We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations”

Fire and Ice Lodging
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire and Ice Lodging
Ranked #27 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My 17 year old son and I spent 3 nights at Fire & Ice in mid-August. We were fishing most of the time so we were not around except in the evening and early morning. The apartment was extremely clean and had all of the things you would expect and more. There is wireless internet with a good connection speed, satellite TV (we never watched it), coffee pot, plenty of cups & dishes, pots and pans for cooking on the stove (no oven), full size refrigerator/freezer, etc. The master bed was very comfortable and the pullout must have been as well as I heard no complaints from my son.

Judy and Bob were fantastic hosts. The only negative is that it is about a 10-15 minute drive from the Homer spit so if you plan to run back and forth a lot, that may be a factor. For us, we were heading to the Spit in the morning and then back after fishing and it was a pretty drive, so I didn't mind it at all. I would highly recommend this if yoiu are looking for a very clean, quiet place to stay in Homer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Ongracebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our two-night stay at Fire & Ice Lodging. Judi and Bob are friendly hosts and provided lots of helpful information and brochures about Homer. The apartment is very comfortable with many amenities. It was great for a short stay but would also be perfect for a longer stay since you have a kitchen and living area. The short drive out of town is worth it for the beautiful views and excellent accommodations.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank traveltandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at the Fire and Ice for 4 nights as part of our extended trip to Alaska. It was a great place to stay with a large bedroom, comfortable living area and a small but complete kitchen. It would probably be more accurate to describe it as a small fully furnished apartment instead of a B&B as you do your own meals instead of having breakfast prepared. Also, you will need to bring some of your own food as the kitchen is not completely stocked.

I do not mean the above comment as a negative as it is easy to buy a few breakfast fixings and you also have the opportunity to cook your dinner (especially if you have just caught it) if you are tired of eating out. The place does have all the dishes and pots to cook anything that you want.

Judi and Bob are very welcoming people and were a pleasure to meet and talk to. They have led an interesting life together in that they lived on a 35 foot sailboat for most of their married life and if you get them started, they have some wonderful stories to tell. We sat a chatted over a bottle of wine of several hours one night.

You should know that Fire and Ice is about 10 miles or so out of Homer so you will need to have a car to get there. It is located on a hill overlooking the water so the views are great.

Highly recommended if you are visiting Homer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was a really nice place. The apartment is comfortable, quiet, and updated (built in 2007-2008). It's on the ground floor, above ground, and below the home where the owners live. Great view to a distant glacier across the bay. The owners are welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Some basic breakfast essentials (cereal; pancake mix;; coffee; jam; etc) are provided but you'll need to bring milk, juice, and whatever else you want to eat. About 9 miles outside town, but no big deal, the town itself (Homer) doesn't look like a place you'd want to spend too much time anyway. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandOR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Your room is the first floor of a two-story home with solid Kachemak Bay views. It's actually more like an apartment, with full-sized living room and kitchen, large bedroom, shower/bath and flat-screen TV with satellite. Pancake mix, syrup and cereal are provided. Proprietors are super-pleasant and non-intrusive. This is a good drive from town, about 15 minutes, but you're closer to Homer's limited hiking opportunities, so worked out fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Judi and Bob were gracious hosts providing us with good recommendations and information and ensuring that we had what we needed to have an enjoyable stay in Homer. They made us feel at home. Fire and Ice Lodging is a quiet apartment with a scenic view and space that is well planned out with a kitchen, counter- eating area, living area, bedroom (comfortable bed) and a small bathroom. We stayed at a variety of lodgings while in Alaska. Some served a scheduled breakfast in the bed and breakfast dining room. Others like Fire and Ice provided breakfast foods (coffee and cereals with fresh fruit) and you could have breakfast privately on your own schedule. So it was a good change of pace. You can also buy other snacks, drinks and breakfast foods because there's a refrigerator and you have the use of a kitchen. The location is outside Homer, but like previous reviewers mentioned, it's more natural and gave us an opportunity to see a moose and baby next door and another along the road . If you are interested in world travel, Bob and Judi have a lot of good travel stories to share and we enjoyed spending an evening with them when they invited us for a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The accomodations are very up to date and having the ability to cook your own meals is a real plus. This is an apartment that is very comfortable and Judi and Bob have thought of everything that a traveler would need. My husband and I were very comfortable and found it the most relaxing place in our 2 weeks in Alaska. It is a short drive out of Homer, but the scenery along the way make it worthwhile. We saw a Moose and a newborn calf just next door --- and we saw a moose in the yard each day. The view is wonderful - just as pictured.

It was an incredible value -- we stayed three nights and wish we would have stayed more. Judi and Bob are delightful people with lots to share. All of Judi's recommendations for sightseeing and eating were great recommendations.

Everything in the apartment is good quality - not cobbled together. My husband and I truly enjoyed the time here and it spoiled us for any other location we went to!!!!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!

Room Tip: Book as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
10.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
9.1 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
911 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 30 in Homer
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
9.6 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire and Ice Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire and Ice Lodging

Address: 54326 E End Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9669
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: $65 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe holiday apartment at an affordable price. Awesome views of glaciers, Kachemak Bay and mountains from every window. Fully furnished with luxury, leather furniture. A full kitchen allows you to eat what you want when you want and save on eating out costs. Many extras such as SatTV, DVD player, Stereo, BBQ and more. Separate entrance gives you freedom to come and go as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing