We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines(Haines)(Great Value!)
$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
20
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower unitcouple weeksfantastic viewsclose to townbald eaglesdebtelescopelofttrailpropertykitchenetteowner
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 22 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our favourite place we stayed on our trip to Alaska in June; staying 3 days here , one of the 10 different places we stayed. The scenery is spectacular and views from every room. Homey and comfortable, clean and has everything one needs. Deborah has a real interest in her guests and her environment.
We used the wood stove to get the chill out. Great place to return after a day of hiking. If I came back to Alaska, I would want to come back to Haines and to Riverhouse.

Room Tip: Pick the upper level with full kitchen and livingroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venusalberta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have traveled throughout much of Alaska but in my opinion tiny Haines, Alaska ranks as perhaps the most beautifully positioned little town in the entire state. Dwarfed by jagged mountains that scrape the sky, Haines nestles on the northern reaches of the Lynn Canal, a 4 1/2 hour ferry ride from Juneau.

For my husband and me, Haines’ River House vacation rental is a great property to rent, located along the wide tidal flats of the Chilkat River. Location, location, LOCATION! River House has it all with spectacular views of icy glaciated mountains looming over the Chilkat River greeting visitors every day from the windows and deck of the house. Early or late in the day be on the lookout for brown bears searching for food at low tide or strolling down the quiet lane that passes by the house. Eagles soar overhead and are often seen scavenging for a meal on the river’s tidal flats. Many times during our visits my husband and I found it difficult to leave the River House, content to while away the hours watching the play of light across the mountains.

On to more practical matters; River House can be rented in its entirety or the Upper Level (full bath, full kitchen, wood burning stove, living room and dining area) or the Lower Level (Bedroom, sitting area, efficiency kitchenette, full bath with washer and dryer) can be rented separately. My husband and I have rented the Upper Level twice (once in November and again in August), feeling very comfortable in our home away from home. NOTE: the Upper Level is accessed by a set of stairs and the Upper Level’s bedroom is located upstairs via a circular staircase so bear this in mind if mobility impaired.

River House offers comfortable furnishings, a spotlessly clean interior, abundant kitchen utensils, wifi and cable television that make this vacation rental welcoming to visitors. Hostess/owner Deb is particularly accommodating, helpfully offering information about local tours, galleries, stores and restaurants. During our first visit to Haines in November our rental car was unfortunately pushed off an icy snow-packed road into a ditch by a pick up truck during a snowstorm. Deb offered to drive us back into town to help us get all the post-accident details sorted out. That’s very kind, memorable Alaskan hospitality!

A car is a necessity if staying at River House in order to drive into town, look for bears and salmon out on the nearby Chilkoot River during summer, or to drive up to the Valley of the Eagles along the Chilkat River any time of the year. Haines offers many good choices for dining. For retail therapy, several galleries and gift shops are located in town. Many restaurants and stores are closed off-season although during summertime local businesses are open. A well-stocked grocery is located in town and a local wine shop offers plenty of good bottle selections. We have purchased flash frozen, vacuum-packed halibut and salmon to cook at River House from “Dejon Delights” (try their smoked salmon too!) and the local cannery. Be sure to check for hours and whether they are open.

Fortunately only a few mega-cruise liners visit Haines during summer so Haines still retains small town charm that is absent in cruise-dominated Alaskan towns. Happily there are no cruise-affiliated diamond and t-shirt stores lining streets in Haines! It’s a sleepy and laid back little town. On non-cruise ship days, it’s a pleasure to speak with locals one meets on the street, at the local bookstore or the fish taco stand. The fast ferry from Skagway shuttles cruise passengers to Haines for excursions but they only go on tours and then leave Haines quiet once more when returned to their mega-ships.

If you are a traveler looking for a special Alaskan experience spend some time in beautiful Haines. To make your visit even more memorable, book the River House. If you are like us, it’s likely you’ll never want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whalegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We love this place! Although one of the pricier options in Haines, the stunning mountain and ocean views, superb craftsmanship and fully equipped kitchen make it all worthwhile. It's just steps away from quiet and wild Mud Bay and a short walk to funky "downtown" Haines or Fort Seward. Would be perfect for our small family if main floor couch was a hide-a-bed, but we make it work! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upper level has full kitchen and dining area - lower level is mostly a bedroom and bathroom with small food preparation area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Summer 2012 will be our 5th (successive) annual stay at the River House (large main floor unit with spacious (no partions) kitchen, dining room and living room plus full bath and with bed room up the spiral stairs. No other commercial lodging in Haines offers the spectacular views of the snow/glaicer covered mountains (rising up >3,000 feet) across the Chilkat River which are seen from the main floor (dining table, sofa, or deck) or upper bedroom where you can lay in bed or the special relaxing window ledge to take in the view. Herons and other birds come and go from the land across the road as the tide comes and goes 2X daily. The upper bed room has a large skylite deck that you have to experience. All rooms have good cross ventilartion and AC is not an issue; heat on main floor is easy to control propane unit (there also is a wood stove). The furniture is appropriate and comfortable, and the dining table can expand to accommodate 6-8 adults. Bedding is more than sufficient. The kitchen is well equipped and a barbacue is handy for fresh fish. For us, a great feature is that walking north along the river for as far as you choose (usually see eagles and evidence of bears), or exploring the estuary to the south. Trail heads for Mt Riley and Moose Meadows are short drives. There is a ridge between the River House and down town, but the 20-30 minute walk is OK if you are not after a complete re-stock.

The owner lives in neighboring house (up the ridge). She keeps place well stocked, cleaned, and works to make your stay delightful.

Some might find the easy flight of stairs from the parking area to the main unit (serves well to take off muddy boots) or the circular stairs between the main floor and upper bed room beyond their tolerance, but we (both >77) have no problem. Access to the lower unit is easy unless one is in a wheelchair. [The general terrain is not ADA friendly.] The bathroom is functional, not fancy, and adequately sized although compact.

Room Tip: Take the main floor unit.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews