We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great sleep”
Review of Denali Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Denali Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Denali Park Hotel while visiting some of Alaska before a cruise. It is a drive of about 10 minutes from the entrance to the park. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean, and there was no road noise. The room had a microwave and small fridge. There was free wifi, but it was a little weak. This is not a new property, but clean and well taken care of. The rates are really good, considering what most of the area properties charge. I would certainly stay here again if ever at Denali again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank markgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 394 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Its an out of the way gem of a small Motel in the middle of the outskirts of the great park. So no noisy canyon road eateries. The facilities are quite basic but very adequate for resting from a full day of adventure. What made the establishment more notable was the friendly all around guy, John who was on hand to help out with check in and check out and all the nice food recommendations, especially Black Diamond down the road! Nice place, great value. No frills, no fuss and just enjoy Denali.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had a good experience with Denali Park Hotel. We spent one night there in September during the Denali Road Lottery. It was a bit cool when we first got there as they turn the heat off when no one is there. We turned the heat on, and the room heated up in about 30 minutes. Many hotels in rural Alaska are not very sound proof. We did not experience any problem with noise during our stay--of course, there was a nice elderly couple on one side of us and I'm not sure if there was anyone on the other side of our room. Still, it was nice to not have to deal with any noise problems. The room was clean--nothing fancy, but clean. My husband was disappointed that there were only a few channels--but hey, this is rural Alaska, not Anchorage. Since we spend so little time in our hotels anyway, this was a good choice for us. I was a little nervous as most of the other hotels in town were booked up, but this was a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnchorageMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

If you're expecting a "hotel" you'll be disappointed. But if you want a reasonably priced motel in a convenient location with simple but clean rooms, this is for you. Located about 10 miles north of the park, this is a fine location for a visit. We had a car, so we can't comment on the location for those without. We had the added good fortune of seeing a group of moose right outside our door every day we were there.

Room Tip: Building A is said to have the best views. We were in Building B and had a great view of the moose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

DEnali park hotel is really very economical option to stay.
they have good showers, and they are flexible with check in - out time, based on the availability.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anurag_chigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

A clean and comfortable place to stay near Denali National Park. 2 full-sized beds in the room. Plenty of space. nice towels, a refrigerator in the room and a big tv with cable. Wi-Fi was very slow, adequate for e-mail but that's about it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krisntanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I booked this "hotel" for 3 nights.
However, we could only stay there only 1 night.

On the 2nd day, when we got back the room, there was a notice on the door, says that they checked us out and moved our luggage out of the room without asking us!
I couldn't understand what happened, and asked the staff at the office.
Then, we found out that they thought somehow we stay only one night, and the guy treated us like we did terrible thing.(not checking out on time)
And what's more, even though we showed our reservation confirmation for 3 nights, he blamed us. What he said was we paid only for 1 night when we checked in, which was because the staff charged us only 1 night, and we didn't know we had to pay for whole stay when we check-in. As you know, some hotels charge customers whole amount at check-out. How should we know we had to pay the amount the staff didn't charge!?
And what kind of "hotel" would check-out the customer who has confirmed reservation for 2 more nights? The notice on the door showed my name to the public all day, and believe me, it was really awkward. The tone of the notice was accusing us.

Oh, and they threw away our small items that we left the room.
We, of course, didn't pack our luggage because we weren't supposed to be checked out that day, but when they moved our luggage, they just moved big baggage and threw away little things. We never got back.

Even after found out what they misunderstood, the guy never apologize and kept rude attitude. .yeah, really really RUDE. And there was conveniently "no manager" at the time, the guy said he would ask manager to contact us about throwing customer's belongings, but we never heard anything from the manager. Probably they just don't care customers.

After we decided to walk away the terrible place, we went to Denali RV Park & Motel and White Moose Lodge to ask if they had rooms. Unfortunately there was no room for us, but people there were really really nice and kind, they helped us to find accommodation. The man at White Moose Lodge even made a call for us to ask vacancy in other motels. If we go back to Denali, we would definitely stay these places.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri P, Manager at Denali Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

As the manager of the Denali Park Hotel we are very sorry that your experience with us was not a positive one. Your reservation was made online through our reservation system and came through as a one night reservation. This was the only information we had available and of course assumed that it was correct. You would have had a reservation confirmation email that stated your reservation was for only one night. This should have been checked on the guests end before arrival. Unfortunately, we were full the following night and did not have another room available. We also apologize for any "rudeness" on our end from our front desk associate during this interaction as this was not a professional response to the guest. However, there is also guest etiquette that I'm sure was compromised during this interaction. As for the travel sized personal items our housekeepers would have thrown these away assuming they were left behind and the guest did not want them.

Again, we apologize for your inconvenience and negative experience with our hotel but feel that it is the guests responsibility to confirm that their reservation is correct before arrival especially if made online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
8.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
596 reviews
7.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
20.4 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Hotel

Address: Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Price Range: $118 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Denali Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Denali Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Park
Denali Park Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing