We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day in Bear Paradise”

Emerald Air Service, Inc.
Ranked #7 of 55 Tours in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please join us for the bear viewing trip of a lifetime. Find yourself in pristine, remote areas where you are not limited to paved trails or platforms--where you are away from the crowds. Fly in our deHavilland Beaver on floats across Cook Inlet to Katmai--bear country--and spend a full day watching thse magnificent creatures. An unforgettable experience.
1 review
“One day in Bear Paradise”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was just breathtaking. Together with Craig and Sarah we flew over Cook Inlet along the volcanoes into Katmai NP. To come that near to the bears was Not expectable. There was no second of fear, because all bears accepted US to be respectful guests in their habitat. We took hundreds of awesome pics and Video sequences with US home. Thanks so much for that day to Emerald.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rallyboy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    0
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad we chose Emerald Air!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My friend and I spent a LONG time trying to decide which company to go with, and we made the perfect choice for us with Emerald Air. I wondered if being on a tiny floatplane would make me nervous, but I was completely at ease with Craig as pilot, and with the plane itself. They have the most modern safety and navigation equipment and he has years and years of flying experience. I LOVED the flight! THey are both knowledgeable about the bears and Sarah is a wonderful guide, and we both enjoyed talking to her so much. We never felt nervous around the bears. On the day of our trip, there were quite a few other planes landing on the tiny lake, but our group was the only one that really walked around, across small streams, and along the streams, to see the most bears. Craig and Sarah know where the bears are, and who they are. It's just the trip of a lifetime. When we returned to Homer, even their young son was hospitable - making us each a cup of coffee to warm up a little before we hit the road.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VAturtlelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Bear viewing excursion”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went on a bear viewing trip with Craig, also our pilot and we have had the best day ever.

The flight with a waterplain was exiting and even before we landed we saw several bear. With hipboots you will walk through rivers and across the tundra if you are going in this period when the salmon are running. As soon as we got to the river we saw a mom with 3 cubs and a lot of other bears. We saw them fishing and relaxing, it really was an amazing trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nienke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is exactly what I wanted: bear viewing with a great guide in a secluded area, a small group, a smooth flight and good photographic opportunities. Craig and Sarah made it happen. It's worth the costs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GSGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a great day with Craig on this bear viewing trip. It was awesome, and definitely the highlight of our Alaska trip. We saw many bears, and were so close to them. Craig is a good pilot and informational guide. I know it's expensive, but it will bring you one of the best memorable moments of the life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank YupengFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Air Service, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Air Service, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing