We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant we ate at in Alaska”
Review of Saltry Restaurant

Saltry Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we ate at in Alaska”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

It was recommended that we take the Danny J Ferry to Halibut Cove, so we reserved for dinner. We figured that the Saltry would be like every other restaurant we ate at in Alaska. Boy were were pleasantly surprised. The oysters were divine! (made with a mustard caviar and lemon gel). The salmon three ways was amazing and the bread pudding for dessert had us scraping the plate for more. Amazing. Halibut Cove was well worth the trip - a highlight of Alaska

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    33
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Beautiful Voyage to an Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

You need to reserve a table and with it comes a place on board the little boat that takes you across the sound to Halibut Cove, about 30-40 minutes of pleasure. However, you're on deck whatever the weather so take your rain gear! If the weather is clear, the scenery is great - and there were many sea otters lazing about when we made our trip. Halibut Cove is a delightful spot with a curious history that you'll find out about. It is essentially an artists' colony with high timber boardwalks for moving about the village. Dinner was in two "shifts", so use the spare time to explore, and take your camera. The meal itself was very good, although the choices are necessarily limited. We enjoyed an excellent chowder, then we both had sablefish - yummy - with a very good Macon white wine. Treat yourself - it's worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice evening at Halibut Cove”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was a nice evening and we were happy to be able to sit outside on the water. The scenery is beautiful. The wait staff was very friendly and appeared to be working really hard, but their system of taking and delivery drink orders is lacking. They went from table to table describing menu items, and then after they were done, they came back to take our drink orders. We sat at the table for 30 minutes before we got a drink. Thank goodness for a beautiful evening because that was a long time. Everything was delicious, and even though it was expensive, it was worth it. If they could just get you a cocktail or glass of wine sooner, it would be perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VAturtlelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Alaska”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to the Saltry restaurant on the 5:00 Danny J from Homer in the rain. Beware that the boat runs rain or shine. We were provided rain ponchos for the ride and my family took it in stride. Even though it was raining, we still had fun in the outdoor seating on the boat. I expect this may not be for everyone.
Once we got to Halibut Cove, we toured the area and the two small galleries, in the rain. Since we had a 7:30 reservation and ran out of things to do we went back to the restaurant to see if we could be seated earlier. We were able to sit outside, but since it was cold we sought seats inside that we were told wasn't a possibility. We were also told that seats inside couldn't be guaranteed for our 7:30 reservation since they wouldn't want to rush the 6:00 people out. Blankets were brought to us instead. The waitress knew we weren't content with the outdoor seating so managed to set up another table for four for us inside, what a relief it was. After that my husband had the best oysters he has ever had, and all of us loved our meals and desserts. We had a good amount of time to finish our dinner. Another family that waited until their 7:30 reservation to sit, we're rushed through their dinner.
I would recommend the 6:00 seating since you can sit for as long as you like and won't be rushed. Many people just stayed in the restaurant the entire time and didn't tour the galleries.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, expensive food; beautiful location, spotty service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

From the descriptions I had read, I was expecting Halibut Cove to be quite the artists' island. It is picturesque and uncommercial, but there are only two tiny galleries. The Saltry's dockside setting is very pretty, and for our 7:30 reservation it was about 3/4 filled. When we arrived on the 5 o'clock boat, the person handling reservations had a near melt-down when we asked if our party of four could be combined with the reservations of a couple we had met on the boat. The fresh seafood was excellent, the mixed green salad they were "selling" was good but not special. They finally got the fire pit lit 15 minutes before the boat left. It was not a full restaurant, but service was haphazard. Our server came to tell us about the deserts just as the boat was loading for the final trip back to Homer. We made a frantic departure with a go-cup of hot chocolate. Two $35 boat tickets, a dinner with two courses for $130 for two people - not quite good enough to lure me back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zingerinBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltry Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saltry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing