We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a piece of art”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Lion Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Lion Cove
Ranked #21 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not a piece of art”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

location was great..the owners were friendly..the view was amazing...it had the beginnings of a wonderful place until we used the bathroom. Over the course of fourteen days in Alaska we stayed in hotels, motels,cabins and b&b's. This was the only place that we had an issue with. I honestly don't think that the toilet lid and the part where it connects had ever been cleaned. It was not only gross and unhealthy but truly a disappointment. There was a queen size bed with a fold out futon and what they called another bed..which was really a sofa chair that unfolded on the ground. It wouldn't have been that bad had they offered at least sheets to go with it. Instead they gave us a sleeping bag that I am sure had not been cleaned or washed in a while. The thought of crawling into someone else's public sleeping bag was not very appealing. I sincerely hope that their cleaning skills improve and that in the future they provide some linen to accompany the cushions on the floor because the gem that it could be is just waiting to be polished.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadas333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Highly recommend staying here if you can. The view is amazing and the location puts you right by all the restaurants and fishing outfits on the spit. Gary Lyon is hilarious and will give you advice on who to book a fishing trip with and where to spot a ton of moose in Homer.
The price was very reasonable and the accommodations are cozy and comfortable. Make sure to say hi to Hans at the shop next door, just dont wake him up!

Room Tip: Either room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have visited Homer, Alaska three times. Never stayed on the spit. This time I wanted to be right where the action was so we booked three nights in The Sea Lion Cove. It's above a Gallery and by the way, you never hear anyone in the Gallery and it's always closed when you would want to be sleeping. It doesn't get dark until 11:00 in Alaska in the summer. The view off the decl is spectacular. Eagles land on poles right outside the eating area window and when all the fishermen come in you get to sit and watch that amazing scene. The place has friendly people that you will interact with, great restaurants nearby and for you ladies when the men are all out fishing, the shops are fun, fun, fun and near this B&B. In all fairness to people who want very accurate feedback, I would definately stay here agin but it does need some updating. The linens, colors, rugs, etc. look like 80's to early 90's and somewhat old. I think for a quick trip to a Kohl's, Wal-Mart or Target store (if there is any there) this place could look completely different. Also, the reason I didn't give it excellent on the sleep quality is because it's on piers and piers sway and the first night they were swaying more than I really wanted my bed to move. (Wasn't told about that ahead of time) I got used to that but it can be a little unnerving with the place rocking to and fro. When I mentioned this to the owner (of course there's nothing he can do about it) he said "you should see it in a small earthquake"! That was comforting! HA! Anyway, now that I know it moves, I still would stay there again.

Room Tip: Figure out where you can park ahead of time as theowner doesn't want you parking in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TREVI36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We came to Alaska during the "shoulder" season, and got very good value on accommodations. This place was no exception. It is located on Homer Split, with a killer view that you would normally have to pay a lot more money for. The owner Gary Lyon was very pleasant and friendly, and gave us a lot of useful tips and information about the area. The unit is very clean and pleasant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in the Midwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Unfortunately we only had one night here. There were 4 of us staying in the smaller of the 2 units and it worked fine. A little tight, but not a big deal. Room was very clean and the futon was even already made up for the other 2. It has a small refrigerator, microwave and coffer maker (w/ coffee, cream and sugar even) full utensils and even a hot plate. The views from the balcony where amazing. My husband loved sitting out there and watching how fast the tide came in. Ii is located about mid spit so it is a great location. Restaurants are nearby within walking distance. Gary, the owner of the rooms and the beautiful gallery down below, couldn't have been more accommodating, calling places for us and giving us directions. I really would like to come back some day and spend a few days here. .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappierTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Stayed at the North and South rooms above the Sea Lion Gallery in Homer in late June 2009. The view is really amazing. The deck/balcony off the rooms juts out further than other buildings so you get some privacy. Didn't notice any noise at night. The gallery is directly next to Captain Pattie's which had the best baked halibut I've ever had! Quiet restaurant too. The room and the bedding is all a bit dated and has a bit of a smell so bring room deodorizer, other than that, I highly recommend this place for the views and the value for your money. Built on boardwalks so expect some shaking now and then which can be a bit disconcerting.

Helpful?
5 Thank mauiwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.9 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
3.9 mi away
White House Inn on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
685 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
6.4 mi away
Good Karma Inn
Good Karma Inn
#1 of 40 in Homer
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lion Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lion Cove

Property: Sea Lion Cove
Address: 4241 Homer Spit Rd, Unit 3, Above Sea Lion Art Gallery, Homer, AK 99603-8035
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing