We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and immaculately clean and cared for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park's Edge Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park's Edge Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
402 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Excellent value and immaculately clean and cared for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

This place is 8 miles north of the Denali Park Entrance in Healy so the name of the place is deceptive. I was annoyed at first but I quickly appreciated the location. Most of the other accommodations are located in densely crowded Glitter Gulch and are much more expensive. When I mentioned the price we paid to others on the bus tour of the Park, they were jealous since they had paid much more, to live in crowded, noisy conditions. The cabins are small but very clean and well maintained. I would recommend that anyone staying here bring groceries with them. There are adequate cooking facilities in the cabins.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay during our trip to Denali and after reading all the nice reviews about this place on TripAdvisor we decided to try it out.. and we were really happy we did. This place was perfect. It was only a short drive north of the Denali NP entrance. It was super clean and included all the basic amenities (soap, shampoo, towels, etc). The price was really affordable compared to a lot of other places near Denali. It had about 7-8 individual cabins with private baths in each cabin so the place was peaceful and not too crowded with the summer tourists. Yes, there was no TV but then again, we didnt go to Denali to watch TV. The light did not bother us at night, especially after a tiring day of hiking and exploring. If light is an issue for you, I would recommend getting some sleep masks because I think the light will be an issue at most of the places in Denali and not just Parks Edge. There was a restaurant nearby and a lot more near the park entrance so there were plenty of options for food. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is planning a trip to Denali.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Nice cozy log cabins, good location, private with nice views of forest, mini-fridge and microwave a real plus. And wifi! Can't do better for the price. We will be bck.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_in_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Park's Edge cabins are great place to stay when visiting Denali National Park. Only a short drive away (10 miles), the cabins have a wonderful, secluded woodsy feel. Each cabin has a private bath. The standard cabins aren't large but are cozy. The property is very quiet. These cabins are one of best values for lodging near Denali.

The only downside I found is that the wifi doesn't reach all the cabins yet but the owner is working on fixing that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OdinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Great cabins as far as designs and style. Quiet and peaceful. Two major problems for those used to staying at hotels:
1. Curtains are thin and not regular dark hotel curtains and blinds are white. This is an issue in the summer since days are very long in Alaska (i.e. sunset is midnight, sunrise is 4 am. So if you cannot sleep with ambient light, this is a problem.
2.The sheets were all some dark blue color. Not sure if they were well washed or not because the color hides dirt. Had a hard time sleeping.

If they fixed these, they could eventually be an awesome 5 star retreat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

The cabins are adorable. I liked the privacy of having our own unattached cabin. The host was wonderful and suppied bug spray and a small cooler to use during our stay. Coffee maker, micro and fridge included. Price was better than the resorts, which didin't have micro and fridge. The cabins are only about 10 miles from Denali National park, making it ideal if you have transportation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlxnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you looking for a place to stay near Denali park, don't hesitate, this is the place you want to stay. It's not crowded, yet very close to Denali Park. Heidi (the hostess) was very kind and had a lot of information about the place, where to eat or have a good coffee  The cabins are very clean and cozy for very reasonable price comparing to any other place we've stayed during out road trip in Alaska. I gave sleep quality 4 out of 5, because the curtains are white, and do not block the midnight sun, so we would wake up at 4 am, thinking it's already middle of the day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iskorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
0.8 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
8.9 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
8.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
4.3 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
7.2 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park's Edge Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park's Edge Log Cabins

Property: Park's Edge Log Cabins
Address: P.O. Box 41, Healy, AK 99743-0041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park's Edge offers comfortable log cabin accommodations near Denali National Park. All cabins have private bathrooms and decks. The standard cabin sleeps 2-3 people. The deluxe cabins sleep up to six people and have cooking facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing