We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while visiting Denali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the park. Terry had great hints for how to get the most of our time in Denali down to where to sit on the bus (driver's side in the front). Great breakfast with Terry cooking anything that you wanted. We will definately stay here again on our next trip to Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Midland1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our stay here was wonderful. This was our first trip to Alaska and the couple who run the Dome are full of suggestions and books to assist us in our Denali adventure. They are well versed in the area and always available with detials or advice on how to make Denali more accessable. Whatever we needed to make our trip easier, if it was where to buy a box-lunch, or where to do laundry, the owners were more than helpful.
The B&B is a really cool dome with a lovely, warm interior. The rooms are clean and our room had a private bath (I think all the rooms at the dome do, but I didn't check. It is my experience at many B&B's that the bath is not private, so for me this is important to mention.) The grounds are lush and green with plenty of chairs to sit and enjoy the Alaskan experience. The breakfasts are hot cooked and filling, and if you want something different, the owners are more than happy to make you something extra.
We have stayed in many B&B's on our travels, and this was our 3rd in Alaska (one in Seward and one in Talkeetna), and this was by far the best. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: (oops there is no swimming pool, but I don't know how to unchose that option). We had the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are frequent Alaska visitors, with several trips dating back over the past few years. We visited Denali Dome Home in March of this year, and we found it to be a terrific destination B&B. Terry and Ann go out of their way to make guests feel right at home. The rooms are comfortable and super-clean, the ambiance is excellent, the views superb...and the hosts are the kind of people that you feel like you've known a long time. Ann's backcountry advice was invaluable, and Terry went out of his way to make sure we had the right information and the right gear. I really can't say enough about our hosts.

The common area--loaded with books,comfortable chairs, and views--is a great place to hang out by yourself or with other guests, and the rooms are also quite nice. Their location in Healy is also quite nice, as it's out of the way of the summer hustle and bustle of Denali's "Glitter Gultch" near the park entrance, but close enough to put Denali in easy reach. Healy also offers enough services for the wayward traveler, even in the winter season.

After our trip in March, we passed through in the summer this year, as well, and once again found Ann and Terry to be super-friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend a stay here, and we will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: the upper floor room has a skylight, which might be nice for the northern lights (if it's not sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpogilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

While we did not get to stay in the dome home this visit, we did utilize their vehicle rental services. We were in Denali for our daughter's wedding and they set us up with a ride that the whole wedding party could fit in. Not only that, they invited us to breakfast with them and their guests. WHAT A FEAST! A great variety of traditional breakfast items which were delicious. Their vehicle rental choices suit a variety of needs. The home was very clean, comfortable the guests we observed seemed very happy and at home. We just appreciated how hospitable, helpful and genuinely warm folks the owners are. If we ever get to come back, the dome will be our first destination and our lodging choice! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What an amazing discovery this B&B is! Envision rural Alaska, hundreds of miles from Fairbanks and Anchorage. Yet the Denali Dome Home B&B offers the finest amenities that the traveler could want. The owners were eager to assist with planning for activities in the area, provided detailed information about dining, created a gourmet breakfast each morning, and shared fascinating stories about raising a family in rural Alaska. Their enthusiasm for the area and the warm welcome they provided was perhaps the finest I have experienced during my travels around the world. I travel solo. This was a very safe, nurturing destination in a lovely location and unique home. My four night stay was superb in every way! July 19, 20, 21, 22, 2012

Room Tip: If hotels seem impersonal, then this is the place to stay....a home away from home. Rental cars are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the first phone call to the departing farewell, we were highly pleased and couldn't have felt more comfortable. The keepers of this lovely B&B are well-informed about all things Alaskan and do everything possible to make their guests' experiences a pleasant one! The rooms are cheerful, clean, and comfortable. The breakfasts are superb and made to order. Freshly baked cookies and seasonal fruit await your return from an exhilerating day in the Wilds of Denali. I am surprised that previous travelers found any reason to complain about anything. One of the former comments complained that they were elderly and felt excluded. We, too, are older travelers but couldn't have felt more included. The B&B lies just outside of the tourist traps in a quiet area, but it is a short, easy drive to Denali that is filled with breathtaking views of mountains, tundra, and rivers. The grounds are beautiful and the interior is gorgeous with beautiful wood finishing and well preserved antiques. The common area is surrounded with windows offering a beautiful mountain view. I would stay there forever...that is, until winter arrived!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and another couple recently stayed here and was somewhat disappointed. One of the owners was rude. When we arrived -we were asked to fill out our registration which included questions of where we had stayed the night before-where we would be going when we left, what we would be doing in the area and more... Too much info unless they were writing a book.
Our breakfast only got worse as 'Terry' cooked eggs that were badly burnt (blackened) and should have never been served. If a guest dared enter into the kitchen area 'Terry' would almost scold them like children. In fairness--Rooms were clean. Terry's wife was very friendly. Terry is in the wrong business. I will never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ranny-Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
8.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
395 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
596 reviews
4.1 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.9 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 137 Healy Spur Road, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range: $100 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever stayed in a beautiful dome? Denali Dome Home is 12 miles north of Denali National Park and is oldest established B&B in the Denali Area. It has 7 bedrooms with seven private baths (some with a jacuzzi or sauna), Wifi, refrigerators, and free, full, cooked to order breakfast served in our dining room each morning. Free, off-street parking on a paved lot and drive, 7 private acres, woods, lawns and gardens, decks and privacy. It has received high ratings and is listed in Lonely Planet as the best B&B in Healy. The Denali Dome Home also has Keys to Denali, LLC,a car rental in the Denali area with a free pick up and delivery in Denali. Denali Dome Home starts its 26th season in Denali this year. Get a package deal for accommodations, rental cars and AK railroad tickets. Alaskan hosts offer excellent personalized tour desk help ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Dome Home b&b
Denali Dome Home Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing