We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub breakfast was delicious king bedroom memorable stay don t miss an incredible experience once in a lifetime inside passage stayed two nights mikey hostess sue balcony dog view alaska house
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Cliffhanger was exactly what my wife and I needed after our wedding week in Juneau. Sue was an excellent host. Warm and inviting while at the same time giving us our own space. We stayed two nights and never left the place. Sue even picked up our dinner order in town for us!
Love this place
Thanks Sue and Wiley

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattmurphy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Cliffhanger is a lovely home and Sue (the owner) goes over the top to make you feel at home. But what is truly amazing are the breathtaking views from every window in the home. We were visiting family in Haines, but if we were not I would have sat on the porch or in the hot tub with a glass of wine every evening. The beds are wonderful as well - not to mention the comfy robes and towels. I am a bit picky with my food (gluten-free) and Sue graciously made me exactly what I wanted and made my kids and my husband food they loved too (ask for the blueberry syrup). The only downside is the commute to the house - which is also the charm of the place. It was a bit stressful for us since we had to commute (7-8 minutes) to Haines everyday to see our family, but if you are there just to enjoy the beauty of Alaska, it is a wonderful retreat.

Room Tip: The Master bed is a bit more roomy but the guest suite (we stayed in both) is just as warm and comfy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We just stayed with Sue and her dog Wiley for 2 nights, and could have easily stayed a week! The Cliffhanger is beautifully furnished with every amenity. The views are to die for and the hospitality is first class, not to mention the fantastic breakfasts cooked by Sue. You can lose yourself in the relaxation of the hot tub overlooking the mountains, lake and all of Haines below. The town has some great little restaurants, funky shops, and endless sightseeing and bear watching opportunities. We stayed there to tour the set of Discovery Channel's Gold Rush show, and found so much more to enjoy in Haines during our stay. The Cliffhanger B&B is easily the finest in Alaska and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The King Bed suite is beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen08098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is an extraordinary property. The central room is luxurious, spacious and beautiful with huge windows and wrap-around deck that overlooks all of Haines and the Chilkat River with amazing peaks above. Bedrooms are also spacious and nicely equipped. The bathrooms are luxurious and have composting toilets which presented no problem or odor at all. The owner is caring, attentive and interesting to talk with. Breakfast was great! There is likely nothing this nice in this area and this is one of the nicest places I have stayed anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights. We have to say that the road to the B&B is a little rough but it is worth to get there. The Cliffanger is really a outstanding B&B . Sue is a great and helpful hostess. The rooms are charming and the living place is extraordinary beautiful. We enjoyed also the outside hot tub with a unforgettable view. The breakfast were delicious and done with a great passion. We had to leave after the second night very early towards Tok missing the good breakfast, but were very pleased that she prepared everything in the kitchen for a good start in the day. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews