We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding view and very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highliner House

Highliner House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highliner House
Ranked #17 of 41 Homer B&B and Inns
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding view and very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at the Moose Den at the Highliner House for 5 nights in June of 2010. The owner, Marcia Boone, was terrific. The captain she recommended put me on huge halibut. She also let me borrow a a book by a local author that highlighted 50 great hikes in the area. We completed 3 of the hikes during our stay. The cabin's view is breathtaking. The kitchen and gas grill came in handy as well. After a 7 night cruise, the beds were very comfortable. On a short walk from the cabin, we saw moose several times. One time we saw a momma moose with its baby. Very cool. The cabin location is a short drive to restaurants, stores and the Homer spit. I will definitely stay at the Highliner House again. First class!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverJay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed in the Whalesong cabin on our 2 day stay in Homer. What a beautiful place and wow what a view. We thought it was the best place that we stayed at during our trip to Alaska. If we are ever to return we will diffently stay there again and hopefully for a few more days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughertygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Your hosts Marcia and Dave are the best.! Welcomed us right away and gave us details of all the activities we wanted to see and do in Alaska. Marcia provided me with a detalied hiking book of the area.Our cabin was perfect.The view was beautiful and the cabin was clean and roomy. We had a private bedroom and our daughter hadt he double bed in the main area. The bathroom had plenty f room and a nice shower. We had a table for breakfast and a nice sized kitchen including a refrigerator and a stove. there were even spices avaiable. The location is about 2 miles out of Homer on a ridge but so convenient toeverything. We enjoyed the cabin so much it wa the only place where we stayed in the canbin and on the deck and enjoyed an afternoon of down time after a busty 3 week trip. The pictures of this place do not do itj ustice. The lawn and exterior of the property show lots of tender loving care. If we ever return to Homer we will stay here. Good luck moose hunting Dave!!
PS took the Rainbow Tours halibut fishing tour. it was great. We all caught two fish a peice and had them shipped back to NJ. Enjoyed our first halibut dinner tonight

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Our stay at the Highliner House (Whalesong Cabin) was enjoyable throughout. From the relatively new lodging, which is well-decorated and an excellent value, to the incredible view of the bay and surrounding mountains and warm hospitality of Marcia we could have easily remained in this place long past our two nights there.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank emilydolci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotzebue, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Best view of Kachemak Bay and Homer Spit.
I love this place and came back twice within 5 days for an overnight stay. The Highliner House is clean, lovely view and ideal for locals or out of town. The best place to sip coffee sitting on the deck and enjoy the incredible view of Kachemak Bay or watch the eagles soar below you. Best deal in Homer.
Ellen of Sequim, WA
ellenbax@q.com

[--]
highlinerhousealaska.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Reddogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.0 mi away
Pioneer Inn Homer
Pioneer Inn Homer
#9 of 41 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fisherman's Tales B & B
Fisherman's Tales B & B
#14 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 27 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highliner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highliner House

Property: Highliner House
Address: Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, clean accommodations in our five unique units with views of Kachemak Bay and mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing