We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Land's End Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Land's End Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have enjoyed many trips to Land's End over the years and enjoy for several reasons. The location is awesome. You can walk along the beach or fish right there. In fact, we saw a huge humpback breach only 500 yards off the end of the spit this summer. The breakfast is awesome and will really fill you up. The hot tub is another awesome thing. Most of all though, the friendly staff is the real reason we return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort and for your nice comments. The location and wildlife are truly inspirational, but we agree with you, the biggest asset we have are the exceptional people who strive to exceed the expectations of every guest that walks through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    231
    102
    38
    27
See reviews for
208
251
33
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We went in early May before the tourist season started. We stayed for 1 night in a one bedroom condominium. The apartments belong to individual owners so each one is furnished differently. The unit we rented was 710. It looks exactly like the photos with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The only issue we had was that the bedroom is like a loft and looks out to a huge picture window with no curtains. While it provided a gorgeous view, the sun rises very early in Alaska at that time of the year. While the unit is 5 star, the rest of the hotel is 3 star. There was a spa where I had a good massage. While the unit had a terrace, it was too cold to sit outside at that time of the year. We paid $225 since they were still charging winter rates and I thought it was quite reasonable considering the quality of the unit. I would be happy to stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Pay for the condominiums rather than the hotel units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The lodges do provide an excellent amenity for certain customers, we do also have a wide variety of rooms within the hotel. I would encourage you to consider the Starboard Bay suites or MidShip rooms should the lodges not be available on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Land's End Resort is located at the "end of spit", an thin strip of land that juts out into the ocean. It is a short distance away from the main town of Homer but right near the piers where fabulous restaurants, as well as shopping and fishing charters can be found. We stayed at the Lodges which are condo/townhouses that be rented nightly or longer. These units are located right along the beach. Our was a 3 story unit which was furnished beautifully. Not only did the unit have 2 separate bedrooms with baths, there was a fully equipped kitchen complete with dishwasher, SS appliances and granite counters. There also was a washer and dryer too. The weather was terrific so we could have wine on the deck and enjoy the great views of the ocean. Housekeeping is not provided in the Lodges but towels can be replaced daily. We loved staying at Land's End. The only downside was having to carry heavy suitcases up to the bedroom on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieG2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort. We are truly blessed to be located in Homer and at the "end of the spit". I hope that your travels allow to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cernobbio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Service is not excellent in the hotel, but the location is really wonderful. The resort is really at the end of the "spit". I recommend that you book a room with terrace on the sea side. I was in one of them and it is really romantic !
The terrace is just on the beach and the sea is just 15 meters far. Rooms are confortable and clean. Just by walking you can reach several tipical shops and fisheries and good restaurants.
On the road on the spit it is very easy to see bald eagles.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy the "end of the spit" We do strive to provide excellent customer service to every guest. If there is a particular area of service where we could have served you better please let me know, leceo@alaska.net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent 15 days traveling around Alaska, and when we got to the Land' End, it was like entering another world. We had a two-room suite for the price of a basic room at other hotels, with a stunning view of the water and mountains. The staff was friendly, the restaurant one of the best on our trip, and the outdoor hot tub was the icing on the cake. The whole family had a wonderful stay and in fact it sort of spoiled us for the next place.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all the rooms are great and have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort and for your nice comments. We are truly excited when our guests have such a fabulous time enjoying Homer, Alaska. As you could imagine, we really enjoy what we do here and the opportunity to serve visitors entering our world at the "end of the spit". We do though have some rooms that do not have a view of the water--city side rooms that are priced accordingly for those who are not seeking the view amenity. Of course, all the view in the world is just outside our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This place has a nice restaurant, friendly staff and clean rooms. But let's get real... The rooms at Lands End Resort have the greatest view of mountains, glaciers and ocean you could ever hope for. Only stayed two nights but will never forget it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort. We are very please to hear your excitement about your stay with us on Kachemak Bay at the "end of the spit". We hope that you have the opportunity to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our stay in mid-August 2011 was a huge disappointment after the buildup our travel agent gave Land’s End Resort for a “rest day.” Maybe it was just us. Here are my gripes: Our room (#113) was oppressing, small and dated with a balcony so tiny it had one green plastic chair because it was an end room. Others had two but I suspect the housekeeping staff around the corner had usurped a chair for their regular and long afternoon smokes. We heard their complaining and sniffed smoke if we left our door open. The ‘60s furniture was in serious need of replacement. Thin walls, hot room, one luggage rack, squeezed-in closet (no door), thin walls, acoustical-tile ceiling, florescent-lit bath with no place for toiletries, constant hum of power boats…well, you get the idea. Breakfast isn’t included in the price, but is available in the Chart Room restaurant. Location and views? Undeniably good. You need to want it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daisymae112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I am not certain if 113 was the only room available or if your travel agent chose that style of room. In either case you were obviously not placed in a room that was suitable for your expectations, but one that is favored more by those that are more budget conscious. I would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again, and would be very pleased to offer a significant discount in one of our various upgraded rooms so that you could enjoy the true splendor of Homer, the "end of the spit", and Land's End Resort. Please contact me directly for your next reservation 907-235-0410.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.5 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.6 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
5.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land's End Resort

Property: Land's End Resort
Address: 4786 Homer Spit Road, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Land's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Land's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land`s End Hotel Homer
Lands End Hotel Homer
Lands End Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing