We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Very good B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our hosts at The Spyglass Inn, Pat and Arden, are warm and loveable and they put out a breakfast to die for you will have to discipline yourself not to eat so much that you will feel like staggering back to your room for a nap. We were in the downstairs room under the dinning room and we did get startled from time to time when someone upstairs pushed themselves away from the table. It might be better to get the other room if you can and I'm betting that the large "Captain's Quarters" is really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This B&B is a must! We had reservations for 2 nights but missed a flight and had to call to cancel our first night. Somehow we lost a day traveling and still made it to Homer on our anticipated day. We decided we would head over anyway and see if we could still get our room. We were greeted out front by Pat and as luck would have it, she still had our room! She was very gracious and showed us around their home. There are 2 rooms downstairs and I believe another guest house not attached to the house. The rooms were wonderful, comfortable, and the quilts were beautiful! Pat and Arden were outstanding hosts! Pat cooked up a great breakfast both mornings which we shared with another couple staying here. She has a garden and was showing us her rhubarb. My companion mentioned loving rhubarb pie as a child. Pat made him a rhubarb pie and a rhubarb crumble for breakfast the next day. Our first night we spent the day exploring, came back to take a nap and slept too long, too late to go out to dinner. She was kind enough to send down some blueberry cake to hold us over till morning. I can't say enough about Pat and Arden. They are such interesting people and seem to love having company in their home. If you plan a trip to Homer, staying at the Spyglass Inn is a must! Arden will keep you entertained with stories and Pat will lead you in the right direction on things to do and see. Thank you Pat and Arden for a wonderful stay in Homer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatordebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable with the private bathroom across the hall way. the room was small but adequate, clean & tidy with TV. Pat & Arden are good hosts producing excellent breakfasts of home cooked food. The only minor drawback was, having the room downstairs, access for the luggage. A minor gripe really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Spyglass Inn for 2 nights. Owners were friendly. The quilts on the beds were made by Pat. I asked tons of questions about quiltmaking and she was willing to share. The room was very clean and comfortable. The B&B is located near a lot of activities including the Pratt Museum and a mile from the Homer Spit. Both Pat and Arden were great. The breakfast was wonderful! Pat offers a full breakfast and it was nice sitting around the table chatting with them and other guests. They had good recommendations for activities and places to eat. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Spyglass for two nights during our visit to Homer. The Spyglass is a homey place where you just can’t help being comfortable. Pat and Arden are superb hosts. Arden is a real character with plenty of tales to tell, which always entertain. Pat is a fabulous cook and her breakfasts should be listed in the B and B hall of fame. Their home is nicely maintained, very clean and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Homer itself. Very relaxing

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts; great breakfasts. A good place to return after a day of fun. I do not know what else to write but there is a minimum of 200 characters so: "The granola was great. The cinnamon rolls, too. The coffee was hot and the sky was blue." Still not enough characters$???;((((@@@@:))). Yikes! I don't want to count characters. Well, Arden was, actually, is a character as was the man down at the beach with the fancy outhouse for ladies and the bartender at the Salty Dawg Saloon and Ringo the troll who lives in an old boat down on the Spit. To report anything else would reveal too much and you'll just have to come on down to the end of the road to check it out. I hope this is 200 characters.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

First experience was a moose just outside our suite. The room was filled with Pat's wonderful quilts. It was quiet, well-located, exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific - I'm still trying to get her to ship those rolls to Texas! And, sometimes the conversation turned to Santa Claus! Great experience!

Room Tip: Just let the innkeeper choose for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRedRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Pioneer Inn Homer
Pioneer Inn Homer
#9 of 40 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisherman's Tales B & B
Fisherman's Tales B & B
#13 of 40 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Property: The Spyglass Inn B&B
Address: 385 East Fairview, Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing