We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was probably the most expensive B&B we stayed at during our two week Alaska trip but we felt we got our money's worth Healy is ten miles north of the Denali park entrance, but we felt we avoided the tourist mob scene around that area. There was also a good little restaurant or two in Healy so we didn't have to drive far at night to eat. The Dome home is pretty deluxe in side and in a lovely setting. The owners are nice and available. The breakfast was great and the owners provided lots of good tips for getting the most out of the trip into Denali Park. Our room had a huge bed and the bathroom was the only one where both my husband and I could navigate in there at the same time, it was so big. While we were out they tidied up the room and put our clothes away like a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohiomulligans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 361 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

In January my friend and I made a last minute trip to Alaska on a journey to see the Northern Lights. We rode the train to Healy so once we got there we had no vehicle. We wanted to stay at the Dome Home but they were full so we stayed up the road at a hotel. Although we were not guests at the Dome Home, Terry and Anne took us under their wings. They picked us up and dropped us off at the train “station”, provided us transportation to dinner that night and picked us up the next morning to have breakfast at the lodge with their other guests. All this generous hospitality and they refused to be compensated for any of their time or the meals they provided. It was truly a heart-warming experience and I look forward to seeing them again someday soon!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Dunkin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The dome home was easy to find. Clean and comfortable. Innkeeper, Terry, was very accommodating and full of great ideas. He tipped us off Talkeetna Air Taxi, which was much cheaper than the local Denali flight seeing.
Exactly as advertised.

Room Tip: We were in 3 different rooms and all were great
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginnyb0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I, along with 2 other couples just returned from a 3 night stay at the "Denali Dome Home" during a recent trip to Denali National Park! This was our first experience with B & B's and I must say that I cannot adequately express how impressed we were with the accomodations and our hosts/owners Terry and Ann. If this is an indication of how B&B's are operated, we have done ourselves a great disservice by not having utilzed one previously! This is a BEAUTIFUL, IMMACULATELY DECORATED home, both inside and out, located only a few minutes (scenic drive) from the Denali Park entrance! Terry and Ann are wonderful people who genuinely strive to make your stay a memorable one by providing a wonderful place to stay, offering tips and suggestions related to the area, offering recommendations for nearby places to dine (and even making the reservations for you), and by providing a full, delicious, "cooked to order" breakfast each morning! They even offered use of their coolers,binoculars and other gear you may need for the day trips around the area. They also have rental cars available should you require!
Staying with the Millers will, without a doudt, be one of the most treasured memories of our entire trip and we all felt like we introduced ourselves as strangers and parted as family in the 3 short days we spent with them! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we return to the area in the future!

Room Tip: Multiple room configurations, all wonderful!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tidefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have stayed at the Dome Home twice in the last 3 years and it is the best B&B we have ever stayed at in the US. You can't beat Terry's breakfest made to order in the mornings and the way that Ann prepairs your room prior to your arrival. We plan on going back in the winter to check it out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChattanoogaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

A unique home, great setting in the valley with the pine trees, comfy accomodations and pleasant innkeepers!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OMGYumYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in May 2011 while visiting Denali National Park and really enjoyed our time there.

The B&B has a unique design - it is a dome - and there is loads of natural light everywhere. There is a very large living room for communal use. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and both were very nice. The first two nights we stayed in the top room of the dome (room 7 I believe), which is quite big but was a bit more noisy than the other rooms. The last night we stayed in a room on the first floor which was also very nice and a bit more quiet. There was a lot of attention to detail in both rooms and the whole place feels really homely.

Terry and Ann are extremely welcoming and provided us with loads of good tips in terms of what to do and where to go in Denali. They also have a massive DVD collection which guests are free to use at their leisure.

In terms of dinner, there is an excellent restaurant/bar around the corner from the Dome called the "49th State", its tacos are legendary. They also have the replica bus from the movie "Into the Wild" in the garden, a reason in itself to visit.

Healy is 12 miles from the entrance of Denali Park, but this is a much better place to stay than Glitter Gulch which is very touristy with hotels full of cruise ship people. All in all we thought this was an excellent place.

Room Tip: ask to stay on the first floor for a quiet room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
389 reviews
8.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,104 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
587 reviews
4.1 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.9 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 137 Healy Spur Road, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range: $100 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever stayed in a beautiful dome? Denali Dome Home is 12 miles north of Denali National Park and is oldest established B&B in the Denali Area. It has 7 bedrooms with seven private baths (some with a jacuzzi or sauna), Wifi, refrigerators, and free, full, cooked to order breakfast served in our dining room each morning. Free, off-street parking on a paved lot and drive, 7 private acres, woods, lawns and gardens, decks and privacy. It has received high ratings and is listed in Lonely Planet as the best B&B in Healy. The Denali Dome Home also has Keys to Denali, LLC,a car rental in the Denali area with a free pick up and delivery in Denali. Denali Dome Home starts its 26th season in Denali this year. Get a package deal for accommodations, rental cars and AK railroad tickets. Alaskan hosts offer excellent personalized tour desk help ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Dome Home b&b
Denali Dome Home Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing