We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagle Preserve”

Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Eagle Preserve Float Trip in Haines
More Info
$203.00*
and up
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Skagway Departure
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Haines Departure
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in Haines
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best places to view the bald eagle.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eagle Preserve”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

On our Alaskan vacation, my family and I had so much fun on our float & scenic Chilkat Eagle Preserve cruise. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They were in control at all times, pointing out the wild life that was around. The cruise was delightful and exciting, but never scary. They gave us all we needed to enjoy the cruise as well, fitting us with life jackets and boots. We saw so many eagles and even a moose! The luncheon afterwards was delicious too! I would definately go on this adventure again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JFWRSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    43
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Eagles on Vacation”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We toured this with friends as part of our Princess cruise. If your tour voucher says "Wildlife Not Guaranteed", assume you will see little or none. We took the ferry from Skagway to Haines and then a bus ride to the tour location. Our bus driver was excellent in providing a review of what it is like to live in the area. Actually, she was the highlight of the trip. The family run business tries to accommodate everyone with blankets and ear/hand protectors for the boat ride. The jet boat goes several miles into the preserve and then turns and comes back to the tour camp for a hot dog roast. We were only to view 3 eagles on our trip, and our guide, Jamie, never stopped the boat on our return trip to see anything. So we were left with about a 1/2 river trip. This was also the only tour we took in our 10 day excursion where the guide directly mentioned a tip and we felt pressured to provide one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Eagles & Great Photo Ops”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

From the start we knew we had chosen a great excursion. Pam met us right off the cruise ship and took us to the high speed ferry for the trip to Haines. From there she provided interesting commentary on the bus ride to the rafting launch location. We were at the end of the season and it happened that there was only 1 other person on our raft trip enabling us to converse freely with the guide. We saw many eagles and nests on the float trip and a mother bear with her cub. We were duly impressed with our photo ops. The guide was very knowledgeable about the area. When the float trip ended there were some delicious homemade snacks and beverages provided. On the ride back to Haines we stopped a couple of times to view salmon swimming in streams. Pam also allowed us time to go to a museum where they were carving totem poles and where we were able to speak to one of the carvers. It was a perfect ending to the excursion!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank diningduo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Getting to see the real Alaska!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

When we got off the ship in Skagway, I was truly disappointed. It was a total tourist trap. Nothing but souvenir and jewelry shops. I was in a really bad mood since we had traveled so far and paid so much to see Alaska. Luckily, we were booked on a raft excursion to this preserve in the afternoon. It saved the whole trip for me. The ferry over to Haines was great just on its own. When the sun finally came out, the views of the mountains and water falls were amazing. Haines is the quirky little Alaska town that you expect to find and Skagway no longer is. The hammer museum and liquor store/acupuncturist are typical of the Alaskan sense of humor. The raft trip along the Chilkat river was everything I hoped it would be. The guides were very knowledgeable and very passionate about the place and way of life. We were lucky enough to see several eagles, along with a mother bear and cubs, as well as amazing views of the mountains and valley. This was the Alaska I had come to see and was very glad to get the chance to see this beautiful place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Should be great in winter, nothing special in other seasons”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

In the winter congregation of thousands Bald Eagles it should be exceptional and 5*. In other seasons not so much. In early July we saw there some eagles, but significantly less than in Juneau and Gustavus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing