We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We booked for one night and we ended up staying for another night we were that happy about the place. The attic living room on the second floor is so comfortable like a little private cabin. The room is very spacious. Beds are nice. Washroom is very clean with full toiletry and towels. Free wifi within the whole premise. Above all the receptionists are VERY friendly and helpful!!! A must stay if you're going to the Denali National Park area. It's only 10 minutes away. Super convenient!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 327 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Nord Haven for the last three years during our annual trip to Alaska in February/March. Their rooms are always very clean, quite, and beds are comfortable. We also enjoy the lounge area and art on the walls upstairs and down. Internet is free and works well. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24/7. We always make a reservation, but discovered that it is not necessary as room keys are put in envelopes and left on the lobby desk, even though the desk clerk is not there. You just pay in the morning. Already looking forward to our next trip to Nord Haven!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very close to what you would expect from a chain hotel, except off the highway in Alaska. Nice, quiet, up to date rooms with great amenities. Very, very clean. We have stayed here several times on business. Make reservations ahead of time because they fill up fast. It's within walking distance of Rose's Café. The front desk is not manned 24 hours a day, which is fine we've never had an issue after hours.

Room Tip: Make reservations early because they book up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My expectations were low considering the location, but the Nord Haven proved to be a very nice place. The room was large, clean, quiet, and comfortable. They have very nice artwork (most of it for sale) in the rooms and throughout the facility. This would be a great place to stay if visiting Denali NP, and much cheaper than the places closer to the park entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were a bit hesitant about this place gauging from the posted photos of this place. Since we were visiting during an off peak time, the winter, we had 2 choices, the Motel Nord Haven or the Totem Inn. We chose the Nord Haven and we were pleased we did. It a a standard Motel with clean large rooms. The bathroom is large and clean with the usual amenities. The room has a flat screen TV, a mini fridge and microwave. There is a coffee, tea and hot chocolate table/bar in the lobby for customer use. There is free wireless use here but not all the rooms can have access. We were in room 101 and we did not have access and had to go out to the lobby to have wireless which was very annoying because we specifically asked about getting wireless before booking the room. By the time we checked in and figured it out that we didn't have it, we were already settled into the room and it was too much trouble to change rooms. We asked about why she said there was wireless throughout the motel when there really wasn't and she just said, "well some of the farther rooms, such as ours will have either spotty connection or none". Noted! Otherwise, it's a good place to stop over at and the price is fair for what you get.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms closer to the perimeter of the motel, likely will not have wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firepois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you plan to visit Denali consider making Nord Haven your base. The town of Healy is about locals who love their environment. It is only about 12 miles down the road from Denali Canyon where the cruise lines pack thousands of their customers elbow to elbow, but it is a world away in terms of being able to experience this amazing place. Assuming that you have a car, everything in the Park is still easily accessible. The rooms are clean, attractive and quiet. The customer service is world class. The owners and all of their staff members are focused on exceeding your expectations in everyway. My only regret is that I did not discover this amazing place on one of my earlier trips to Denali.

Room Tip: Nord Haven has 35+ rooms in two buildings. Winter vehicle plug ins are closer to the two story build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I have never been moved to review a property before, but for Motel Nord Haven I felt that I must express my absolute pleasure at discovering this little gem so others would be able to make an informed decision when visiting the Denali area. Like a previous reviewer stated, this property was a MORE than pleasant suprise! We have a large family with young children and the room at Nord Haven fit us perfectly. We travel a lot and typically stay at Hilton properties when we can, but seeing as options are few in this area we booked this one based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! Patsy was a joy to work with and so helpful with an email prior to our trip full of extra suggestions for activities for our kids during the Winter Fest in Denali. They supplied us with a roll away bed and pack n play for no extra cost. The rooms are incredibly spacious and could have fit 2 roll away's quite easily had we required it. A wonderful little treat was the open area sitting room on the second floor with couches and chairs. We discovered it right as we were leaving and we weren't able to stay and enjoy it as long as I would have liked. There are plenty of books to read, a puzzle to work on and a lovely view out of the large windows adjacent to the room. If you have the opportunity, I would highly recommend staying at this property. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank bkresak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
2.2 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
394 reviews
10.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
596 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
22.5 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
3.2 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge

Address: Mile 249.5 Parks Highway, Healy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Price Range: $79 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Denali Lodge formerly known as Motel Nord Haven is a 28 room family owned motel in Healy, Alaska. We are conveniently located 12 miles north of the entrance to Denali National Park. We are open every day of the year to serve visitors to Denali, travelers driving between Anchorage and Fairbanks, folks here on corporate or government business, workers on job assignments, and local Alaskans with friends and family in our beautiful town of Healy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Nord Haven Hotel Healy
Hotel Nord Haven
Nord Haven Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing