We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to see live raptors!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum

American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum
Ranked #11 of 36 things to do in Haines
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The American Bald Eagle Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization located in Haines, Alaska. Since opening in 1994, our aim is to educate and inspire guests from around the world about the American bald eagle and interconnected species through our natural history museum and raptor center. Anyone who passes through our doors will take a walk through the cultural and natural history of Southeast Alaska. Let our staff guide you to understanding and appreciating the ecology of our unique region.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to see live raptors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been to the center twice now. Both teens much enjoyed the live owls and hawks. The folks are eager to answer questions. We also enjoyed the room where it was okay to touch bones, horns, and fur of local species. The price was a bit hefty for a family of 4 at $40, but it goes to a good cause.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskanNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“less than exciting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you have not seen eagles yet, go here. Otherwise, they are more awesome in the wild. They feed the captive eagles at 2:30, but the presentation was poor and eagles not totally cooperative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lifel0ngtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modest but interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We got to see a live owl and falcon as well as two bald eagles. This place is small but the guides enthusiastic. It (and most of the town) is within easy walking distance of the port. We were glad to get out and do the local thing, and have coffee at a 'drive-in' coffee place with picnic tables down the street. Note that you will see eagles flying overhead in the town of Haines..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

so cool to see the eagles up close. everyone was very friendly and informative. and pictures are allowed !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eskimoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, CT
Level Contributor
452 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Help their cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very small museum, education center & gift shop dedicated to informing the public about these majestic birds. They have 2 male bald eagles, one of the immature on display. They also have a female that has to be kept separate due to Federal laws. All of the birds were injured and rehabbed but can never be released back into the wild. I've been to much better educational centers but they folks are doing great things with very little financial help. Stop by and help them out. The 3 biggest threats to bald eagles are getting hit by vehicles, electrocution from wires and starvation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing