We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat in town”

The Bamboo Room & Pioneer Bar
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Haines
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Haines, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place to eat in town”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The food was good. It was pricey, but that is to be expected in Alaska. The service was just okay, not great but not bad. All in all it was a good place to eat if you're in town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    68
    40
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Open year-round, and a solid choice”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had dinner here one night while in Haines and had their in-season Sockeye Salmon, and it was fresh and delicious. The next morning I enjoyed a Denver Omelette Scramble, and again, also delicious and satisfying. As others have documented, it's pretty much a "diner" and the name is misleading, but it's a solid choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always worth a try”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Summer or winter the Bamboo Room is always open. We go to Haines at least once a year and we love it, Bamboo room is always on to do list. You have to try their fish and chips...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's strange to me that this place is called the Bamboo Room, it should be called the Haines Diner or something more fitting, but anyways...food was average, service was average. I had a half order of the fish and chips and it was plenty of food for a half order. The breading was really good, as was the tartar sauce...the fish was slightly overcooked and dry on one piece, and perfectly cooked/maybe slightly undercooked on the other piece. Fries were fries, totally average. My boyfriend had a green chile burger and it looked *amazing*, he also tells me it was *amazing*....our waitress was friendly, and it seemed like a local hot spot. We were the only people in the entire place who didn't know someone else in there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILovemycat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips Rock”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

One wouldn't enter the establishment expecting great food. One would be wrong. Their fish and chips are some of the best in the world. They are made from freshly caught Halibut and are amazing.
The place is busy, service is slow, the atmosphere isn't great but none of that matters when you have your first bite of their fish and chips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grokker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bamboo Room & Pioneer Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Bamboo Room & Pioneer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing