We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR WEDDING HELD HERE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halibut Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OUR WEDDING HELD HERE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Me and my husband were married at Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge in Halibut Cove, AK on October 12, 2011. The day was perfect, really. Sunny, Blue Skies, Full Moon, Green Grass, Beautiful View...Kevin graciously performed the ceremony and his wife, Lucinda did all the food preparations. She is a fantastic gourmet cook.
Me and my new husband felt strongly that the price we paid was too much for the short stay. We were there less than 24 hours. We paid for our own fair on Mako's Water-Taxi to and from and the fair for our one guest, my eldest daughter. This was very expensive. Then the flowers that were bought for our wedding were not given to us upon departure nor placed in our guest room, which we found a bit irritating (We paid approximately $1,600 to the Sidelingers). While the wedding cake was delicious, again, we were not given the cake to bring back home to Homer, tough we paid for the cake.
The rooms were not that private for what we'd expect on a wedding and overnight stay. We did not have blinds/curtains on the windows so it was a bit uncomfortable to say the least.
The Sidelingers are extremely pleasant & gracious people. I only wish that they would make their prices more affordable, especially to "locals."
Considering I made arrangements for my own marriage license, wedding photographer, flowers, dress, shoes and we even wrote our own vows...and the stay about 17 Hrs total...well, I'm not sure we got a bang for our buck. Would I do it again? Absolutely. But honestly, the view is obstructed and the trip to the house from the dock is a steep and winding trail through the woods...don't wear your wedding sandals until you're ready to say "I do."

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
416 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Incredible view, gourmet food, and a homey atmosphere - what more could you want!
For four days we were pampered and treated like family.
Activities are extensive and varied interests are accommodated.
Kayaking, fishing, hiking and excellent photographic opportunities abound.
Fresh oysters from their oyster farm; fresh greens, a just caught silver salmon for dinner!
Desserts to die for! I had the carrot cake leftovers for breakfast the next morning.
Small group of guests in a comfortable setting. Pleasant meal time conversations. We will be back!
Thank you for assuring that our first visit will not be our last!

Room Tip: First floor off the great room catches the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
410 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Wonderful stay! We were made to feel part of the family. Guided activities included hiking, and kayaking. Even when it rained, they found excursions for us. Cannot say enough good about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga, california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Should the following be too wordy, simply book at least a 3 night stay and you’ll be glad you did. My husband and I stayed at the Lodge for 5 nights towards the end of August. We flew into Anchorage the night before and took Grant Air to Homer. Once in Homer, we caught a ride to the Spit from a friendly local- sure makes you feel good about a vacation spot when the locals are so helpful. After lunch of fish and chips, go for the rockfish it was excellent, we boarded a water taxi to Halibut Cove where the Alaska’s Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge is located. Kevin, one of the owners, was right there at the dock to meet us with a home cooked treat for the water taxi driver. Our driver had mentioned on the trip over that he can always count on a homemade snack cooked up fresh by the other owner, Kevin’s wife, Lucinda. Kevin motored us up the steep hill to the lodge in his 4 wheel drive golf cart, no cars here. Cresting the hill just before the lodge provided a spectacular view reassuring you that you have chosen wisely a place to stay. What an incredible home. We had a large room with a private bath, large sky lights, and large picture windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The bed was super comfy and nice quality linens. Any room at the lodge will be extremely quiet, no street noise, no cars. We went on daily guided hikes to: alpine ridge, a 3 lake hike, hiked up to a glacier and kayaked on the glacier lake, boating to a bird rookery, eagles, moose, bear, sea otters, art galleries, local restaurant, walked around the island a bit. Lucinda is the head chef, and she prepares delicious homemade from scratch breakfasts and dinners daily, and Jessica, Lucinda’s right hand woman, also cooks and makes your daily lunch to your specifications. Sandwich, on homemade bread, chips, homemade dessert and bottled water. The guests begin their day with breakfast at the main dining table, then head out for your planned activity. One day I slept in and enjoyed being at the lodge and took walks around the area. Each room has a portfolio of activities that are included in your stay as well as activities that incur an extra fee. They take care of all the details and equipment for the day. All you need to do is bring the right clothes for Alaska, their website gives you all the details for that, and they are very accurate! Their website also has several details about the lodge and the activities that are available. The activities included in your stay kept us pretty busy. The daily gourmet evening meals are displayed on a chalk board so you know ahead of time what sumptuous feast awaits you at day’s end. The home has 2 separate living rooms where you can relax, or you can hang out in the main dining room. The large kitchen is the center pieice of the great room, where in full view you can see fresh bread, desserts, and entrees being made. The home atmosphere is something Kevin and Lucinda take pride in - which really adds to your enjoyment of staying at the lodge. The grounds of the home are luscious and well manicured. Two ponds, trees, flowers, acres of manicured lawns, and a 360 degree wrap around deck where you can enjoy the beautiful scenery any time of the day or night. Kevin, Lucinda, their son Bowman, his wife Jessica and Alyssa are all Alaskan professionals and work very hard and efficiently to make your stay at their lodge the best it can be. I’d return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room was large, private bath, great bed, large picture windows, large sky lights, perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Firstly, this not a true "wilderness" lodge. While the building and setting are impressive, it is set on a populated harbor. The only thing wild about it is its owners, who might do better sticking to their oyster farming and moose hunting than to hosting visitors to lovely Alaska. Their prices are outrageous for what they offer...skimpy breakfasts that hardly match local B&B fare, a sandwwich and two cookies in a paper sack for lunch, pasta caserole or tiny salmon for dinner, no green salads or green vegetables, no wine, beer or cocktails served (though the owners have some for their own use), and Lucinda, the cook/owner has her own steak dinners off in the kitchen. Stingy! We were not served any oysters from their oyster farm. Bathrooms have one thin tiny bath towel per guest and these are changed every other day, which means the second day theyare wet and cold. Bedrooms do not have blackout curtains. The boat they use to take guests around is an open oyster boat with no protection from the rain or wind. Interesting activities like halibut fishing or flights to the glaciers cost extra and could be done cheaper from Homer. In fact, for a fraction of the price, one cam stay at very comfortable B&B's in Homer, eat at superb restaurantrs there, and charter day excursions that can take in more than Alaska Wilderness Lodge offers. Unfortunately, we were seduced by their glamorous brochure into booking what turned out to be the worst part of an otherwise wonderful visit to Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

To spend time living with the wonderful Ridgewood family in an idyllic setting overlooking halibut bay was the icing on the cake-from Lucinda and Jess's home cooked gourmet meals and Kevin's freshly caught oysters from their oyster farm to Bowman's personalized exciting daily excursions fishing and watching eagles scoop fish 10 feet from the boat, kayaking in a glacial lake and viewing wildlife- not to mention Alyssa's entertainig singing and piano playing -the stay at the ridgewood was an unforgettable experience--their wrap around porch looking out at sunset over the bay at midnight was worth the trip !!
would recommend getting their by float plane out of seward/anchorage making it an easy post cruise experience of a lifetime------

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This trip was unreal. We came on our Honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better time. They truely do an amazing job of catering to your every need. Also the meals that they prepare for you are out of this world. Lucinda truely has a passion for cooking and it comes through. We highly recommend taking advantage of all they have to offer and to go on as many day trips as possible, This is deffinately the place to visit when going to Alaska since there is so much included and the different options available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtupickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halibut Cove
10.7 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
11.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
10.8 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
15.1 mi away
Alaskan Suites
Alaskan Suites
#2 of 27 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge

Property: Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge
Address: 46514 Sidelinger Trail, Halibut Cove, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Halibut Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Halibut Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the Alaskan wilderness with your hosts Kevin & Lucinda Sidelinger, at this intimate, timber framed lodge on Ishmailof Island adjoining Kachemak Bay State Park, part of the Kenai Peninsula Mountain Range. Enjoy three gourmet meals a day, and highly personal attention with majestic scenery, miles of beaches, and secluded salt water coves right out the front door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge Halibut Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing