We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biggest Rip-Off in Alaska”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halibut Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Biggest Rip-Off in Alaska”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Firstly, this not a true "wilderness" lodge. While the building and setting are impressive, it is set on a populated harbor. The only thing wild about it is its owners, who might do better sticking to their oyster farming and moose hunting than to hosting visitors to lovely Alaska. Their prices are outrageous for what they offer...skimpy breakfasts that hardly match local B&B fare, a sandwwich and two cookies in a paper sack for lunch, pasta caserole or tiny salmon for dinner, no green salads or green vegetables, no wine, beer or cocktails served (though the owners have some for their own use), and Lucinda, the cook/owner has her own steak dinners off in the kitchen. Stingy! We were not served any oysters from their oyster farm. Bathrooms have one thin tiny bath towel per guest and these are changed every other day, which means the second day theyare wet and cold. Bedrooms do not have blackout curtains. The boat they use to take guests around is an open oyster boat with no protection from the rain or wind. Interesting activities like halibut fishing or flights to the glaciers cost extra and could be done cheaper from Homer. In fact, for a fraction of the price, one cam stay at very comfortable B&B's in Homer, eat at superb restaurantrs there, and charter day excursions that can take in more than Alaska Wilderness Lodge offers. Unfortunately, we were seduced by their glamorous brochure into booking what turned out to be the worst part of an otherwise wonderful visit to Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

To spend time living with the wonderful Ridgewood family in an idyllic setting overlooking halibut bay was the icing on the cake-from Lucinda and Jess's home cooked gourmet meals and Kevin's freshly caught oysters from their oyster farm to Bowman's personalized exciting daily excursions fishing and watching eagles scoop fish 10 feet from the boat, kayaking in a glacial lake and viewing wildlife- not to mention Alyssa's entertainig singing and piano playing -the stay at the ridgewood was an unforgettable experience--their wrap around porch looking out at sunset over the bay at midnight was worth the trip !!
would recommend getting their by float plane out of seward/anchorage making it an easy post cruise experience of a lifetime------

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This trip was unreal. We came on our Honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better time. They truely do an amazing job of catering to your every need. Also the meals that they prepare for you are out of this world. Lucinda truely has a passion for cooking and it comes through. We highly recommend taking advantage of all they have to offer and to go on as many day trips as possible, This is deffinately the place to visit when going to Alaska since there is so much included and the different options available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtupickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights and would have stayed longer if we could. It is run by Kevin, Lucinda, Bowman and Jess Sidelinger and they make you feel part of their family. A number of guided hikes, sea and lake kayaking and boat trips are included in the price. Bowman was very knowledgeable and a patient and quality guide. We saw eagles, sea otters and lots of birds. The room we stayed in had a panoramic view of Halibut Cove. They have 7 rooms for up to 15 guests. The grounds are beautifully manicured and it was very peaceful. the food, which was all home made by Lucinda and Jess was very good particularly the baked breads and deserts. We plan on returning when we have another chance to visit Alaska.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kcmkhighlander88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Ridgewood is lovely and the Sidelingers are a very nice family. However, you should know that you will be basically living with them. The rooms are small, there are no dressers or hangers, and there is not much room to sit. Your free time will probably be spent downstairs with the family as they carry on their lives. We are not very social and found this to be somewhat uncomfortable.

Room Tip: There is room for your clothes and a place to sit in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank divegirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We loved our 4 days with the Sidelinger family. The Lodge is fantastic, and has very comfortable and clean rooms. The food is outstanding and very varied. The standard is very high.

All the outings we went on were very well organised, and exceptionally well thought out. All details were covered. There is a spectre of activities to participate in, we hiked and canoed to the toes of a glacier, we did bear watching. Fishing can also be arranged.

The lodge has good wi-fi internet and mobile phones work there, too! Even though ours died in the wet through back-pack when bear watching!

We'd love to come back and spend time in the lodge, even in the winter! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: PS Bring eyeshades from the airlines, as most of the rooms don't have curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a great 10 day vacation to Alaska! The best part was the 3 days we spent at Ridgewood Lodge. The Sidelinger family built this beautiful lodge in a stunning location with great water and mountain views.

While there we went on a hike to a glacial mountain lake and kayaked to the face of the glacier. Bowman was our guide and couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgeable. The lake was remote and we could have never considered this trip without him as our guide!

What sets this lodge apart is the warmth of the people who run it. We really enjoyed getting to know the Sidelinger family. Their stories of living in the Alaskan wilderness are amazing! Lucinda and Jennifer prepared gourmet meals that topped anything we found elsewhere in Alaska. Kevin build the lodge, which far surpassed our expectations, and his story is fascinating.

I couldn't recommmend Ridgewood Lodge more highly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halibut Cove
11.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
10.8 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
6.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
15.1 mi away
Alaskan Suites
Alaskan Suites
#2 of 28 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge

Property: Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge
Address: 46514 Sidelinger Trail, Halibut Cove, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Halibut Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Halibut Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the Alaskan wilderness with your hosts Kevin & Lucinda Sidelinger, at this intimate, timber framed lodge on Ishmailof Island adjoining Kachemak Bay State Park, part of the Kenai Peninsula Mountain Range. Enjoy three gourmet meals a day, and highly personal attention with majestic scenery, miles of beaches, and secluded salt water coves right out the front door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska's Ridgewood Wilderness Lodge Halibut Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing