We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lots to see here

Loved the educational displays. Our daughter in law ( a marine biology center instructor in... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Pat B
,
Milton, Florida, United States
Our children loved it

It was a good experience to see what is below the sea-level in the docks. They really go on their... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2018
Wout V
,
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
via mobile
Read all 302 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Homer
from $725.00
More Info
from $680.00
More Info
from $695.00
More Info
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
225
55
16
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
55
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peterson bay tide pooling wynn nature center field station sea creatures tidal pools baby moose china poot bay octopus low tide flora and fauna minute boat ride sea star marine biology guided tour edible plants beautiful nature
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the educational displays. Our daughter in law ( a marine biology center instructor in Florida) would have gone berserk with questions and admiration.

Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

It was a good experience to see what is below the sea-level in the docks. They really go on their belly to look and search for sealife. They found a sea urchin, a starfish, anemones, jellyfish, ... and they were able to touch some of them. They liked it so much that they participated a second time the next day.

Thank Wout V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connect2NaturewithUS, Public Relations Manager at Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

SO glad your family enjoyed this! It truly is amazing what is in 'our backyard'! Let us know what they find in yours! And, shoot us an email info@akcoastalstudies.org and we'll send a coloring page with so many intertidal creatures so your children can share what they found with their friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Very interesting and educational experience. Also interesting to kids as there are lots of displays which have videos, to scale models and "please touch" displays.

As always in Alaska, the rangers and people in this Center are helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We spent twenty minutes talking to a ranger who was showing us his personal photos in response to some question we asked.

Great films in the auditorium. It's definitely worth an hour and if that's all you have - stop here. If you have longer, you'll find yourself here without being bored for the better part of an afternoon or morning.

Did I mention it's free? Plus the bathrooms are very nice.

Thank Protraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

They offer free tide pooling and their employees are very educated and helpful and knowledgeable! It was super fun and educational!

Thank Jessereeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

This was a very fun experience. We weren’t sure what to expect. Great opportunity for those who don’t want to dive or swim to see some of the sea creatures, and touch them if they’re brave they enough. Great to watch the children build up their courage.

1  Thank zoolife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

We did the Creatures of the Dock tour. Though this tour is more geared towards children, my husband and I didn't feel awkward on the tour when we were the only ones. We learned quite a bit and it was neat to see some of the "creatures of the dock". Kudos to our guide; he did a marvelous job.

1  Thank TravelingYanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Extremely knowledgeable and love teaching others about sea life. We enjoyed it so much we went to all three of their locations

2  Thank morganreed727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We stopped in the visitors center to acclimate ourselves to the town of Homer and the region in general. The building was lovely with adequate parking and the exhibits were well done providing helpful insights to understanding the history, geology, birds and animal habitats of the region. We watched the movie on bears and left much more informed overall than when we arrived.

We would have taken the guided nature walk but I was not dressed warm enough for the windy chilly weather conditions. Well worth 45 minutes of your time if you are in Homer.

1  Thank HAZbeen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

I booked a combo tour (hiking & kayaking) with them. They take good care of you, starting from the online-booking to the moment you arrive. You will be provided with every information necessary and useful. Just take the time to read them and follow the instructions and you will be fine.
The day I 'd chosen was the lowest tide of the month combined with pooring rain and strong winds at the early morning. After everybody finally showed up (do them and yourself a favour and be on time or give them a message!), we boarded for Peterson Bay. The ride was rough but fun - the couple that run the vessel - highly experienced! So it was a great ride. The two naturalists we had were outstanding. Answering all our questions, paying attention to everyone s needs in the group and showing us the fascination of sea life. We had a shourt stop at their research station for coffee before heading back to Homer. Due to the heavy wind, the kayaking was cancelled, but their were in touch all the time to not cancel it to early. I was absolutely convienced about this handling - as it prevented me from taking a bath in real cold water. Our guide even arranged the refund right away. I would always reconmend them for tours, especially family tours and go with them again, when I would visit Homer once again.

1  Thank Bra_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

It is a great place to learn about the area! They also go out tide pooling! We were able to see star fish, an octopus and many other creatures with the help of their guides!

1  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews