We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel Nord Haven

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel Nord Haven
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and they were right on. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere and were happy to pack us an early morning breakfast since we missed the breakfast and wanted to catch our Denali shuttle bus early. ( Be sure to plan 20 minutes to drive into the park from Healy, so leave at least 35-40 minutes before your bus tour as you cannot be late.)

The rooms are clean and spacious...although our floorboards did seem to be a little squeaky The free internet was great and the breakfast buffet was hearty with bagels, muffins, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruits and cereals. We also welcomed the complimentary self serve hot chocolate and coffee left for guests in the lounge.

This inn was the most reasonably priced for Denali area hotels during the busy summer season. We wouldn't hesitate to return on our next trip to Denali.

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms and very well priced
  • Disliked — room decor could be updated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EyesforYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    113
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
80
127
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

Recently stayed at Motel Nord Haven, and really loved it. It is a quiet, peaceful place, well off the road. A welcome relief when you're traveling through Alaska. We stayed in 7 hotels throughout Alaska and this was our favorite. The staff were very attentive, including packing an early breakfast for us, since we were checking out early. Great location near Denali.
Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Large rooms. Quiet surroundings, great service.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhoneycu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

Great little place with very large rooms. Nice simple breakfast and if you are going into the park, spend the 10 bucks and get their sack lunch. Great deal.

Only complaint is rooms are warm because of no air conditioning. You can open a window but 50% of the rooms face the parking lot and the sun does come up between 4 and 5 AM in the summer.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

We selected the Nord Haven mainly on the basis of the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. Beautiful, large and clean rooms, astounding and peaceful surroundings, free internet. I also liked the lounge on the 2nd floor with sofa's and books.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

This is very nice, out of the business area. Glad we opted to stay here away from all the cruise ship passengers and noisy buses. The ride to the Denali park was only about 15-20 minutes and they even provide a packed lunch for $10. They had a nice breakfast each morning with hardboiled eggs, toast, cereals, muffins, coffee, etc. We had a room with 2 queen beds, small refrigerator and microwave. Roses Restaurant next door had great burgers. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Liked — Secluded and away from all the noisy buses
  • Disliked — No laundry there.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dkoitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
2.1 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
10.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.2 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
7.3 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Nord Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Nord Haven

Property: Motel Nord Haven
Address: Mile 249.5 Parks Highway, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel Nord Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Nord Haven is a 28 room family owned motel in Healy, Alaska. We are conveniently located 12 miles north of the entrance to Denali National Park. We are open every day of the year to serve visitors to Denali, travelers driving between Anchorage and Fairbanks, folks here on corporate or government business, workers on job assignments, and local Alaskans with friends and family in our beautiful town of Healy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel Nord Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Nord Haven Hotel Healy
Hotel Nord Haven
Nord Haven Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing