We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Cabin in the Woods”
Review of Ridgetop Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgetop Cabins
Ranked #5 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Hidden Cabin in the Woods”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Ridgetop Cabins are located on top of a ridge 20 miles north of Denali park entrance, right outside of Healy. We had a 2 bedroom, 1 bath with small kitchenette.There is a 1 mile gravel road(up a steep hill) to get there from the highway, Very quiet, with black out blinds for the long daylight hours.. Breakfast was provided in the owners house, Joyce and John were very accommodating with great sightseeing advice. Beds were really comfortable, but the bedding was pretty old, we asked for extra pillows.
Only negative, there were very few dishes, so hard to make meals. We did use the grills.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Five of us (88 year old grandpa, 2 teens and parents) enjoyed Cabin 6 for 3 days. We slept wonderfully with the black-out blinds and enjoyed the home-baked breads by Joyce in the mornings. Thanks to her recommends, we booked a wonderful trip into the park (saw 17 grizzlies!) and had a fun day in Fairbanks. Loved the BBQ and picnic table pavilion on the hill and the lovely views. Spotlessly clean cabin with all the necessities for meals "at home". We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaPLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in cabin 6, a 2 bedroom cabin. It was perfect for the 6 of us. We even used their pavilion and grills to cook our dinner. The cabin had a small table, a refrigerator and a microwave. The 2 boys with us slept on a futon in the living room. Only 1 bathroom for the 6 of us, but that worked out ok. Breakfast, up at the owners home was good - cereal, juice, coffee, tea, milk, hot chocolate, packaged sweet rolls. yogurt, and fruit. The cabins are about a mile up a steep gravel drive off the mail road. The road had washed out the week before we were there, so it wasn't in real good shape and we were a little concerned about getting in and out each day. That, and the the distance from Denali were the only downsides. We enjoyed our stay and would give it a very good rating except for the condition of the drive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mom003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in cabin 3 for three nights September 2011. It was about 20 minutes away from Denali National Park and a much better option than lodges at the entrance of the park (and much cheaper!) It was the cleanest place that we stayed in Alaska! The owners, Joyce and John were great, there when we needed them, but otherwise we had complete privacy. Great for us. They provide breakfast and advice about the park. The road up was a little rough, but it's Alaska, that is part of the adventure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natrona County
Level Contributor
130 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had an SUV and experienced no difficulty on the one mile road back to the cabins. I had read reviews and knew to expect basic. No TV which was fine with us. There is a microwave and coffeemaker in the cabin. Black out shades for light summer nights. When closing these, we noticed the window track was full of bugs - flies and I don't know what else because I quit looking. Carpet & flooring may have been there since the cabin was constructed. The towels had seen much better days and the floor mat was actually dingy. Breakfast is instant - oatmeal, prepackaged muffins & danish, a couple cold cereals & some bananas that would have made wonderful banana bread. Coffee and tea, juice assortment and yogurt in the fridge under the coffee counter. The request is to turn off the heat when you leave for the day and we complied. When we returned that night, it took quite awhile to heat the room and we in fact crawled into bed to get warm. Use the bathroom heater to speed up the process. I did like walking to breakfast on a beautiful morning with the moon still above. This property is for sale, not sure how long it has been, so things may change in the future. I know it is now closed for the season. Maybe our "basic" expectations were a little higher.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 and 2 are the oldest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Takemeaway79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Ridgetop cabins, family of four. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin. The cabin was very comfortable, clean, and everything that we needed and desired. Our hosts, Joyce and John were extremely helpful and pleasant. The cabins are located in an unbelievably beautiful location. When we travel back to the Healy Alaska again, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: No tv, so do not expect to sit and watch tv all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookittt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very nice and clean cabins. Only 20 min to get to the park. Joyce is very knowledgeable about the area and park. We had a wonderful time. I would get gas and pack enough snacks 100 miles before getting to the park area. They cost 2-3 times more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epaulshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
0.0 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.0 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
0.0 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgetop Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgetop Cabins

Property: Ridgetop Cabins
Address: Mile 253 Parks Hwy, HC 1 Box 3000, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ridgetop Cabins Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing