We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Halibut Cove
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
51
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
51
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alaskan wilderness hot tub glacier adventure lodge homer bear comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016

From the moment you meet the boat in the Homer harbor you can tell this will be a special experience - just getting there was gorgeous! The staff was warm, authentic and accommodating. The food was fantastic, fresh, local ... delicious! Loved the happy hour and the cozy waterfront cabins, but the all-inclusive excursions were my favorite part. From yoga in the morning, glacier kayaking during the day and a bonfire (complete with s'mores) after dinner, there was never a dull moment... unless we wanted it. A beautiful place to relax and adventure.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKStillpointLodge, General Manager at Stillpoint Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Ashley,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Stillpoint Lodge. It was our pleasure to be your host, and we are glad that you took advantage of a variety of our activities. After a wildlife-filled day of adventure, it is hard to beat that happy hour isn't it?
When you come back next time, be sure to try one of our new Hydrobikes... it's a catamaran kayak that you paddle like a bike! Super fun and remarkably stable!

Best,
Beka Thoning
Halibut Cove, Alaska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We were met at the Homer harbor and cruised across the bay, past a whale, otters, and lots of birds nesting on rocky islets, past a small lighthouse and into the secluded, calm water of the cove. The dock had a golf cart ready to haul our luggage (and us if we wanted a ride) up to the lodge. A smooth path and stairs led up to the grand entrance, where we removed our shoes and took a look around. Upstairs is very open with large windows facing fabulous views of jutting mountains, rich green spruce forests, and the cove.
Walked to our cabin; all of them are close by but hidden in the trees and very private-feeling. Each faces out from the peninsula to its own view, and every view is spectacular. The beds have very soft sheets, plenty of blankets, and are very comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, sparkling clean and warm, with every amenity.
The hot tub gazebo and the bonfire pit were inviting, and the labyrinth was very quiet and pleasant, surrounded by forest.
Whether you take advantage of the plenty of fun activities included, or just need a quiet getaway, this is a memory you will always treasure.

Room tip: Every cabin is secluded; all seemed pretty similar in amenities and views.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rexlisa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKStillpointLodge, General Manager at Stillpoint Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

We appreciate the time you took to reflect upon your stay with us at Stillpoint Lodge and write a review. What a memorable experience to see a whale first thing on your way to our lodge... we are so lucky to live in this amazing place where that is possible on the regular!
After spending a year on renovations, we are especially happy to receive your compliment of our new bathrooms, "Sparkling clean and warm"! YES!
Please keep us in mind for future quiet getaways... and don't forget we throw a great party for groups around 20 people, too!

Thank you,
Beka Thoning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We recently spent a weekend at Stillpoint Lodge. We saw whales and otters on the boat ride from Homer to Halibut Cove and were greeted in the lounge with our favorite drinks! All the staff made sure that our stay was fabulous. and fabulous it was! The food was so fresh and well prepared. Vegetables grown in the garden, oysters that were probably 30 minutes from the water, smoked black cod, fresh wild Alaska salmon....yum yum and wine paired with all the dishes. The rooms are very comfortable: cushy beds, original art. There are newly built bathrooms for every cabin with on demand hot water, tiled showers, fluffy towels and bath robes. To have such comfort in the wilderness of Alaska is truly impressive. We went on a hike to a glacier and kayaked in the lake, saw icebergs close up. A tasty lunch of salmon salad sandwiches and homemade cookies was welcome after a long hike and kayak. The glacier even calved while we were having lunch. Our guide was very observant about what we could physically handle so that we would have the best day possible. Yes, we can climb that last big rock to be able to see the glacier from above! Truly magnificent . There is something for everyone: hiking, boating, yoga, massages, fishing, meditation walk in the labyrinth, hot tub. There is a great fire pit where guests can continue the fun after dinner with songs, s'mores and great conversation. We had a very memorable time at Stillpoint.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank christym907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StillpointLodgeHC, General Manager at Stillpoint Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Christy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The captivating description of your stay and experience with us fully highlights the diversity of activities available to all of our guests, and I'm glad that you made the most of your stay with us!

Congratulations on completing the challenge of the full-day glacier lake kayaking adventure... it is a privilege for us to be able to safely offer such a life-changing excursion and a pleasure to hear the story of each visitor's individual journey and triumph at the end of the line with that breathtaking view of the clear-blue glacier ice! And your reward... hot tub and massage, yes please! We hope to see you back again soon to make more memories...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Still point Lodge was a great retreat for our mothers and sons vacation. The organic fresh food was a hit and so healthy! My friend and I especially enjoyed the early start to our day with a yoga class. So inspiring and refreshing. The guides were very considerate to our needs for our hike/ kayak to the glacier. They thought of everything. We had a great time and look forward to the next visit.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Caseyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StillpointLodgeHC, Manager at Stillpoint Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We take guest feedback seriously and appreciate your specific comments. We are so honored that you chose to spend this special time with your sons at Stillpoint as they prepare to go off to college, What a treat! ... and hopefully they will keep up the yoga while away at school.

We look forward to your next visit. You'll have to try another one of our adventures next time... Heli-hiking? Fat-biking?

With Gratitude,
Beka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

I am joining TripAdvisor for the sole purpose of writing this post. My girlfriend and I spent eight days in Alaska traveling in an RV. What my girlfriend didn't know was that I was working behind the scenes with Stillpoint Lodge to plan what turned out to be an amazing and unforgettable proposal.

Beka, the manager at Stillpoint, worked with me for weeks to make sure this was a night to remember. She was friendly and responsive, going out of her way to make sure all of our scheduled plans went off without a hitch.

A meal was prepared with Alaskan flare, topped off with a request for my girlfriend's favorite dessert, which the cooking staff said they spent hours perfecting just for her! The food was delicious for every meal.

The views were stunning. An otter was swimming by the dock to greet us when we arrived by boat, our room overlooked a quiet cove, and the mountains around us were inspiring. It was the perfect setting to propose... And most importantly she said yes!

We had an action-packed time at Stillpoint: a hike to a lake with floating icebergs calving off of a glacier, sea kayaking, massages, fishing, whale watching, driving golf balls into the cove, even a professional quality photo shoot done by one of the Stillpoint staff members.

In a location as remote and scenic as this one, there was also plenty of down time to hot tub, meditate, and relax.

The staff were friendly and personable. In a short time we made friends that we were sad to leave. We are determined to get back to this special place soon. If you want to celebrate a special occasion in Alaska, or just want the best of what Alaska has to offer, I simply can't imagine a better place than this one.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alaska_Excursion_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKStillpointLodge, General Manager at Stillpoint Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Thank you for visiting us, taking the time to join TripAdvisor and writing a review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many elements of your stay with us... it was an honor to be part of your special day!

Warmly,

Beka, Lucas and the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews