We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and original”
Review of Sarah J's Cafe

Sarah J's Cafe
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Haines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: http://haines.ak.us/node/289
Haines Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful and original”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We ate the most delicious lunch here. I like the option of outside or inside seating as well. To my delight they were open on a Sunday this season. My favorite part about ordering here is that it's something tasty that is totally original to her shop. I always leave wanting to replicate the dish I ate there at home. This is a fantastic spot for vegetarians, but they do have poultry and other options on the menu. The desserts are the classics as well as Sarah's specialties; I suggest one of those. Sarah truly has a gift to create such dreamy food-I wish she would write a cook book!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haines, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A great coffee shop with fresh and tasty food. Something different every day, wonderful soups and curries and sandwiches too. Made to order. Friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanT170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great espresso but the scones shine!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved her coconut pineapple scones. So flaky. Unfortunately, she was closed the second day we were in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bendbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Sarah J's Cafe, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank You so much! Sarah J's proudly uses the highest quality ingredients, cage-free eggs, and organic flour in all our baking. But we also use the most important ingredient of all, LOVE. IN EVERYTHING WE TOUCH!!!! Thank you for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious, homemade food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took the fast ferry from Skagway to Haines. By the time we arrived, my teenaged boys were "starving." Stopped in Sarah's for lunch. Fabulous, real food. The perfect antidote to a couple of days of cruise food. Very quiet little place, with good, healthy & organic choices. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olgabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Delicious food! The 5 of us were there today for lunch and each had different sandwiches ... All excellent!! Smoothies were awesome! Going back tomorrow!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivinginYonezawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarah J's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing