We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Waterfront Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Land's End Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Land's End Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Waterfront Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel. It is located at the very end of the Homer Spit. The rooms all have a view of the bay. Homer is a charter fishing destination where salmon and halibut are the favorites. Our room had a small deck where we could sit and watch the many fishing boats and occasional tanker go in and out of the harbor. There is a great beach for walking and if weather permits, you can see two or three of the glaciers across the bay. The room was average size with the usual amenities such as TV, coffee maker, small microwave and small refrigerator. Noise was not a problem. The attached restaurant overlooks the bay. The food was average and the price, as with all of Alaska, was high. If you are in Homer just for the scenery then this is a good hotel for you. If you in homer for the fishing, then there are likely many other places to stay that are less expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor. Quitter and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    231
    102
    38
    27
See reviews for
208
251
33
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We took a quick summer trip to Homer with an overnight, We usually go to "destinations" in Alaska in the winter or at least in spring or fall when we don't have to deal with tourists. We took a chance largely because our youngest child starts college in August and she wanted to spend some time in Homer. We got one of the last available rooms, and it was a bay-side king on the third floor. The views from the room were breathtaking as you would imagine, but the room itself was very nice. Homer may be the end of the North American road system, but there aren't too many hotels within a thousand miles (that gets you across the Canadian border and most of the way to Whitehorse) that are as nice.

Room Tip: There probably isn't a truly bad view, but Kachemak Bay is so spectacular (and that's why yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights in one of the really fantastic condos which have been constructed along the beach, next to the Lands End Resort (we got our keys at the Resort, so the condos are connected in some way to the resort). There were 3 full bedrooms with baths, and a 4th loft room (which was great for the teenager). The kitchen and livingroom were double-height & stunning. Everything was beautiful and perfect--especially the view. We sat outside on the deck & watched eagles feeding, and otters floating by. It was really wonderful, but not cheap ($500/night) but affordable considering we had 4 adults & one teenager. We also had a meal at the Lands End Resort which was just as good as the other restaurants we went to on the spit. When we return to Homer, we will definitely rent one of these condos again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had a friend visiting from London England and we wanted to fish for halibut, so I booked 1 night at this hotel through Expedia. We then decided to stay 2 nights so I called expedia and requested another night be added(July 22 & 23, 2013). I got email confirmation of 2 nights and told to call ahead for late check-in. I called the hotel and both nights were confirmed. When we arrived the guy at the desk said there was only 1 night reserved, he had a room for the 2nd night but said we would have to change rooms, check out of the 1st room and check in again for the 2nd room. Check out in noon, check in is 4:00pm. I asked why we had to check out, he said the room was booked for the next night but the room he was moving us to was exactly the same. If the rooms were exactly the same I didn't understand why the 2nd room couldn't be given to the guest coming in the following day. This guy obviously couldn't think on his feet. So the following morning we repacked our things and went to the front desk to check out. There was a young lady at the desk who we explained the situation to and she understood what we were trying to say and agreed the new client could go into the other room and we could keep the one we had. We went to book the fishing trip and returned to the room with our bags. We left for lunch and returned in the late afternoon to find someone's luggage in our room. The bed wasn't made, our luggage was there with some things unpacked. It was obvious someone was already in the room yet they left the luggage anyway. I called the front desk and it was a different desk person. I told her about the luggage and she had no idea what was going on but sent 2 people to collect the luggage. I asked why they would leave luggage here when there was obviously someone already staying in the room. She said the person delivering the luggage only does what he's told. OMG! a mindless robot. At $249.00 a night I expect much better service than that. The location and the room were both very nice, but they don't make up for poor service and incompetence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SettlersBayAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel offers the most stunning views across the bay with the pleasure of a balcony and small Bay Area to sit in at the front of our two room suite. For that reason alone, I would recommend the hotel and the space in the suite was fine for five of us too.

The downside was servicing, as mentioned by others, the room was not fully cleaned and we had to chase to get bins emptied, floor vacuumed, etc for a three night stay. The front desk suggested it was a problem as we were in the room at the wrong times...hmmm...

If the cleaning was fixed it would easily be a 5 but the element of messy room after a full day out is niggling us!,

Room Tip: Always have a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights: 7/18 and 7/19. We were assigned 617 in the Lodges. Making the reservations and changing dates was very easy and the receptionists taking the reservations were very nice on the phones.
The view of the beach from the room was very nice. Above us were condo owners who were quiet.
The location on the spit was very convenient but as one gets out the front door the view is of an industrial area, boat storage and an RV park. The park was full but placid.
The restaurant on the premises, Chart Room had excellent food, ambience and service.
Unfortunately, we were burglared and we were missing passports and some money while we were on day cruise to Seldovia. This is the first time we were in an inn without a safe. Lesson learned!
There was no housekeeping. Place was clean at check-in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank AAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Land's End Resort was an unexpected surprise. The accommodations were awesome. The room was very comfortable with three queen size beds and a wonderful view from the from room and balcony. It was so enjoyable to step outside to see the beach with the midnight sun and watching people having a nice stroll. The beach in front of the hotel was easy to access when we wanted to take a stroll. The deck was a nice place to sit and chat with new friends and the restaurant had an amazing menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip2plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.5 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.6 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
5.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land's End Resort

Property: Land's End Resort
Address: 4786 Homer Spit Road, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Land's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Land's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land`s End Hotel Homer
Lands End Hotel Homer
Lands End Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing