We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Basic Motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Moose Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Moose Lodge
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Basic Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The White Moose Lodge is just north of the entrance to Denali State Park but the rates are so much better than those close to the park. The motel is VERY basic--no frills!!-but it was clean and the beds were comfortable--I slept like a log! The rooms aren't very soundproof--so if you are bothered by your neighbors walking around in their rooms, bring earplugs. We didn't see management at all once we checked in for a three night stay--but we didn't have any problems, so that was fine. We only paid $85 a night during the off season which is a bargain for the area. We went across the street to the 49th State Brewery which has good food and even better beer--it's not cheap but reasonable I guess for Alaska where food seemed pretty expensive to us!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank velvetwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visit Denali every fall and stay at White Moose Lodge whenever they have rooms available. It's clean, convenient, reliable, affordable (for Alaska), a little on the spartan side, and not hard to find if you are looking for it, although I've driven by the sign at least once at night. Continental breakfast is limited to coffee, OJ, tea, and sweet pastry. Rooms open to a covered boardwalk outside. The views driving back to Denali National Park from the motel are what people come to Alaska for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_from_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are looking for a less expensive place to stay, this would be decent alternative.
Pretty Spartan, but then again; it's not easy to find anything in this region for $ 85. Because of the Denali Park Road Lottery ( where they raffle entry tickets into the far regions of the park, normally only accessible by bus-tour) there were 400 extra cars for 4 days going into the park, and all these people were taking up the available hotel space.
Room was clean, and had all the necessary; 2 good queen-size beds TV, hot water , shampoos, soap and towels.
Located right across a nice sample of Alaskan Tundra.
We only saw the manager/receptionist for a short time. To pay for our night and to pick up some wrapped danish which they called breakfast. Sorry, the coffee was old and terrible. It would be better to have little coffee makers in the room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

What a great and neat place to stay here when visiting Denali! The room is clean and beyond expectationly big! They got cable tv and wifi. The better news is~pay in cash would get 5% discount! Love it! 真正身在山中、乾淨整潔安靜又實惠,物超所值的選擇!我們一看房間就決定先待兩天再說!
What a great and neat place to stay here when visiting Denali! The room is clean and beyond expectationly big! They got cable tv and wifi. The better news is~pay in cash would get 5% discount! Love it! 真正身在山中、乾淨整潔安靜又實惠,物超所值的選擇!我們一看房間就決定待兩天再說!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meowou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

only 12-14 minutes away (north) from Denali National park, a great place to stay in the woods for the price (depending upon the season). Location is good if you have to catch an early shuttle to the park. Rooms are clean, well-maintained, a bit small if with kids. Coffee, tea, Danish provided as morning breakfast. Didn't see any moose during our stay but every possibility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed here many times when visiting Denali National Park. It is a nice and clean place to stay within a 15 minute drive to the park entrance. The price is what made us chose this place the first time we stayed here, and the fact that it continues to be a good place to rest our heads after a long day in the Park is what makes us come back. A real plus is that it is walking distance of the 49th State Brewery, where you can get a wonderful meal and local beer. Don't forget your own shampoo as it is the only thing missing that you may need.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from the highway are the best so that you may not be bothered by any highway nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here in August. Very clean, quiet, peaceful. The rooms are basic motel rooms. Nothing fancy. Every room was rented, but it wasn't noisy. The office has coffee and hot tea ready at 4:30 a.m. along with some packaged Danish pastries. There is a refrigerator, deep freeze and a microwave, also in the office. Wifi was great. Be sure and eat up the road at 49th State Brewery, delicious food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bvillelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
0.8 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
8.9 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel Nord Haven
Motel Nord Haven
#1 of 4 in Healy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.8 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Moose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Moose Lodge

Property: White Moose Lodge
Address: Mile 248 Parks Hwy, Box 68, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated best value in-area. We are located 11 miles North of the Denali National Park entrance, in Healy. Our rooms have a wilderness view of Mt. Healy and spruce forest. All rooms have 2 double beds, full bath, free satellite TV, coffee maker and free high speed Wi-Fi. Our cozy, family-style lodge is worlds away from the congested Park entrance. All rooms are ground level and are clean, quiet and comfortable. $90 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Moose Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing