We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Success across 3 generations”

Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies
Ranked #4 of 54 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This environmental education center offers natural history day tours for all ages that range from the boreal forest of the 104 acre Wynn Nature Center on the north side of Kachemak Bay to the south There, in Peterson Bay guests explore tidepools, a rainforest and an archaeology site. Kayaking and overnight Yurt stays may also be added.The experienced hiker can also choose from guided hikes of varying difficulty.At the Homer Harbor, discover the world beneath your feet on a Creatures of the Dock Tour!!Where else can you see a seastar and a moose all in one day... personal, hands-on experience for all!
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Success across 3 generations”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Full day of hiking and exploring for 6 kids (ages 7-14), my mother who is 74, and 5 middle age types. We ate our way through the morning hike. I had no idea that it would be an edible berry, flower, root tour and that made the day for me. Must have tried 20 different items including the watermelon berry which tasted like a cross between watermelon and cucumbers. Every 25 yards it seemed like there was something new to try. The kids loved the tide pooling in the afternoon and the visit to the archaeological site. I was very nervous about how 12 family members across a broad age span would do on a full day tour, but it was a hit up and down the line and was not physically demanding. The morning tour to lost lake wasn't a stunning walk - but Howard's narrative was absolutely engaging to the entire group. One warning - our kids learned a song "Sea Stars Are Not Star Fish" there that they sang in the minivan for the next 5 days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Denver_Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    50
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take the guided walk”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife is into plants so we chose to do the 2 pm walk with a staff naturalist. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the flowers, trees, wildlife and geology. The path itself is suitable for all ages and winds through meadows, skirts a bog, and tall trees. It was bright sunny day so the wildlife was bedded down but we were shown moose tracks and where they like to browse on the willows. This stop is recommended for both enthusiasts and anyone wanting to stretch their legs on easy trails for an hour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Peterson Field Station - not for everyone”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We did the day tour and learned a lot from our exploration of the tidal pools and our nature hike up to the top of the island. Who knew how much lurks beneath those rocks! What people should be aware of is the physical exertion that will be needed to get to the tidal pools (rocky beaches covered with seaweed, waders are provided - but are not easy to maneuver in). The nature hike will require some up & down sections on narrow trails with rocks, roots & slippery mud covered slopes that are steep in some sections. Folks with bad knees or hips, beware! The trip across the bay can also be bumpy and you are traveling in a partially covered aluminum Boston whaler type ship. It was rigorous for us, but we did enjoy it - just likely not to do a repeat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extreme Tide Pooling”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed two nights in the yurts, as well as a guide led hike and tide pooling trip. The tides and creatures you see are amazing. Our guide, Howard, was fantastic and extemely knowledgable of the wild life in the area. We saw seals, sea otters, LOTS of sea stars, octopuses, nudibranchs (look it up) and a ton of other animals and plants. Missed the blueberries by a couple of weeks, but there were a ton coming in!

You have access to a full kitchen and bring over your own food. We cooked salmon and halibut! Hung out around the camp fire late into the night. Great trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dtriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wildflowers Galore”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The wildflowers were beautiful. They even give you a laminated sheet to take with you on the trails to identify the flowers. We had a picnic at the picnic table, surrounded by beautiful lupine, dwarf cottonwood, wild geraniums and much more. Very relaxing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rainey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies also viewed

 

Been to Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing