We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice. Clean, friendly.”
Review of Denali Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Denali Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Oberhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great choice. Clean, friendly.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here two nights in June. Motel style property. Well kept and clean. Room hat all the equipement which we required and all was clean and in good working ordern. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Only approx 15 minutes drive to park entrance. Construction on the way there caused no problems or delays. This was a great choice. Reasonable price, nice an quiet, good location for Park entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie46117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    152
    98
    15
    10
See reviews for
108
153
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Denali Park Hotel is about 10 miles north of the national park entrance, very convenient on the Parks Highway. Don't let the appearance fool you. I didn't expect a "Ritz-Carlton" when I booked it, but I also didn't want to have get a home equity loan to pay for a hotel room either. In fact, several TripAdvisor reviews convinced me this was a good place. Indeed it was!

The room was super clean, the bed comfortable and everything worked well. The mini-refrigerator in the room was a good deal. The folks in the "office" (the converted rail car) were super-friendly and genuinely appreciated our business.

Several good, locally owned restaurants nearby, including Black Diamond Grill (keep going west on Otto Lake Road, which is where you enter this hotel. We gave it a try for breakfast --- excellent!. Also, a restaurant in the Totem Inn, Rose's Cafe and 49th State Brewing, a craft brewery / restaurant with some excellent beers. You don't have to drive back to the park area for good food that is reasonably priced.

If you're taking an early morning tour into the park via the Wilderness Access Center, allow 15-20 minutes to make sure you arrive in time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was close to the park and was reasonably priced. It had everything we needed and was clean. The lady at the desk was friendly as well. It was quiet and you could wander around the trails if you chose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We did not want to book through the cruise line and had do do some research to find this hotel. It is a basic no frills hotel, but it is reasonably prices, close to the park, close to Healy for when you don't want to be with the crowds. The refrigerator was great to store our food for packing into the park, the front desk was very helpful in dining suggestions, and they also had inexpensive breakfast items in the office. We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdAmyZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were reasonably satisfied with everything.
The rates were affordable plus we got some discount for early booking which was great. It was a 10 min drive from the Visitor Center and a little away from the hustle bustle of other shops or lodges. Frankly, I did not expect much from this hotel based on some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival.
Although the layout of the building was a little bit like a motel, the room was clean, beds were comfortable and there was a working fridge and microwave where we could heat up some dinner. The shower and tub was also clean and spacious. On the second night when it rained and became the cooler the heater worked great keeping the room warm.
I somehow really liked this hotel. Oh and the wifi worked fine for us too.
The only con would be that the window opens to other peoples doors so we could not keep it open as often as we would want to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I arrived at the Hotel after a lengthy travel experience from Texas. Upon arrival, The office help was cheerful and friendly and was willing to get us into our room earlier than the 3:00 check in time which I though was great as we had been traveling so many hours. We found our room to be VERY CLEAN and comfortable with a mini fridge, microwave and hairdryer. The curtains did an excellent job of keeping out the almost 24 hour daylight. We were there for 6 days and stayed in 2 different rooms during that time (my booking mistake). The other room we were in was just as clean and comfortable as the first ! Overall this is a great little hotel with super friendly staff and managers. It's location is away from the crowds of the park entrance hotels and far enough away from Healy so as not to hear any traffic noise. We will be recommending the hotel to our friends and we will be staying there again !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Denali Park Hotel for four nights. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. While they could have been a bit better, the blinds in the room did a good job of blocking out light at night. The heating in the rooms worked well and we slept comfortably.

Our room had a mini-fridge, which was convenient for storing sandwich makings. Unfortunately, the compressor in the fridge was very loud, and we ended up unplugging it during the night and using it more like a cooler. This was the one downside about the room.

The hotel was a short drive to the park, and is very close to 49th State Brewery, which quickly became our favorite dinner spot. The front desk staff was polite and helpful. The hotel also sells snacks at supermarket prices (50 cents for a bag of chips), which is much better than the prices you will find at other nearby convenience stores.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at Denali Park Hotel and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
7.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,022 reviews
8.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
510 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
4.6 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
14.5 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Hotel

Property: Denali Park Hotel
Address: Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Denali Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Denali Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Park
Denali Park Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing