We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Like Crawling Over a New Place to Really Experience It”

Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC
Book In Advance
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Rafting - Haines Departure
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Haines Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Lake Kayak Tour
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Chilkoot Wilderness and Wildlife Viewing - Haines Departure
Ranked #1 of 22 Tours in Haines
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rainbow Glacier Adventures offers rafting, kayaking, photography and wildlife viewing tours in Haines and Skagway. RGA features knowledgeable local guides and small groups. Private, custom and exclusive tours available. We've been guiding in Haines since 1990!
Derwood, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing Like Crawling Over a New Place to Really Experience It”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Guide Cindy Johnson was outstanding on our hike through Chilkat State Park on June 6th. We walked through the forest, and back through the meadow and across the rocks along the shore. Fabulous views of Davidson and Rainbow Glaciers - the nectar on the flowers and lichen were delicious - and Cindy's a delightful character. We saw bear and moose droppings - but my wife was glad they were cold and our closest encounter with a bear was in an Aborigine museum at the next stop. Nothing like crawling over a new place to really experience it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OscarDinnDinnDinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
I'm glad you had fun on your tour. CJ is an excellent guide. She has vast experience, having run the Sheldon Museum for years, she is very knowledgeable of the history of the area. With her background as an EMT and volunteer with the ambulance and fire departments, and years of mountain climbing, hiking and kayaking, she is a perfect fit for our hiking tours. Not to mention that she also is an avid naturalist and very enthusiastic educator.

Our Glacier View hiking tour because it goes to the Chlkat State Park, which is seldom visited. Due to State Park permitting, our groups cannot be larger than 10 people at one time. The views of the Rainbow Glacier for Moose Meadows is amazing.

Joe Ordonez, owner

Joe Ordonez, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    18
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best day of the cruise!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Four of us (ladies of a certain age, very amateur photographers) signed up for the Photography Tour to Haines in May 2012. Tom Ganner was our guide. The weather was wet and our lack of knowledge surely must have challenged Tom's patience, but he was game and we had a great day! By getting away from the tourist stuff in Skagway and going via ferry to Haines we not only saw beautiful Alaska country but we also got a glimpse of how people really live in Alaska. We had a wonderful day! Thanks Tom!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LibbieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeordonez, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed the "off-beat" path of Haines - it's such a huge part of why we love it, too! We'd love to see some of your photographs from the trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great tour”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We took a tour with the guide (oops can't remember the lady's name) and because it was just about the end of the season we were the only ones which made us feel very special. It was mainly to see bears and bald eagles and we weren't disappointed. The best part was seeing so many bears up close, without even getting out of the car. There was a mother and three cubs that gave us a lot of entertainment. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was easily able to answer all our questions and give us so much information. The only disappointement was, even though we saw the eagles we weren't quite so close but that's OK, we would highly recommend this tour, well worth the money.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank GGFirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeordonez, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We're so happy to hear your bear-viewing was so rewarding - it's such a treat to see a mama with her cubs. We're also happy to hear you felt special as the only people out with our guide, as we pride ourselves in working with smaller groups, to give the most personable and interactive tours possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
“A Phenomenal Day with a Terrific Guide, Teacher and Photographer!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our cruise and land tour of Alaska was filled with stunning vistas, gorgeous scenery, outstanding experiences, and memorable people, - and this one encapsulated all of the above. Tom Ganner, our guide, was terrific. I am a new photographer, and I feel so lucky I got to go on an excursion where I spent 6 hours in a small group of 6, guided to perfect spot after perfect spot, by a great and patient teacher who not only pointed out new and interesting ways of looking at things, but also took the time to help me understand my new camera and the things it could do and the ways to make it do those things. And, did I mention the bears? And the glacial lake with fly fisherman? Or the fire weed against the fjords and peaks? Or the perfect reflecting tidal pool at magic hours? All topped off by his generous follow up to my email questions, with more tips and suggestions on how to improve. This is an adventure I will remember for a long, long time - and I've got the great pictures to help me do it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeordonez, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
First of all - wow! What fantastic shots you got from the trip! We're glad you enjoyed your time with Tom, he is a phenomenal and patient teacher and guide. We're happy to hear you followed up with him, and he was able to give you some extra tips and pointers. At Rainbow Glacier Adventures, we like to say that your tour never stops - we're always happy to hear from you down the road!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This was an amazing chance to see Alaska and also some bears”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We originally found this because we were interested in a photo tour to see bears. However, the photo tour would not work with our young kids, so we went on an evening bear tour (5 p.m. to 8 p.m.). It was great! This was a private tour in a minivan - the four of us (2 adults, a 6 year old, and a 2 year old) with our guide, Jen. The guide lives locally and was great! We really enjoyed hearing about what it is like to live in Alaska and her life there. She even took us to see her house that she has built, that was like no other we've seen - like something out of a fairytale. We started by going to look for bears. On the way we saw bald eagles and seals. We were lucky to see a mom and her two cubs (in their second summer) for what seemed to us an extended period of time. We were able to watch them right from the van, which suited us just fine. After that we got to tour around the local area, including seeing the fairgrounds where the White Fang set now is and also drove by an old cannery. We stopped and drank from a natural spring. The rest of our family went on the same type of tour with another guide and also had a fabulous time. The price was less than the bear tours through our cruise ship. And they were able to accommodate our need for only a three hour tour.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank tripcares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeordonez, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! It sounds like you got to see a big chunk of Haines, and all it has to offer here. We're glad you enjoyed your time with Jen - she is such a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Glacier Adventures LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing