We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous property, spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Land's End Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Land's End Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the Lands End Beachfront Homes (Unit 714) this July on a family vacation with myself and husband, two younger children, and my in-laws. The pricing was better than 2 hotel rooms, so we thought we would try it out...the home was unbelievably beautiful and luxuriously decorated, and, since the units are located at the very end of the Homer Spit, have spectacular views of the bay and mountains. You are directly on the beach, and can build a fire, look for shells and rocks, or just sit and enjoy the view. Loved Homer and would spend an entire week there next time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura62565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    231
    102
    38
    27
See reviews for
208
251
33
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The views were wonderful! Everything on the spit is within walking distance! We had a great balcony, and use of an endless pool, sauna, and hot tub,but for almost $200. per night...the room was tiny! The staff was very friendly though, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hummbirdy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always wonderful to receive great comments from our guests about our Front Desk staff. Land’s End Resort is conveniently located within walking distance to the boat harbor, shopping and restaurants. Our oceanfront outdoor hot tub, endless pool, & sauna are just some of our most popular features and favorites amongst our most frequent guests, and we are glad you had the chance to utilize these amenities. You may have stayed in our ‘Port Bay’ room which is part of the original hotel built in the 1950s and recently renovated, we now have many different room styles too accommodate family sizes and budgets. We look forward to serving you as our guest in the future at Land’s End Resort.
-Land’s End Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I've lived in Alaska for 30+ years, and there's no better vacation spot than Land's End. I've stayed in the condos 3 times. The views are breath-taking, the condos are stunning, ultra-clean, and very family friendly. We were drinking coffee on the deck watching bald eagles perched on the condo roofs and soaring by. You feel like you're at a beachfront vacation spot; because you are! The staff personifies customer service; extremely courteous, knowledgable and friendly. The restaurant is awesome as well, with the best clam chowder (and views) in the state. I cannot recommend Land's End enough, whether with your signifcant other or your entire family. You will not be disappointed and will take incredible memories with you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWheeler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Wow! Thank you for the outstanding review! We are very grateful for our guests reviews and strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We are very happy that you enjoy your time here again and again, it shows that our staff take pride in their work and continuously work hard. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you as our guest again in the future.
-Land’s End Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Although our room was very spacious and the view was great, this property is looking tired. You are definitely paying for the locaiton, which is only an advantage if you plan on going fishing. The resort is right at the end of Homer Spit, about 8 miles from town, and you need to walk several blocks past an industrial complex and RV park before you reach any of the shops, restaurants, or fishing charters. My main concern was the fact that my credit card was charged immediately upon booking my reservation, which was a couple of months earlier. This is new in my experience, and was not done with any other hotel on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJeanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our view. Land’s End Resort is located on the water, at the very tip of the Homer Spit, surrounded by beautiful Kachemak Bay. Land’s End is the only hotel on the Homer Spit and is within walking distance of the small boat harbor, shopping, galleries, restaurants, the Salty Dawg Saloon and all the charter and activity offices. It is our widely published, standard policy for all reservations to take a two-night deposit at the time of reservation. This is the standard policy for all hotels in this area. We hope you see you again in Homer and at Land’s End Resort!
-Land’s End Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We rented a $400 a night condo on the water. It was poorly kept up and very overpriced. Dirty dishes in the cupboard, broken dishes in the stack of dishes, horrid cutting board, dirty windows, no window covering on west window next to the TV, VCR not working, broken gate to the stairs, kitchen poorly equipped, beach still had 4th of July trash. We complained and were given a %10 refund. Gee, thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolina04311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort. As we communicated to you directly, our staff made an inexcusable error in documenting the status of this room. This is extremely rare circumstance that should not occur. I know that we offered more than a 10% discount to make amends, but there is no escaping that this situation should not have occurred. The lodges that we have available are remarkable and I really would like you and your family to enjoy one as they typically are. Please contact me at leceo@alaska.net, if you would like to take advantage of an offer to return that you will not want to pass up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We just spent 3 nights here at Lands End. Friendly staff. Great view of the bay and mountains. Our room was very comfortable and met all of our needs - 2 bedrooms, balcony overlooking the bay, dining area, microwave and refrigerator with plenty of storage and free internet access. We enjoyed evening soaks in the outdoor hot tub (great view) and met some very interesting people there as well. Our daughter loved the lap pool too. Well worth the visit. The only downside was no onsite laundy facilities.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LoriBoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always wonderful to receive great comments from our guests about our front desk staff.
Our oceanfront outdoor hot tub is one of our most popular features and a favorite amongst our most frequent guests. Currently we do not offer onsite laundry facilities for hotel guests, however for your future stay our fully furnished Lodge homes do have washers and dryers in them. Once again, thank you so much for your review, we hope that you will come back to Land’s End Resort and stay with us again in the near future.
– Land’s End Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

After spending two nights in Seward and enjoying a day cruise through the fjords, we left to drive to Homer with a one-night stay at Land's End Resort. The hotel had been listed by a well-known travel guide as one of the five best hotels in Alaska and was recommended by our Homer-born travel agent. So, our anticipation of a great night was high. After a long (4 hour) and boring drive, we arrived at the hotel at the end of the "spit" at Homer. What a huge disappointment.

I would call the hotel an extremely over-priced budget motel (supply your own brand name). Our room was small and cramped. It had strange built-in cabinets of no apparent usefulness as well as a bed that could be dropped down from the wall. All these structures took up valuable floor space leaving little open space to manoeuvre. The carpet was dirty. The two double beds were uncomfortable with pillows so lumpy some could not be used. The barely adequate, open closet was supplied with cheap and broken plastic hangers. The lighting was harsh, strangely located, and inadequate.

The bathroom was minuscule with a sink/vanity with barely enough space to hold a toothbrush. The finish on the bottom of the bathtub was wearing off. I think the bulb in the overhead bathroom fixture was a 40 watt it was so dim. The ceiling fan was on a timer with a maximum of 15 minutes. I've never seen that before.

The reception staff was not welcoming. They seemed more concerned with having us acknowledge and initial a long list of things we "could not do" in our hotel room. It was very odd. We chose not to eat in the restaurant. We worried that the expensive menu would be as disappointing as the room. Breakfast was not included with the room. Coffee "pods" were provided with the usual small coffee maker in the room.

I cannot understand the guide book's enthusiasm about this place. The "spit" at Homer is ugly! Admittedly the view of the mountains is stunning, but it is that way on the Seward side of the Kenai Peninsula as well.

I could not possibly recommend this hotel, nor could I recommend making the long trek to visit Homer. I wish we had stayed in Seward and spent the day hiking rather than driving! I felt we had wasted both time and money on this outing to Homer. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Skip this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganJoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOSHomer, Manager at Land's End Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are quite surprised to hear how disappointed you were with your trip to Homer. Your recount is a virtual 180 degrees from what most every visitor reports. The drive from Seward to Homer is a beautiful one and has even been designated by the United States Department of Transportation as a National Scenic Byway; a road recognized for its archeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and/or scenic qualities. Only the most scenic of the roads in the program are also designated All-American Roads. This designation means the highway has features that do not exist elsewhere in the United States and are scenic enough to be tourist destinations unto themselves.

The descent into Homer has always been coveted and appreciated by travelers from all over the world. With a panoramic view of glaciers, mountains, volcanoes, the Homer Spit, the bluff, Kachemak Bay and Cook Inlet, it is renowned and inspires everyone who takes the time to make the drive instead of flying.

But we realize that everybody has different tastes, that we are all unique individuals, and that what one person values and considers beautiful can vary from visitor to visitor. So while the vast majority of people who come to Homer fall in love with it, we realize no one location can be paradise to everyone… although that won’t keep us from trying our best to be just that.

The Homer Spit is a bustling area in the Summer full of small shops, charters, art galleries, restaurants, coffee houses, commercial and Sportfishing activities, the fabulous live productions at Pier 1 Theatre, and the world famous Salty Dawg. Every year thousands of people come to the Homer Spit, stay at Land’s End Resort, and have a great experience.

But there is always room for improvement. We take the comments made in our surveys, comment cards and reviews very seriously, and work hard to correct our customer service based on them. Rest assured that we will address some of the specifics you mentioned as we are constantly honing our staff’s skills and service levels.

We are a proud to be a very unique resort that has a vast variety of different room types and bedding configurations (over 40 different types to choose from). Murphy Beds are standard for all of our rooms at each of our properties. Most people enjoy the flexibility of having the additional sleeping space. Murphy beds may be on their way to becoming a feature of the past, but we rarely receive complaints for having them.

We aren’t like a cookie-cutter hotel that just has two or three different room types. At the time a reservation is made, the guest is assigned a very specific room. We actually assign the room number at the time of reservation. We do this to ensure that each of our guests has the exact room and type that they specifically requested. We are very sorry that the room you opted for was not to your satisfaction.

The bathrooms are sized to accommodate a full sized tub shower and commode, with the sink and mirror or “dressing area” located just outside the bathroom; which is fairly standard practice for most hotels. In the interest of being more ‘green’ timers on the fans are installed in order to not allow unnecessary extended or wasteful use of electricity. Continental Breakfast is offered from September through May. During the busier summer months we offer a full Breakfast menu.

We hope your next visit will be quite the opposite from this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.5 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.6 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
5.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land's End Resort

Property: Land's End Resort
Address: 4786 Homer Spit Road, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Land's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Land's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land`s End Hotel Homer
Lands End Hotel Homer
Lands End Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing