We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Denali Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Denali Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Orange County
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I liked my room. It was quiet, comfortable, and quite adequate. It was not fancy, but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. The scenery wasn't bad, but it wasn't a hill view. You could take a long, hot shower with no problems. They even had a wifi signal in every room. I heard some of the more expensive, fancier hotels had less than desirable rooms. I had no complaints here. The one small problem that occured was immediately taken care of by the manager. Healy is somewhat isolated from the park, but that shouldn't be a problem if you self drive. If you have no car and want to walk around the shops in the village, it might be too isolated for you. I preferred the isolation because it is quiet, serene, and the tourist hotel area is too crowded for me.

I read one scathing review of this hotel and I found the review offensive and unfair. I have travelled the world at every level of hotel imaginable. This is a decent place to stay and the staff was always courteous and professional.

Room Tip: This hotel is recommended for those who are self-driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pchoc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    145
    93
    15
    10
See reviews for
103
143
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was a great hotel for our two nights in the Denali National Park region. It is only 10-15 minutes from the park entrance. The location is very quiet and scenic. We liked being able to park outside the door. On our first night we wound up with leftovers and we were able to warm them up in our room's microwave for dinner the second night. A big plus was the availability of pop in the lobby at a price of 2 cans for $1.00. This was for Coke, not some store brand. Both clerks that we dealt with gave us great information about the park and a local restaurant. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahorse825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

If all you are looking for is a comfortable place to rest while exploring the area, then this is the place for you. Removed from the touristy area at Denali, this motel offers CLEAN, comfortable accommodations at very reasonable rates which you won't find in Denali. A great plus was having free WiFi, and the mini fridge and microwave were also a nice surprise. If you like to have ice in your drinks like we do, you may want to purchase some before arriving as the ice supply here is limited. The bathroom is small, but it is separately heated which is a plus. This would also be a good stop traveling from Anchorage to Fairbanks if one was needed. We got just what we needed here, and we would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a nice, basic hotel a few miles away from the tourist fray near the park entrance. Online reservations were easy to make and we got a bit of discount both for booking online and since we stayed in September. Our room was clean, no frills but it did have a small refrigerator and microwave. We had a pleasant view of the trees and mountains from our window. The location was very quiet despite being on the main road and I never heard any noise from the rooms on either side of us. There are several good places to eat in Healy and we also went on an ATV tour that left from the side road that the hotel is on. Getting to the park from the hotel was quick and easy as well and the short drive was worth it for the savings. Overall this was a nice little hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ccpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quiet, but is on main road. Clean, no frills place to stay. There is a microwave and dorm fridge in room. You can park right outside of your room which is a plus. If you need breakfast or snacks, you can get some in the lobby of the train, which also has computer access. Very average place to stay. From park entrance there was construction so if your on a tour, leave early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetravel7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had two fully packed days in Denali and needed a place to stay overnight. We booked in the Denali Park hotel through their website and called ahead to confirm our arrival time. We were met by a hotel staff at the rail depot who dropped us at the pickup place for the park tour bus, arranged to have our luggage kept in our room and for us to check in later.
The hotel was very helpful in working around our itinerary. Though the hotel is away from the park entrance, they sent a van over for pick up and drop off for us to get around.
The rooms were clean and in good condition for our overnight stay.
Though we were a bit doubtful of the hotel from some of the reviews here, our stay in Denali turned out be more comfortable and convenient than we had hoped thanks to the great help from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just 15-20 minutes away from Denali National Park, this is a great location with awesome view of the Alaskan valley and mountains. The rooms were nice, had microwave, fridge and free wi-fi plus the layout of each room is awesome -- kinda like 'row-rooms'. It is only 10 miles away from Denali National Park which does not take more than 10-15 minutes to drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
8.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
7.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Motel Nord Haven
Motel Nord Haven
#1 of 4 in Healy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.6 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
20.4 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Hotel

Property: Denali Park Hotel
Address: Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Denali Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Denali Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Park
Denali Park Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing