We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub breakfast was delicious king bedroom memorable stay don t miss an incredible experience once in a lifetime inside passage stayed two nights mikey hostess sue balcony dog view alaska house
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 47 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2018

Stayed at The Cliffhanger year before last and we still talk about how wonderful it was. Sue is a gracious hostess and outstanding cook. She probably has the most gorgeous view of any private residence in all of Alaska. We are so grateful she shared her home with us.

Room tip: Room is very private!!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BriggsFancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, Owner at Cliffhanger B and B, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

So happy to hear that the wonderful memories of your stay at The Cliffhanger remain with you so long after your visit. Your kind words are sincerely appreciated and should you find yourself in Haines anytime soon, I'd be happy to share my home (and gorgeous views!) with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

My husband and I stayed with Sue in September 2017 for 2 nights while on our adventure travelling through the Yukon and Alaska. Everything was first class in every sense. The king bedroom the breakfast the hot tub the views the host Sue and the friendly atmosphere could not be bettered anywhere. We travelled this area for 21 days and without any doubt this was the most memorable stay we had through out our trip.The journey upto the Cliffhanger could be said to be ‘different’ but its well worth the trip. We would recommend this B&B without any reservation to anyone visiting Haines.
Thanks Sue for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffhanger_bnb, Owner at Cliffhanger B and B, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thank you, thank you for taking the time for your review of The Cliffhanger ... your kind words are the highest compliment I could ever expect to receive. Truly it was a pleasure to host your stay, and I hope to find you and your husband on my doorstep again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

This has been our 6th time staying with Sue at the Cliffhanger and definitely not our last! Each time feels like we are returning to a dear friend's home. Enchanting views, spacious & comfortable rooms, a relaxing hot tub, scrumptious breakfasts, and the excellent company of Sue and Wiley is what keeps us coming back. It's truly a magical experience! We can't wait for our next visit. Thank you, Sue!!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GinaFromAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We stayed two nights with Sue in this gorgeous B and B on the edge of a mountain overlooking the ocean. Although the location itself is enough to choose Cliffhanger, in addition, Sue is a gracious caring hostess who provides wonderful conversation and privacy, as needed, as well as delicious breakfasts and a super dog, Wiley.
Sue, we hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with our parents who were visiting from U.K. The parents were enchanted by Sue and her dog. The place is stunning and with only 2 rooms. Beautiful views and very comfy main living area. I particularly loved the hot tub out on the deck!
Breakfast was delicious. Sue clearly cares about her place and making people feel at home and happy.
The drive is a bit lively to get up the hill, but it is well worth the effort.
You need a car to get there as it is a little ways from Main Street (3mi) and up a steep hill.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffhanger_bnb, Owner at Cliffhanger B and B, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

What a pleasure to host you and your family ... including my youngest little gent at The Cliffhanger - so far, Hudson! Thank you for your wonderful compliments, and should you find yourself in Haines again anytime soon, please come back. Best --

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews