We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Denali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Denali”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We don't like hotels, wanted B&Bs for our 2-week stay in Alaska. This was one of the best travel experiences of this trip (and many others we have had over the years). The hosts are congenial and very helpful and knowledgable. Their home and the grounds are beautiful. The only disappointment was no moose or bear sightings in the yard ;-) Terry cooks up a wonderful and bountiful breakfast for a full house of guests. He tries the same line each morning: "free range eagle eggs" just to see the reactions.

Room Tip: Second floor is best if you don't mind stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    38
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
72
187
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made our visit in July 2013~~it was heavy misquotes season, the owners took car of that with a fan at the front door!!

Never saw a dome Home~~ it was a great experience, friendly owners~~did cross the line with Ann by going outside in socks to see a moose~~and tracked in some grass!! But after that, I was treated to her home made apple pie and ice cream!!

Terry the inn keeper~~ was friendly and had a way to make you feel like you where family visiting!! He helped smooth the waters, ~~It was 4th of July went to Deniall National park, you would have never know it was a national holiday!!

I told the wife it was like Christmas without the tree!! Terry sensed that I was a little upset, and clamed me down with his friendly dogs, and a fire in the fire place!! The home was huge, and the breakfast was home style , anything you wanted he would take care of you!!

It was a Alaska adventure, I have gotten over the holiday thing~~I had to remember this is the last frontier!! You don't go around the corner for food and drink!! Thanks Terry and Ann~~and the wonderful "Scotie's" and Mr Moose!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to take off your shoes!!! I didn't see all the rooms, but our friends like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ann and Terry were welcoming and informative and all around fun. They know all the hot spots of what to see and when and which bus to take the tour around Denali. The entire home is spotless and very comfortable for all the guests and Terry's home cooked breakfast is out of this world. We took some awesome pictures of a Moose and her two babies right in the backyard.

We tell everyone about our trip to Denali and the wonderful experience at the "Dome Home".

Room Tip: We had the room at the top of the dome. It was spacious and very clean and comfortable. There was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wow! Stay here! Owners Ann and Terry are fabulous people and run a spotless B&B. The breakfasts were great, the views from their property are beautiful and peaceful, and you can walk a short distance to get to some places of interest and spots to eat. They picked us up from the train depot and dropped us off for our return. They have great tips to make your day in Denali a huge success. Super bonus=your ability to rent a car from them at Keys to Denali Car Rental right on premises. We saw moose out their bay window and loved every minute of our stay. Plus, it's fun to stay in a home that is shaped differently from others. The rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and our only regret is that we didn't get more time to talk with Ann and Terry. They are so interesting and wonderful! Fabulous stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ann and Terry were gracious and knowledgeable from my first e-mail to them in January 2013 inquiring about availability until Ann dropped us off at the train and brought our luggage to the correct drop-off for us the day of our departure on June 11th.

Terry's cooked to order breakfasts are a great way to start the day. Take your pick - eggs your way, french toast, fresh fruit, cereal - on it goes - try some of their homemade I believe he called it "bramble berry" jam (basically any berry that was picked that season) for a nice treat.

Their home is beautiful - very clean with lots of Alaskan art and a comfy, make yourself at home kind of atmosphere. We were in a room on the top floor - really lovely to be able to look out the window at 12:00 am and see the sun trying to set.

We were in the Denali area for 4 nights but only stayed at the Dome Home for 2 - both my husband and have remarked that we wish we had spent all 4 nights at there. Another bonus is that they rent vehicles. We took advantage of this option both days we were there as one really needs a vehicle if one is going to stay in Healy. The other nice thing about renting a vehicle from them is that it includes the pick-up and drop-off service.

They do have 2 Scottish Terriers (both are very friendly) - but if you are allergic to dogs probably not an option for you.

Both Ann & Terry have many stories and are wonderful about giving advice and information on the area. Like others have mentioned, the baked goods in the afternoon are a wonderful treat.

A place to enjoy a truly social environment - share stories of the day with all of the other guests (who are from all over) - and learn a little bit about Alaska from Alaskans.

As an added bonus, while we were there the resident fox made an appearance in the back yard a couple of times - he is quite a beauty.

If you are thinking about going, make sure and read their web site - it will give you a great idea about the rooms and the Dome Home environment.

Room Tip: I liked the top floor - however, you must walk up 2 sets of stairs to get there. Also, that bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunelloafcionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Easy to find, just 12 miles north of Denali National Park. Home is modern and clean. Made-to-order breakfast is awesome. Hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and give good advice about the attractions. I contacted four or five B&B's for our Alaska trip and the Dome Home was the only that replied, with a vacancy for the dates we needed. Very cool!

Room Tip: We took room #6 with three beds so our daughters could sleep in their own bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvis, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As noted by other reviewers, the hospitality begins upon arrival with warm choc chip cookies (and later brownies!) and a brief intro to the common areas of the house and yard at our convenience. Our room on the main floor was very clean, the bed comfortable and supplied with all the comforts of home. I particularly enjoyed settling in with a couple of the many Alaskan pictorial books in the room. Also, in the quiet of the morning, I enjoyed an extensive library of Alaska books. We loved the made to order breakfast that came from the kitchen, while we chatted with our host and other guests. Great cooking/baking, great knowledgable hosts and have nothing but praise for our stay near Denali Natl Park.
I might note that Healy, AK is a few miles north of the bigger touristy places to stay for Denali, but was appealing to us for that reason. I heard other guests enjoyed a family dinner at an Italian restaurant, while we chose the 49th State brewery/restaurant that was packed with good people and great food. Perhaps it was a good omen to even spot a moose along side the road as we headed into Healy.
A beautiful home, a house and hosts full of information and tips about the area, and comfortable. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
352 reviews
8.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,022 reviews
9.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
718 reviews
4.1 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.9 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 137 Healy Spur Road, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever stayed in a beautiful dome? Denali Dome Home is 12 miles north of Denali National Park and is oldest established B&B in the Denali Area. It has 7 bedrooms with seven private baths (some with a jacuzzi or sauna), Wifi, refrigerators, and free, full, cooked to order breakfast served in our dining room each morning. Free, off-street parking on a paved lot and drive, 7 private acres, woods, lawns and gardens, decks and privacy. It has received high ratings and is listed in Lonely Planet as the best B&B in Healy. The Denali Dome Home also has Keys to Denali, LLC,a car rental in the Denali area with a free pick up and delivery in Denali. Denali Dome Home starts its 26th season in Denali this year. Get a package deal for accommodations, rental cars and AK railroad tickets. Alaskan hosts offer excellent personalized tour desk help ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Dome Home b&b
Denali Dome Home Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing