We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and recommend it without reservation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fire and Ice Lodging

Fire and Ice Lodging
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire and Ice Lodging
Ranked #27 of 41 Homer B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We loved it and recommend it without reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The accomodations are very up to date and having the ability to cook your own meals is a real plus. This is an apartment that is very comfortable and Judi and Bob have thought of everything that a traveler would need. My husband and I were very comfortable and found it the most relaxing place in our 2 weeks in Alaska. It is a short drive out of Homer, but the scenery along the way make it worthwhile. We saw a Moose and a newborn calf just next door --- and we saw a moose in the yard each day. The view is wonderful - just as pictured.

It was an incredible value -- we stayed three nights and wish we would have stayed more. Judi and Bob are delightful people with lots to share. All of Judi's recommendations for sightseeing and eating were great recommendations.

Everything in the apartment is good quality - not cobbled together. My husband and I truly enjoyed the time here and it spoiled us for any other location we went to!!!!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!

Room Tip: Book as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our stay at Fire & Ice exceeded all our expectations. The accommodations were spacious, immaculate and thoughtfully done. Our hosts, Judie & Bob ended up being our friends. The location is a bit out of the center of town but it was worth the trip. Truly a five star property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaniefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the Fire and Ice Lodge mid June 2010. It was probably the nicest place we stayed during our vacation, and one of the least expensive. Our hosts were wonderful, and we all loved Feizel!! Absolutely beautiful location. Accomadations were VERY clean, modern features, kitchenette, comfortable pull out sofa in living room, plenty of extras like the use of their grill to make dinner. I would absolutely stay here again.

Upon arriving at our last bed and breakfast in Seward, I emailed Judy to tell her they had ruined us for all other lodgings. I doubt you could find a nicer place with nicer hosts in Homer, or anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reitanmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Enjoyed our recent stay with Fire and Ice Lodging. Judi and Bob were the nicest hosts and will do anything to make your stay memorable. The apartment was perfect for our needs and was in a great location (approximately 10-15 mins off the Homer Spit).

Highly recommend and are very happy with the lodging and services!

Thanks Judi and Bob!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ParalyzedHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed at Fire and Ice for three nights at the end of our 10 day trip to Alaska in May 2010. The apartment was perfect for our stay and purposes! By the time we arrived in Homer we were pretty exhausted, and it was so nice to have a space to ourselves with all the necessities and comforts of home.

The lodging is an apartment in the downstairs of Judi and Bob's home - so you have a bedroom, a bathroom (with stall shower), a small kitchen (with fridge, electric stove top, microwave, and sink - heads up, no oven), and a living room. Judi and Bob have furnished the unit with everything you could possibly need, and then some. The kitchen has cookware, spices, dishes, cereal, pancake mix, coffee maker, etc...., which was great for saving some money by cooking and not eating out! The bathroom is fully equipped with towels, wash cloths, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryer, etc... Bed was super comfy, lots of extra pillows and blankets if you need them. Flat screen TV and WIFI were nice bonuses.

The unit is about 10 miles from Homer/spit, but we didn't mind the easy drive back and forth, and it was sort of nice to be away from the business of the spit. The views from the apartment are amazing... !! Very peaceful and comfortable lodging. Tons of privacy, but Judi and Bob were also very accessible and helpful while we were there. They have taken the time to gather a lot of useful information and tips for Homer, and were very willing to give us advice on anything. They also graciously invited us up for drinks one nite, but we were so exhausted from fishing all day that we had to reluctantly decline.

All-in-all, this is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a beautiful, private, peaceful home-away-from-home while in Homer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pen15club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Wow this place was nice. It is a little out of the way, but well worth the time to get there. Judy and Bob were so nice and kind. They provided beautiful, clean accommodations, and wonderful conversation. We even got to see the "resident" moose while we were there. We had the entire bottom floor of their home to ourselves. What a plus. I would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseySeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We can only echo the fabulous reviews given by others. The apartment is so comfortable with a great bed and all the comforts of home--tv, dvd, etc. Judy provides a great set-up for breakfast, including a pancake/waffle mix. We loved the drive from Homer with the great bay views--and saw several moose grazing. Judy was particularly helpful as we had a family emergency occur while staying there. She let us use her phone and her computer to make travel arrangements to get back to the lower 48 in a hurry. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Homer. One other point, if you go to Homer, go to Cafe Cup for dinner. It has a fun and sophisticated atmosphere and delicious big city food in a great small town environment.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
10.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
3.1 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#3 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Good Karma Inn
Good Karma Inn
#1 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Juneberry Lodge
Juneberry Lodge
#5 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
7.8 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire and Ice Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire and Ice Lodging

Property: Fire and Ice Lodging
Address: 54326 East End Rd, Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe holiday apartment at an affordable price. Awesome views of glaciers, Kachemak Bay and mountains from every window. Fully furnished with luxury, leather furniture. A full kitchen allows you to eat what you want when you want and save on eating out costs. Many extras such as SatTV, DVD player, Stereo, BBQ and more. Separate entrance gives you freedom to come and go as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing