We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a Moose view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Lakeview Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Room with a Moose view!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a beautiful setting....where in the world can you sit in bed, bring out your binoculars and look for wildlife?!?

Really appreciate the setting and most things about the Inn.

Our bedroom was spacious with a cozy king-sized bed, bathroom and bathtub. We appreciated the satelite TV as well. It has a nice and homey feel.

At first I was a bit worried about the arrangements - no resident staff... just show up, go to your assigned room, and voila....your breakfast shows up in your room's bar fridge each morning... BUT...it all did work out.

Improvements are really oriented around updating so everything matches - like the pillows (some are soft, some are hard), the TV (flat screens are needed), towels (you get all different colors), glasses, and coat hangars (looks like someone bought some clothes at wal-mart with the sizes on them and now they are in our roo).... off the top of my head.

While the existence of Wi-fi is appreciated, it was too finicky - slow, kicked us off alot, and actually broke down at one point. If I can get powerful Wi-fi up street at a coffee shop or restaurant, surely it can be done here.

So... would I come back.... you betcha.... I am leaving relaxed and with wonderful memories.

Thanks and see you again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the basement... go for the main floor or upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    111
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
91
183
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family group of 11 (grandchildren to grandparents) enjoyed this quiet inn with a spectacular view of lake and mountains (the moose family appeared several times, just a stone's throw from our room). The rooms are cozy and spacious which is just what we needed after a day exploring the Park. They are not urban glitz, but rather, warm and comfortable in keeping with a wilderness retreat. The beds are great and the towels are thick and fluffy. The breakfast package is what we expected, toast, muffins, fruit and cereals etc, placed in the room the previous day. A convenient and very adequate way to start the day. Activities and restaurants are close by. We enjoyed the 49th State Brewery on two occasions, great atmosphere, huge portions and moderately priced. The Inn was a perfect stay at the end of our Alaska Adventure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsr1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The rooms are nicly decorated, not very big but ok. The view from the rooms of the Otto Lake is just fantastic. Very quiet location but next to Denali NP (about 10-15 minutes drive). Breakfast is placed in the fridge in the room and stuck up every day (cereals, bagel, milk, juice..). We liked staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schildpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The website pictures make this B&B look very luxurious and welcoming. I was a big disappointment to us. It looked like this place was built in the 80's and nothing had been done since then. The room we were in, the High Cloud, was very spacious with great views of the lake and the beds were comfortable enough, but there were stains on one comforter. The jetted tub was ineffective and the water flow was so slow it took a very long time to get enough water in it. The shower head had rust stains on it. The kitchenette looked like a converted laundry room with a portable table and plastic cloth; no sink. I did have a full sized refrigerator and microwave but there was also a twin bed in this area. The breakfast was very poor! It consisted of a couple very thin slices of cantaloupe, a few grapes, prepackaged muffins, 2 slices of raisin bread and an assortment of boxed cold cereal and instant oatmeal. Two small cartons of milk and juice were also provided. We choose this B&B simply because it was available and close to Denali Nat. Park. We would not consider staying here again! It was the worse of and most expensive of the 4 B&Bs we stayed in and around the Anchorage area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill93551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the Alaska Room. It is located on the same level as the parking lot. It has a wall of large vertical windows that overlook Otto Lake and the mountains. The view is wonderful! The room has a full kitchen,large wraparound couch, king and queen size beds. There is a tub/shower and hair dryer in the bath room. There is also free Wi-Fi. SInce it was just my wife and I, we had plenty of room. The king size bed was comfortable. The room shares a balcony with two other units. There isn't any chairs on the balcony, but we spent most of our time sitting on the couch staring at the scenery. There are blinds on all of the windows and the access door to the balcony. We stayed in June, so the sun was out till 2:00AM. The blinds helped to darken the room, but daylight still filtered in around the blinds. The king bed was also about three feet from the window wall. For us this wasn't a problem since we had brought sleep masks The room was clean. Some of the windows can be opened and have screens to keep out the bugs. The access door also has a screen door. This was good because in the afternoons, it did get warm. Opening the windows and door cooled the room. There is also a ceiling fan. The highest temperatures when we were there were in the low seventies. There is no AC in the Alaska Room. For breakfast, they leave a plate of fruit, pre-packaged muffins, and juices. To check-in, there is a bulletin board listing the names of the rooms, There is a note with the parties name and duration of stay in each room. The room key is left in the door. There is no need to interact with the office personnel, but they are at the inn until 8:00 PM. They post phone numbers in the room to contact someone after 8:00PM. You are asked to take off your shoes and leave them in a cubby hole furniture. For the Alaska Room, this is not a big deal. The entry door to the parking lot and cubby hole are right outside the room's entry door. There are washers and dryers available for guests use on the lower level. I believe the cost is $2.00 per load for each applicance.

As other reviewers have stated the walls are thin. You could hear the low muffled voices from normal conversations. At night, this was not a problem since most people went to bed at a normal time. On the first night, the occupants in the room next to our king bed were playing the TV at reasonable volume late at night. You could hear the low muffled sound. Since I had some ear plugs, it wasn't a problem for me. We stayed there on a Friday and Saturday night. Other than the aforementioned TV, it was quiet during our stay. There is no one above you, so hearing footsteps above you is not a problem.
This is a good place to stay. You are close to Denali NP, but are away from Glitter Gultch. The scenery and king size is a big reason we stayed here. I knocked off a point because of the thin walls. Even with that, we would definitely stay there again.
They offer a sack lunch for $9 each. The lunch consists of a sandwich, chips, pre-packaged cookies, Capri Sun drink and bottled water. The price is equivalent to the cost of sack lunches from Denali NP and the Subway in Healy. The big plus is the convenience of being left in the fridge. The sandwhiches were good. They must have smelled good because they drew the attention of a gound squirrel at Eielson Visitors Center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pablo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Clean spacious room with great views of the lake. We stayed in the Sunny Cove room and the Alaska room. While Sunny Cove was nice, the Alaska room is much bigger and nicer and worth the extra $20. The hotel is a 15 drive to the entrance for Denali National Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bman_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We are in Alaska for an extended time and have a strict budget for rooms.
We found this area particularly expensive.
Our budget bought the only room with no view. It was very small, but clean and the bed was comfortable.
It did have an AC, something very unusual in Alaska
Breakfast is in your room. Cereal/instant oatmeal/fruit and juice in the mini frigerator. Make your own coffee. But with an early bus tour in the park this was actually good.
Located about 15 minutes from the park.
This is a small Inn not a B&B. We only saw the hostess once at check in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
0.8 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
352 reviews
8.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
510 reviews
7.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
718 reviews
4.2 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.4 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Lakeview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Lakeview Inn

Property: Denali Lakeview Inn
Address: Mile 1.2 Otto Lake Road, PO Box 14, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain and Lake views. Very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Lakeview Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing