We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as expcted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“as expcted”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable with the private bathroom across the hall way. the room was small but adequate, clean & tidy with TV. Pat & Arden are good hosts producing excellent breakfasts of home cooked food. The only minor drawback was, having the room downstairs, access for the luggage. A minor gripe really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Spyglass Inn for 2 nights. Owners were friendly. The quilts on the beds were made by Pat. I asked tons of questions about quiltmaking and she was willing to share. The room was very clean and comfortable. The B&B is located near a lot of activities including the Pratt Museum and a mile from the Homer Spit. Both Pat and Arden were great. The breakfast was wonderful! Pat offers a full breakfast and it was nice sitting around the table chatting with them and other guests. They had good recommendations for activities and places to eat. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Spyglass for two nights during our visit to Homer. The Spyglass is a homey place where you just can’t help being comfortable. Pat and Arden are superb hosts. Arden is a real character with plenty of tales to tell, which always entertain. Pat is a fabulous cook and her breakfasts should be listed in the B and B hall of fame. Their home is nicely maintained, very clean and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Homer itself. Very relaxing

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts; great breakfasts. A good place to return after a day of fun. I do not know what else to write but there is a minimum of 200 characters so: "The granola was great. The cinnamon rolls, too. The coffee was hot and the sky was blue." Still not enough characters$???;((((@@@@:))). Yikes! I don't want to count characters. Well, Arden was, actually, is a character as was the man down at the beach with the fancy outhouse for ladies and the bartender at the Salty Dawg Saloon and Ringo the troll who lives in an old boat down on the Spit. To report anything else would reveal too much and you'll just have to come on down to the end of the road to check it out. I hope this is 200 characters.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First experience was a moose just outside our suite. The room was filled with Pat's wonderful quilts. It was quiet, well-located, exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific - I'm still trying to get her to ship those rolls to Texas! And, sometimes the conversation turned to Santa Claus! Great experience!

Room Tip: Just let the innkeeper choose for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRedRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent three days in Homer, AK this July/August 2012 fishing and bear watching. It was so much fun. We stayed with Pat and Arden owners of Spyglass Inn B&B and they just added to a delightful visit. Pat was so kind to make us breakfast to go because of our very early morning tours and when we were able to sit down with them and other guest to a full sit down breakfast it was delicous. We were very pleased with our room which had a private bath. We were able to park our car right outside our room which made it very convient for lugging in our luggage. We had a very comfy bed and the room was very clean and stocked with everything we needed. We highly recommend you stay here, far better that your standard hotel/motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVannoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The breakfasts and hospitality make up for any quirks in the layout of the inn (the downstairs rooms are cozy, but you will be taking your luggage down a gravel path about 50 yards). The rooms feature gorgeous handmade quilts, and Arden & Pat are interesting and gracious hosts. Breakfast is served family style & consisted of eggs, bacon, waffles, homemade rhubarb raspberry syrup, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea. Her homemade granola is to die for as are our cinnamon rolls. We'd love to return.

Room Tip: Stay in the Captain's Quarters if accessibility or mobility are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
6.5 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#3 of 40 in Homer
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Property: The Spyglass Inn B&B
Address: 385 E Fairview Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7612
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing