We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Nord Haven, Healy AK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July. Veronica at the front desk was very helpful. She recommended a very good place for us to eat, since we were looking for something vegetarian. We were supposed to take a Denali tour next morning and were going to miss the continental breakfast offered at the motel. When I mentioned that the next morning I found two muffins and grape juice cans in a bag outside of our room door, how thoughtful. She was also very funny and nice to chat with :-)

Rooms were nice and clean. We stayed in the one story building and it was very quiet. They had books in the lobby. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is if you are planning to go back to the park at dinner time, it's not as cl...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whoami18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed here three times in the past ten years and will continue to stay here. The rooms are huge and clean! Very nice towels too. Free Internet and a game room. Best hot chocolate in Alaska and maybe every where. Very friendly staff and the price is reasonable. The downside is the distance to the park which is about 15 miles and the breakfast is okay but a small selection. A very nice diner next door "Rosie's"-great amounts and tasty hamburgers.

I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank GerryD1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a last minute booking, but it worked out very well for us! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was excellent, the breakfast was very good (they also had box lunches available if you needed them for hiking!) The room had a bit of a view of the mountains, with two chairs and a table. Parking was easy, as was finding the hotel, which is right off the highway, but far enough back that noise is definitely not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odoketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A amazing motel for less then you would expect to pay at a big attraction area. Just 12 miles from Denali Park. Property is well maintained, quiet and the rooms were immaculate. Felt like I was at home. Large rooms with their special touches added. Loved it and would recommend it to anyone interested in staying away from all the noise of the big hotels and motels.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 116. All rooms are quiet so any room would be great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjsquaredancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Motel Nord Haven is just north of Healy town, well off the road. It's clean, comfortable, and quiet, but look out for the mosquitoes in the summer! We killed 10 or 12 in our room before we could settle in. That's Alaska in the Summer though. The kitchen staff will pack a lunch for you to take on a Denali bus excursion if you ask. You have to pay for it of course, but it's a decent lunch. Motel Nord Haven is a nice place; I'd book there again next time I visit Denali.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have to say I really relied on trip advisor when I booked this place and it was accurate. The people that work here were very nice. The hotel was clean. The upkeep on the outside was nice. The breakfast in the morning was nice - short sweet and simple. There are no chain hotels in the area SO I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A nice place to stay, outside 'Glitter Gulch' but still quite near Denali National Park. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming (and happy to lend a hair dryer!). Our room was comfortable. There's no tea and coffee in the room, but it is available in Reception. Breakfast was ok. Cleaning was a bit hit and miss - the sink wasn't wiped down during our 3 day stay!

We enjoyed our visit - I thought it a bit expensive for what it was, but that's Alaska!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
2.2 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
390 reviews
9.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,107 reviews
10.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
810 reviews
3.2 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.1 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge

Address: Mile 249.5 Parks Highway, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Price Range: $94 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Denali Lodge formerly known as Motel Nord Haven is a 28 room family owned motel in Healy, Alaska. We are conveniently located 12 miles north of the entrance to Denali National Park. We are open every day of the year to serve visitors to Denali, travelers driving between Anchorage and Fairbanks, folks here on corporate or government business, workers on job assignments, and local Alaskans with friends and family in our beautiful town of Healy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Nord Haven Hotel Healy
Hotel Nord Haven
Nord Haven Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing