We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will recommend Spyglass Inn to all my friends and family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Cape Coral
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I will recommend Spyglass Inn to all my friends and family.”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed in the Fireweed Room for three nights on a mom and daughter's mini-getaway. The B and B was spic and span, well appointed, and our own room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the fireweed quilt very lovely.

The food was absolutely delicious, wth lovely, comfortable service. It was so nice to be waited on in such a relaxing atmosphere. My daughter and I both loved conversations with Pat and Arden. Arden has many interesting Santa Claus stories which he tells with his deep, radio announcer's voice. Pat is humorous and has a quick, problem-solving mind.

My daughter wants to know when we can go back! And when will I cook up the recipes Pat gave me to take home?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKVeronica60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

...and not just because the food is appealing; Pat and Arden are the sort of folks with whom conversation at the table comes easily. Their home is a haven of elements comprised of family, well-lived and dynamic lives, community activism, arts, culture, and of course food that both wows and satisfies. We recommend letting your Homer agenda allow time for the warm, welcome Spyglass experience that is best captured by sharing with Pat and Arden.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CChamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Entertainment, good food, hospitality, memories, comfort, knowledge of area -- nothing more required.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This B&B is attractive and welcoming. Our room had a view of the garden but we weren't lucky enough to catch sight of the local moose and her calf. Every room was decorated witha different and beautiful quilt, hand made by Pat . Breakfast was generous with home made granola and a different cake every morning as star attractions.
Pat and Arden were excellent hosts with lots of information and suggestions. They are interesting and interested people. They added a lot to our stay.
And yes, Arden does look like Santa Claus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had not planned to stay in Homer, but due to a problem with a boat motor, needed a last minute, 1 night stay. We were lucky to be able to stay at the Spyglass because they were having the property painted the next day and had not booked anyone in. Our 1 night worked well for all of us. While we were out fishing our teenaged daughters walked a short distance for food and shopping and were very happy hanging out here. The following morning, Pat cooked us a fabulous feast for breakfast, which we got to enjoy with them. Everything was very delicious and plentiful and the company couldn't be beat! All in all, we were comfortable and very happy with our accommodations. By the way, Arden does look like Santa and is as sweet and gentle! Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casa4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We couldn’t have picked a better place for our weekend getaway to Homer! Pat and Arden were the perfect hosts waiting up for our late arrival with a glass of wine and great conversation. The Capitan’s Quarters were spacious and quiet; the fluffy bed with a handmade quilt made for a great night’s sleep. The homemade breakfast couldn’t be beat with yeasted waffles, homemade granola, eggs, sausage and fruit. We’re looking forward to visiting again and again in the years to come.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We visited the Spyglass Inn while looking for a new home in Homer. Pat and Arden were so friendly and helpful, providing not only lodging, but information and inside scoop on some of the places we wee considering. The king size bed in Captain's Quarters was so comfortable! There was plenty of room for our 1 year old's portable crib and for our 2 year old's play area. The room was cozy and quiet and we stayed an extra day for the great sleep and AWESOME breakfast. There was plenty of good food: fresh baked cinnamon rolls, homemade granola, fresh scrambled eggs(from the neighbors chickens)bacon, ham and more. My kids loved the lazy susan on the table and ate almost as much as the adults. They were very happy and warmed up to Pat and Arden right away. I'm so happy to have made these wonderful new friends!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapshot31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
6.5 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#2 of 40 in Homer
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Property: The Spyglass Inn B&B
Address: 385 E Fairview Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7612
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing