We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the Best Lodging in Alaska!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffhanger B and B

Cliffhanger B and B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffhanger B and B
Ranked #2 of 9 Haines B&B and Inns
Woodstown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best Lodging in Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We just stayed with Sue and her dog Wiley for 2 nights, and could have easily stayed a week! The Cliffhanger is beautifully furnished with every amenity. The views are to die for and the hospitality is first class, not to mention the fantastic breakfasts cooked by Sue. You can lose yourself in the relaxation of the hot tub overlooking the mountains, lake and all of Haines below. The town has some great little restaurants, funky shops, and endless sightseeing and bear watching opportunities. We stayed there to tour the set of Discovery Channel's Gold Rush show, and found so much more to enjoy in Haines during our stay. The Cliffhanger B&B is easily the finest in Alaska and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The King Bed suite is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen08098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivesdale IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is an extraordinary property. The central room is luxurious, spacious and beautiful with huge windows and wrap-around deck that overlooks all of Haines and the Chilkat River with amazing peaks above. Bedrooms are also spacious and nicely equipped. The bathrooms are luxurious and have composting toilets which presented no problem or odor at all. The owner is caring, attentive and interesting to talk with. Breakfast was great! There is likely nothing this nice in this area and this is one of the nicest places I have stayed anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liestal, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights. We have to say that the road to the B&B is a little rough but it is worth to get there. The Cliffanger is really a outstanding B&B . Sue is a great and helpful hostess. The rooms are charming and the living place is extraordinary beautiful. We enjoyed also the outside hot tub with a unforgettable view. The breakfast were delicious and done with a great passion. We had to leave after the second night very early towards Tok missing the good breakfast, but were very pleased that she prepared everything in the kitchen for a good start in the day. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on my trip to Haines. As I am in the hospitality business, I understand great accommodations and this is in that category. The views are spectacular and the owner, Sue, is a gem. She runs a wonderful B and B, not to be missed if you are in Haines. I strongly suggest this place to all discerning travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A fantastic location makes this a special place to stay but that also marks it out as not for the faint-hearted, the track there is steep and narrow. Sue and Wiley are wonderful hosts, the only minor downside (and it is only minor) is breakfast. The whole house is beautifully done, it is a fabulous place to relax and marvel at the stunning views.

Room Tip: Both rooms have spectacular views. Do use the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Cliffhanger based on the reviews here and we were glad we did. The place is amazing - the drive up the mountain from Haines was a little unnerving, but well worth it for the spectacular views. The host Sue is just a lovely person - very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Her home is spotlessly clean and has a warmly casual feeling. The room was very nicely appointed with gorgeous linens and all the amenities you would expect from a luxury accommodation. Breakfast was great too. Our stay at the Cliffhanger was definitely a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clevergirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is one of the small luxury secrets in Alaska with a billion dollar view!
The owner Sue Waterhouse and the dog Wiley will make your stay unforgettable!
Everything is perfect, the style of the house, the rooms with own bathroom, the hot tub outside and great breakfast, don´t miss the french toast!
We will come back as soon as possible, this is one of the experiences in your life you should make on a list of 100 things to do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haines hotels
0.0 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices

Been to Cliffhanger B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffhanger B and B

Property: Cliffhanger B and B
Address: P.O. Box 1445, Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name says it all. Imagine yourself perched high upon a mountain in one of the most spectacular settings in all of Alaska. Surrounded by majestic snow capped peaks jutting powerfully out of the sea, The Cliffhanger, welcomes you to experience the extraordinary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing