We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and interesting museum!”

Sheldon Museum and Cultural Center
Ranked #14 of 36 things to do in Haines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This educational institution of the Haines Borough collects, preserves and interprets the history, art and unique blending of diverse cultures within the Chilkat Valley.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
221 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Nice and interesting museum!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice and interesting museum, not too big. Allow 1- hours. Buy the combined ticket for all 3 Haines museums.

(If you’ve found this review helpful, you can let me and others know it by clicking the green Yes below)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Va
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent small museum”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A trip to Haines is not complete without a visit to this museum where you will find great examples of native American handicraft and art, interesting artifacts and a fascinating collection of photographs. Do talk to the staff and ask them questions. They are quite knowledgeable and have the time to really answer your questions. The cost is only $5 which is quite a deal!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulLeesburg_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Another neat place to experience, not exactly a 2 year old friendly kind of place as the exibits are either too high to see or not protected so you have to be on them like a hawk!

The front desk lady was really chatty, asking odd, personal questions that made me clearly uncomfortable and almost trapping me in her converstation. I suggest you buy your pass and run into the display as quick as you can!

Was a fun place to visit on a rainy day :-)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LBesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAINES
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lots of good stuff!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Visiting the Sheldon Museum in Haines, be prepared to spend some time looking at the amazing exhibits and learn about the local native community. Fort Seward, the first military installation in Alaska and built in Haines is remembered and documented with great exhibits. Highly recommended while touring the town.

Helpful?
Thank Harleysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“OK Small Town Museum”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

There are a lot of small town museums scattered around Alaska, the Yukon Territory, and BC. We stopped in several on our extended trip to Alaska.

The Sheldon Museum was OK - it was not bad but it was not something special. We spent about 1 hour there and that was plenty of time to see everything of interest.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheldon Museum and Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Sheldon Museum and Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing