We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but needs updating!”
Review of Land's End Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Land's End Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a waterfront room. The views are outstanding and sleeping with windows open was a plus. Check in was disappointing. The clerk was not overly friendly and offered no advicecabout restaurant, exercise room, etc. she handed me my room key and said use the second door. The locals do not recommend the restaurant stating service and food is to inconsistent. View is nice for viewing but very high priced for lack of recommendations. My husband did get an orange juice to go one morning and said it looked odd and he felt sick later. The cleaning help was very friendly and one young man found a bottle opener for me when I asked. Upon check in I noticed our room carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed. Overall not a bad place just needs updating and better service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 911 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you like distinctive locals and have an adventurous soul, you will like this place. Great views across Kachemak Bay and also of at least one volcano - possibly
Augustine Volcano - off in the distance. We drove there for the major purpose of taking a bush flight to Katmai to observe the bears, but for just usual touristing, there are a multitude of small local artisans' shops along Homer Spit Road leading to the resort. The room we had was fine: A more or less typical motel set up with a fine view of the parking lot. If you wish a view of the water be sure to specify a "Midship Bay" vs "Midship City" room. Service and accommodations were fine and clean. The beach is mostly gravel and rocks but easy to walk on and admire the views.

Room Tip: Midship Bay vs Midship City if you want a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Land's End on recommendation of a family member. It's out on the spit, we have an water view room. I woke up this morning saying I could wake up to this every morning, relaxing. I could hear the people in the room next door talk anadromous snore a couple times. The rooms are clean. Not as contemporary as many hotels but this is Alaska. Restaurant was good $$-$$$. This is a seasonal townso not much going on, but we liked the visit.

Room Tip: No room service option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kb1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This resort is at the tip of the spit....Watch wild life in the bay..Directly across from the mountains.......Sit outside on the balcony or just sit by the windows and stare...I made our arrangements prior to going...When we were given a room, my husband was not happy with it...We were upgraded at no extra charge...A beautiful suite....This was done by very friendly people at the resort...Clean, friendly and a good price...A winner.........

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankrbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We decided upon arriving at Lands End to upgrade our room to a water view, and were very happy we did. Our original room was cramped and right on the parking lot, and had fumes from the gas company just behind. Our new room, for an extra $50 a night, had a water, glacier and mountan view and a small balcony, which made us very happy. We even saw Sea Otters and Puffins from the room.
The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly but very clueless. Simple tasks like checking in took forever! My friend tried to find out about the spa and found that no one picked up the phone and the front desk knew nothing.
Not a fancy place, but much better than many places we stayed on our trip.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our city-view room was reasonably priced but very small. The full-size bed pushed up against the wall made for tight quarters and my husband and I are not large people. Rooms need some updating and I would splurge for the ocean-view room if I stayed here again. The location really can't be beat - beautiful views of the ocean and mountains and a nice beach to walk behind the hotel. We saw sea otters and dolphins from the restaurant windows while we ate.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ccpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in 9 different hotels (1 was a B&B) during our 21 day Alaska vacation. Lands End by far had the best view. It was very comfortable and we brought our meals back to the room instead of eating out because we couldn't get a better view at any restaurant in town! The rooms could use some updating. The staff doesn't seem to have much control over housekeeping so don't expect an early or even on time check in and your room may not be cleaned on subsequent days until 2:00 or later, but that was our only inconvenience.

Room Tip: Midship king was great. We were in 224.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azhottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.5 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
156 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land's End Resort

Address: 4786 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: $94 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Land's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Land's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land`s End Hotel Homer
Lands End Hotel Homer
Lands End Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing