We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Stay at White Moose Lodge”
Review of White Moose Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Moose Lodge
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Okay Stay at White Moose Lodge”
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in June at the White Moose Lodge (while visiting Denali National Park.) The rooms were basic, quiet, and comfortable enough (no "frills" -- m'wave/frig, etc.). Did not try their "continental breakfast" as we just ate cereal in our room. The view is nice, however, the "town" was a bit misrepresented. If you want to eat at a restaurant, you will need to eat at the little boardwalk area near Denali National Park (Healy-- where the lodge is-- was supposed to have a restaurant, but the one and only spot we found was not something we cared to try.) You should compare the prices between the White Moose and those around Denali -- it just depends upon what you are looking for in accommodations. If you plan to spend a lot of time in the park, etc. and just plan on sleeping somewhere on a budget - White Moose is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This was a great find. We stayed two nights and found this room to be perfect for us. My husband and I sleep best in a king - so we used both double beds which were comfortable. The room was very clean and the staff very accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogtownCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed in mid-August for one night to stage for an extended backcountry trip into Denali NP. We found the White Moose on-line and figured it would be worth driving an extra ten miles to Healy to save lots of money. We were right. Healy is a lovely, if lonely little community beyond the hustle and bustle and grab every dollar "community" that exists just outside the national park. We paid less than $100 dollars to stay here for a night at a time when rooms outside the park were going for much more than that. Well worth the extra few miles drive. Moreover, the place is lovely. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, the shower and bath much appreciated after a long flight to Anchorage and a longer drive north to Healy.

Breakfast is what is it is, some cold pastries and hot coffee. Remember where you are, far from grocery stores, in the middle of the biggest state in America, and in the midst of terrific beauty. No complaints. We'd go back in a heartbeat and really liked the White Moose Lodge.

  • Liked — Great deal not far from Denali National Park
  • Disliked — We mever saw the white moose!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Best deal in the area. The walls were a little thin for inconsiderate people talking at midnight outside. But if you're just sleeping there and grabbing the free breakfast before your daily outing/adventure it's fine.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

The cheapest place in area.Absolutely worth a price /$ 75.00 in September/.Very clean ,nice view,very friendly staff.The heating worked very well in a room and a bathroom ,the same with satellite TV, even excess to Internet ..It was a nicer place with $10 tables and better lamps /sic! / but cost twice more.So I was happy to stay in this one.
I recommend it to every one who comes for an area activities . .

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danusiaDesPlaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2008

If your looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep this is it. Very friendly staff. Awesome cafe' nearby.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank tdogg54136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbor gateway, ca
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Good place nice view great people.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barbaraovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
0.8 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
371 reviews
9.0 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
560 reviews
9.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
4.7 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Moose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Moose Lodge

Property: White Moose Lodge
Address: Mile 248 Parks Hwy, Box 68, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated best value in-area. We are located 11 miles North of the Denali National Park entrance, in Healy. Our rooms have a wilderness view of Mt. Healy and spruce forest. All rooms have 2 double beds, full bath, Microwave, Refrigator, coffee maker, free satellite TV, and free high speed Wi-Fi. Our cozy, family-style lodge is worlds away from the congested Park entrance. All rooms are ground level and are clean, quiet and comfortable. $95 - $115 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Moose Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing