We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, nice hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pat and Arden are welcoming hosts and we felt at home the two nights we stayed with them. Breakfasts were excellent, and our request for gluten free was met without any negative reaction. We stayed in the room right off the kitchen, and it was clean and comfy. I'd stay with them again next time I am in Homer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niravalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for The Spyglass Inn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our hosts at The Spyglass Inn, Pat and Arden, are warm and loveable and they put out a breakfast to die for you will have to discipline yourself not to eat so much that you will feel like staggering back to your room for a nap. We were in the downstairs room under the dinning room and we did get startled from time to time when someone upstairs pushed themselves away from the table. It might be better to get the other room if you can and I'm betting that the large "Captain's Quarters" is really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This B&B is a must! We had reservations for 2 nights but missed a flight and had to call to cancel our first night. Somehow we lost a day traveling and still made it to Homer on our anticipated day. We decided we would head over anyway and see if we could still get our room. We were greeted out front by Pat and as luck would have it, she still had our room! She was very gracious and showed us around their home. There are 2 rooms downstairs and I believe another guest house not attached to the house. The rooms were wonderful, comfortable, and the quilts were beautiful! Pat and Arden were outstanding hosts! Pat cooked up a great breakfast both mornings which we shared with another couple staying here. She has a garden and was showing us her rhubarb. My companion mentioned loving rhubarb pie as a child. Pat made him a rhubarb pie and a rhubarb crumble for breakfast the next day. Our first night we spent the day exploring, came back to take a nap and slept too long, too late to go out to dinner. She was kind enough to send down some blueberry cake to hold us over till morning. I can't say enough about Pat and Arden. They are such interesting people and seem to love having company in their home. If you plan a trip to Homer, staying at the Spyglass Inn is a must! Arden will keep you entertained with stories and Pat will lead you in the right direction on things to do and see. Thank you Pat and Arden for a wonderful stay in Homer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatordebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable with the private bathroom across the hall way. the room was small but adequate, clean & tidy with TV. Pat & Arden are good hosts producing excellent breakfasts of home cooked food. The only minor drawback was, having the room downstairs, access for the luggage. A minor gripe really.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Spyglass Inn for 2 nights. Owners were friendly. The quilts on the beds were made by Pat. I asked tons of questions about quiltmaking and she was willing to share. The room was very clean and comfortable. The B&B is located near a lot of activities including the Pratt Museum and a mile from the Homer Spit. Both Pat and Arden were great. The breakfast was wonderful! Pat offers a full breakfast and it was nice sitting around the table chatting with them and other guests. They had good recommendations for activities and places to eat. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Spyglass for two nights during our visit to Homer. The Spyglass is a homey place where you just can’t help being comfortable. Pat and Arden are superb hosts. Arden is a real character with plenty of tales to tell, which always entertain. Pat is a fabulous cook and her breakfasts should be listed in the B and B hall of fame. Their home is nicely maintained, very clean and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Homer itself. Very relaxing

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful hosts; great breakfasts. A good place to return after a day of fun. I do not know what else to write but there is a minimum of 200 characters so: "The granola was great. The cinnamon rolls, too. The coffee was hot and the sky was blue." Still not enough characters$???;((((@@@@:))). Yikes! I don't want to count characters. Well, Arden was, actually, is a character as was the man down at the beach with the fancy outhouse for ladies and the bartender at the Salty Dawg Saloon and Ringo the troll who lives in an old boat down on the Spit. To report anything else would reveal too much and you'll just have to come on down to the end of the road to check it out. I hope this is 200 characters.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
1.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Address: 385 E Fairview Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7612
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: $106 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing