We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly and quiet spot in beautiful Haines!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Roadhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
“Lovely, friendly and quiet spot in beautiful Haines!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great experience staying here during our week of kayaking in Haines. The cabin was lovely, had everything we needed and was very comfortable. It's a mile or less from town which also adds to the sense of peace and "awayness" from the rest of the world. Lovely.....absolutely lovely!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
43
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

First off, this place is not near the center of Haines, so a car is a must, especially as it is at the end of Battery Point, up a steep hill.
I arrived far earlier than expected and found that nobody was at home, so went into Haines to look around. On my return I found a note at the office door letting me know that the room was ready and the keys were on the desk. No big issues there, as most B&B owners have day jobs to attend to. I was in Room 1, which was almost like a mini cabin. It consisted of 2 queen beds, small kitchenette with everything you need, microwave, coffee maker, table and chairs and a dresser with a TV. Wifi was also available. The bathroom was very large with a walk in shower. Admittedly the room looked and felt dated but was very clean and had everything that was needed. I found out later that the owners were actually on vacation and a friend of theirs was looking after everything. Yes there is a large black dog on the property, but it is super friendly, as is the resident cat. Given that there is little choice in this small town, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the bay your only option is one of the cabins, as both Room 1 and Room 2 sit f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneT8988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have jumped from Chillcot river lodge (no room for third night) to a great lodge at the head of the beautiful "Battery point" trail. The lodge is fully equipped for a long stay (Mr Coffee, microwave, toster, refrigerator, gas, oven, glass and plates, pots etc,), hut #1 has a great view to the bay. Far better than those we say in town, and not far from it (about 1 mile or so from the center- where you can find a great ice cream across the Sheldon museum Main street :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eytanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here because it got great reviews on Trip Finder. I am pretty liberal in my expectations when it comes to staying in Hotels and Guest Houses but I find it hard to believe this is the No. 1 place in Haines.
Don't get me wrong it has a lot to offer but its a bit like "Northern Exposure" meets "Fawlty Towers".
It was an experience. The people who checked us in and did the Rooms (not sure if they were the owners or employees) were definitely friendly but they had a definite laid back feel to them...as did the place. They have an enormous black dog that would put the frightners on you just by his presence....but he is the biggest friendliest pussy cat you will ever meet...and the Cat...well she is even more friendly.
There is a definite sense of disorganisation about the place.....but that's part of its charm. I can't say the rooms are well appointed but you are in Haines for some other reason than to spend the time in your room...be it hiking, bear watching or sightseeing. Accommodation is fine, but it is basic. The Rooms are large and would suit a family.
I liked this place for its quirkiness but if you are expecting excellence this may not be the best choice for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonymcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachroadhouse, Owner at Beach Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Anthony -

We are sorry our rooms did not meet your expectations. We highly recommend you try our cabins in the future. As for the people who checked you in, they were friends and family who came to Haines to help us keep the business open while we had to go out of town for an extended period as my wife was diagnosed with cancer and treatment options are not available in Haines. We hope that you will return to Haines in the future and come enjoy a cabin and our hospitality now that we are back in town after my wife's lengthy battle with the big C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowville, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

After completing the Yukon River Quest canoe race from Whitehorse to Dawson, my wife and I relaxed for 4 days in Haines AK. Crew members from a previous race recommended visiting Haines. Haines is a quiet small town with plenty to see and do. It is visited by smaller cruise ships. The day the ship arrived was not nearly as hectic as we feared - certainly nothing like the monstrous ships and thousands that visit Skagway.

After an online search, we choose to take a chance with the Beach Roadhouse, located in the woods a short distance out of town center. Originally only one of the "rooms" was available, so we booked it. Upon arrival, the owner Todd showed us the room, that was very spacious and half of a building shared with another room. The whole complex is on its own gravel driveway off a gravel road, tucked deep into the woods. Todd asked if we might like to see Cabin #1 that had become available due to a cancelled reservation. A little more costly, but just a short walk to see it.

Wow. The two-story cabin was secluded and private. The best feature is a large picture window that looks out through a gap in the woods with a fantastic view up the fjord. You can see almost all the way to Skagway, and get an idea of the multiple huge cruise ships coming and going. The cabin was exceptionally clean and comfortable, with a full kitchen and adequate supplies for a prolonged stay. The king bed in the roomy loft was extremely comfy with a fluffy down quilt. Todd offered a bbq for us to use, and a fisherman he offered us some extra unexpected treats from the sea. Yum. He is a down-to-earth young man, obviously a hard worker on the Roadhouse complex and cares about his guests and their comfort. I would absolutely book another stay there, and recommend it well above any other lodging site in Haines.

Room Tip: Definitely choose Cabin #1 for the view if you can, but you won't go wrong with the other choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YknPdlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, ab
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The cabin has a lovely view and is very conveniently located close to town, and to Chilcat and Chilcoot lakes for those with transportation. Full kitchen well stocked with everything you need to be able to cook basic food. The bed was very comfortable. There was a full large bottle of water on the dispenser, and the owner checked to see if we needed anything, and asked for recommendations when we left. Reading other comments, it is obvious that they do care about the clients, and strive for excellence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleaEdmonton_Ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This cottage was cute but very poorly equipped and obviously not checked by management. There was ice build up on the stairs which was dangerous.There were no tea towels and only one butter knife in a "complete kitchen" with a capability of sleeping 4. There were several pots and pans but none had lids.The manager was not in the office 3 times out of 4 we went, and when we requested more bottled water it was never delivered. The property is not hosted and managed in a professional way and reflects poorly on the service industry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JopieAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachroadhouse, Owner at Beach Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Jopie,

My apologies that you did not get the service you desire while at the beach roadhouse. Unfortunately, at the time and for other extended periods in 2013, we had to leave the State of Alaska due to my wife being diagnosed with cancer and treatment options not being available in Haines. During those times, luckily for us, we had family and friends who were able to come up and keep the facility open for reservations that had been made. These folks did the best they could, but had other obligations as well and were unable to provide the service at that time that we like to be able to offer. We hope that you can return in the future so we can treat you to the hospitality that we believe our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
0.2 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
16.2 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices

Been to Beach Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Roadhouse

Property: Beach Roadhouse
Address: 1 Mile Beach Road South, P.O.Box 1651, Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Roadhouse has cabins with full kitchens, private bath, dining area, living area and separate sleeping areas. In addition, double queen rooms are available with kitchenettes. Location is quiet and close to town, while accomodations are clean and comfortable. The main lodge is being expanded to soon include a lounge and food service. Currently the lodge lounge is available for use for meetings or other gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Roadhouse Haines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing