly Varden trout
It takes lots of work to get this done!!!
Arrange to see the Katmai Brown bears across Cook Inlet
Let's see, bear viewing or sailing?
Fun day sailing on Sadie Cove
kayaking and tidepooling
High Tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kimberly...
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventure, secluded, enchantment, magic, love, this place has it all”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights with two families of four. Willie was a gracious and kind host. We had no idea what we were getting into, but this place delivered in spades. It is a one-hour boat ride to arrive in a heavenly cabin Willie built with his bare hands in a very rugged cove in the middle of Kachemak Bay State Park. The extreme tides exposed hundreds of starfish and anemones. We caught fresh fish with the children and cooked them over the open fire. We gathered mussels for a fresh seafood stew. The cabin itself is stunning. I brought a book and couldn't read past the first page, with so much to do and see, there simply wasn't time. At night we lit a fire in the Sauna and then tried to fall asleep while gazing at the full moon outside our floor to ceiling windows. There is no denying that an experience like this only comes along once in a lifetime. If you are looking for a luxury accommodations with fancy towels and linen service, this place is not for you. If you are looking for the true Alaskan experience with nature right outside your front door, then dive right in to heaven at Sadie Cove. Thanks so much, Willie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and beautiful, but . . .”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If I could, I would give the place itself a 5 but the management of the place a 2. I will start with the positive. This is a very special place. The location is one of a kind. The cabin is beautiful, unique, and provides stunning views. The wood heated sauna is great. However, I am disappointed to have to state that our stay was not completely positive. First, be warned that the "water taxi," which is required to get to the property, is an aluminum skiff, without seats. We had 5 people in our party and we were required to sit on milk crates while one of us had to stand. It was cold, bumpy and unpleasant even in good weather and just plain miserable on the ride back in the rain. To add insult to injury, they charged us $90 dollars PER PERSON for this ride (an additional $540 for our party, or $270 per night for our 2 night stay). This is water highway robbery! This is an additional and unavoidable cost because there is no way to get to the property without paying this fee. So if you think that you are renting this place for the advertised $85 per night per person, you are wrong. Next, the cabin was not filthy but could have been cleaner. There were mouse droppings on the kitchen countertops when we arrived and the kitchen ware had to be re-washed before we were comfortable using it. The cabin lacks sufficient comfortable seating. On a rainy day, if you wish to stay in and read a book, you can choose between hard wooden benches or old office furniture with worn cushions. Also, they provide a shower room which is adequate, but do not provide towels. They do not tell you this on their website. It was not communicated to us by email. We were forced to use our dirty clothing to dry off after a shower. They do advertise that they provide a "grill." I brought charcoal and planned to do a lot of grilling. When I arrived, I was disappointed to learn that the "grill" was a rock fire pit with a grate. This cannot be used in the rain because it can't be moved under cover and has no top. I left the charcoal there because I was not able to use it and didn't want to fly home with it. Finally, communication could be better. They want you to rely on their website for all information. The website is cumbersome and difficult to navigate. We were confused about where to meet the water taxi. It's on the site but under "Maps," and not addressed in the "Water Taxi" section. Their cancellation policy is strict but not highlighted or given it's own section in the website. It is included in the "reservations" section. We ran into an issue when one in our party had to leave Alaska early. We still had 5 in our party, one above their minimum party size, yet they wanted to charge us for the missing person's 2 nights and the water taxi ride because they consider a reduction in size to be a "cancellation." We negotiated and split the difference, but this issue could have been avoided by clearly setting out this strict policy in emails exchanged as arrangements were made. This was not done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location / views / uniqueness and beauty of the cabin
Liked least: Cost / Communication
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2013
It is too bad that Steve P. had such a "miserable" time during his visit. I am not surprised that he found the communication lacking, as I never met him until the day he left our cabin.
I did, however, communicate quite a bit with his wife, Karyn. She and I first communicated by email on Feb. 5,2013. I have 3 pages and over 23 emails of communication with Karyn between the first week of February through the 10th of August. In these emails I answered many questions about the specifics of water taxiing, halibut fishing, distances, bathrooms and the cancellation policy.
On Feb. 12th Karyn Steere replies, "There are 6 in my party. How do I send you the deposit? and perchance, what is your cancellation policy?"
I directed her to the website because the information is printable, and I don't have it memorized; but the information is there and it is clear. On the website there is a heading called "reservations, prices and policies"Most visitors find it clear and easy to use. Karyn and Steve noted the change in the size of their party; last minute, the night before their visit.
I spent many emails talking about the water taxi, our prices are the same as other companies in Homer. I do not use automatic pay buttons on our listings so that I can be sure people understand the remote nature of our wilderness location. We in no way mislead people about the water taxi transportation. People are usually aware that there is a boat ride involved and seek us out because of it. There are photos and descriptions of our water taxi, it is a 24' open and quite capable aluminum skiff. There are cushioned coolers and crates for seating. On this particular trip, one 19 yr. old stood next to Willie and did not complain. Willie tries to do his best to make people comfortable on the changing ocean surface by slowing down in rough weather and other boat wakes. Not all travelers are comfortable off the grid and in the wilderness. These folks may have been more familiar and comfortable in a conventional hotel/ B&B setting on the road system.
I spend quite a bit of time with folks making sure they know where to meet Willie and the boat. Because people are oftentimes strangers to Harbors, I direct them to the printable map on the website. Generally, except for returning customers, I repeat the directions by voice on the phone as I did with Karyn the night they went to the spit for pizza. On the 8th of August, she emailed me that she still had not looked at the web site.
Most people find the load and launch ramp easily after the directions on the website's map page. Also, on the day of your water taxi, Willie is standing by on the phone to help make sure you find him and parking easily. Many customers say our website is easy to use and it has all the information needed. But one does need to look at and read through the information on the site.
The information about towels, sleeping bags and limited bedding is communicated.
Not everyone who visits Alaska is well prepared for the experience. Weather can change quickly and cold, wet weather can frustrate a long planned and anticipated vacation.
Please read all the reviews. thanks, Marcee and Willie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T
Blantyre
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing find. Willie and Marcie have built the perfect getaway. If you want to relax, kayak, fish, relax, spot eagles or sea otters, relax without hundreds of other tourists this is the place for you. Sadie Cove is beautiful, La Caleta simply wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadAngus
Chicago IL, USA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Best Wilderness Cabin EVER!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I make a point to seek out wilderness cabins for our vacation adventures, and La Caleta sets the standard for striking a perfect balance of beauty, amenities, seclusion and convenience.

Tucked deep into Sadie Cove, across the bay from Homer, AK, La Caleta is an artist's or sportsman's dream. The views out the front window are nothing short of astounding, and the surrounding waters and state park make the great outdoors super-accessible by low-tide hikes and excursions in the provided sea kayaks.

The cabin itself is a wilderness masterpiece, with more comforts and conveniences than one can reasonably expect so far off the grid. Electricity is provided by a clever water-powered system, which makes enough juice to run a small refrigerator, lights, a stereo and outlets to charge up your camera batteries.

The kitchen is well appointed with dishes, pots, pans and utensils to pull of pretty much anything you want to make on the small propane-powered stove. The water is potable, and heated by an on-demand propane system.

If you're looking for an off-the-grid vacation in one of the most beautiful places imaginable, I can't recommend La Caleta in the summer highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the property itself
Liked least: Nothing bad to say...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true Alaskan Wilderness Experience in a very comfortable setting”
Reviewed August 16, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 (2 parents and 2 children, 4 & 6 yrs) stayed at La Caleta for 2 nights in July. This place surpassed our expectations. It is a hand-hewn timber framed cabin made with lumber milled from the property by Willie himself. The water taxi ride was lots of fun and Willie and Marcie are wonderful hosts. The craftmanship is amazing. The place is decorated with all kinds of woodworking tools, shells, whale-bone, original artwork, and a lot of really neat items. The place is very spacious with a kitchen, large dining table, and sunken seating area downstairs with a large sleeping loft upstairs. There is a woodburning stove for heat and a separate wood fired sauna/changing/ shower building connected by a wooden walkway. The outhouse is separate up a small pathway. There is electricity via a hydroelectric generator and propane on demand hot water heaters for the kitchen and shower. There is a refrigerator, stove, and oven. The hammock was great for relaxing, but it is the location that is truly amazing. You're on the water with panoramic views of 4,000+ foot mountains directly across Sadie Cove, a fiord. Sleeping in the bedroom, you look out over the water and mountains through huge windows. The setting is truly special. There is a large wrap around deck with chairs, full use of several kayaks, life jackets, paddles, and spray skirts. A radio is in the main livingroom. The kitchen is fully stocked with cooking utensils, pots and pans.
We collected blue mussels every day, cooked them in wine, butter, parsley and garlic for a great meal. Every evening we fired up the wood stove in the sauna and took a very comfortable 100 degree sauna. The weather was your typical Alaska cool, so you must be prepared for wind, sun, drizzle, rain, etc... We were very comfortable hanging out inside the house when it got too windy for the kids. Early mornings were the best time to get out on the water-absolute glass. There is a ton of sea life, rescuing stranded jellyfish was a hit with the kids, and I even caught some small cod from shore.
This is an isolated, quiet, serene, and beautiful place with nearly all the comforts of home. Bring binoculars to spot wildlife on the mountainside. We saw mountain goats. If you're looking for a truly unique, do it yourself Alaskan experience, this place is hard to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, views, serenity, isolation, mussels, kayaking
Liked least: outhouse
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK
Reviewed June 2, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Reviewed February 28, 2010 for a stay in August 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing